We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Me and my mum stayed there the last fortnight. We arrived to find out that they reserved this enormous family room for us, where we could sleep even in separate rooms within the same hall, which was super. The hotel is quite quiet, due to reduced number of rooms, the breakfast has an amazing selection of food and during the day we can get snacks (or even more serious food) in the swimming pool. Food was great, swimming pool was great and clean. There were some nice areas for resting that usually are only available in higher range hotels. The distance to the beach is around 150m and nearest supermarket around 400m -the rooms have empty minibar.
Saving the best for last -the staff and facilities. The staff was extremely friendly, going the extra mile to get all our needs, even the strange ones and treated everyone as family. The facilities were recently renovated and made the hotel look and feel clean.

Room Tip: The hotel advises people to book directly through the hotel reservation line, as they will be able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charadf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

I have chosen this place because I was there last year and I liked it. It's close to Spain if you feel like visiting the country. This is 3 star hotel, not far from the beach (to be honest all the hotels are located within 5-8 minute walk from the the ocean). We booked HB - breakfast was quite variable as well as dinner. You can have really enough food. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cleaning service was from 9am till 5pm but the very moment the lady understood that we had been home at about 1pm she started doing the cleaning before our coming back. The bar had the happy hour - 8.30pm till 9.30pm - and the barman was great. Also there was live music. Of course it's a wee bit dull place for young people as there was no disco or things like that but I will definitely come back next year. Thank you so much indeed.

Room Tip: Last year we stayed in 505, this year - 815 - both had seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TatianaTLSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlcazar, Director of Sales at Alcazar Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

The staff of Hotel Alcazar appreciates your comment. We appreciate that our customers coming back year after year and become our fans. We are at your disposal, we hope to always surpass your expectations, as well as all our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This affordable hotel is ideal for those who have a taste for design (the hotel is Arabian styled) and it is cosy.It has got the facilities you need....a swimming pool, a bar, a restaurant, a resting room, I definitely would recommend it for those who want to try something different and peaceful.
I didn't like the room provided though, it had no balcony,,,,and it was a bit hot.Hapily there was air conditioning.Also, it wasn't very spacious.Nevertheless it had a mini bar and the things wew always tidied up.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelling a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

It was our first time in Monte Gordo and we will definitely return. The hotel was very good, has nice infrastructures and the hotel staff is very helpful. Our reservation was made in the hotel site, they were making promotional prices, but the room they gave us was great. Very spacious room with a great view (see the pictures), it was in the 8th floor (it only as 8 floors). We have made our reservation with full board and it becamed a good choice because the food was great. The hotel is very quite, it seems that it is mostly occupied by middle age couples our small families, and this applys to all Monte Gordo area. We do not see many groups of young/party people like we see in Albufeira our Portimão. To the beach it's a 3 minutes walk and it is great, like usual in Algarve. But Monte Gordo beache's have the most warm waters in Algarve. Monte Gordo water is always at least 2 to 3º warmer than in other areas like Albufeira our Portimão. So, if you want peaceful beach vacations, Monte Gordo is a great place for that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

All basic amenities. Clean, reasonably priced. Reasonable breakfast. Freezing cold swimming pool. Hotel bar overpriced and entertainment a bit limited. Pool bar/.food quite expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms have great sea views - obviously the higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shakespeare076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here in June and July 2011 as a group of two adults and two young chilldren. On the whole the hotel is good value but its failings only become clear when you have stayed there at least a week. The best things about the hotel are:

1. Location: reasonably near the beach: a 5 minute walk.
2. Cleanliness: couldn't be faulted, rooms cleaned every day.
3. Weird decoration: I liked it, despite conventional exterior the rooms the interior is very retro (or it would be if it weren't original).
4. Staff: All spoke decent English (and German and Spanish and Portugese) and all generally helpful.
5. Rooms: Junior suite is good value and gives you a large living room with a sofa bed and a seperate double bedroom. A TV in each room.
6. Pool area: despite smallish pool, it was very clean and quiet and sunbeds were plentiful and never 'booked'. Hammocks were a nice touch too.

The down sides for me were:

1. Atmosphere: There is just no atmosphere. It is calm and peaceful but there is a lack of life in the place, especially the bar. They have a vast and exotically decorated bar which is always empty. On most nights I would go for a quiet beer to find I was the only person in it, except on the night that the keyboard player was in. The hotel was full but the hotel was still quiet as a grave. They had a large LCD TV too which was always switched off. Wimbledon was on but the hotel had decided to never show sports and they have no sports channels, even in the bar, which migh have attracted some business. Don't get me wrong, I am not an alcoholic who watches sports all day but it did seem odd that the hotel had spurned any opportunity to attract any sort of clientelle to the bar. Most guests left to go into town each night.

2. TV: Just not enough English channels, though the same can be said of most Spanish or Portugese hotels. As I have young children I had to return to my room early each night but was driven mad with only Channel 4 (oddly) and CNN for entertainment. Bring a book or four.

3. Food: The food was good and I always found something to eat. However, there is nothing like the breadth of choice you get in a four star hotel and if you come with a large party of fussy eaters prepare to be offered say two or three choices at the most. Coffee and deserts poor.

4. Family Friendliness?: Children will want more. A few other families with kids were there but they were by far in the minority and unless your kids are under two they will really need more opportunities to meet other children. No kiddie disco either which often gives a focus to their evening.

5. Monte Gordo itself: not too small or too big but a little lacking in cultural experiences and , apart from the excellent beach, not a lot for kids to do. A seaside funfair seemed to be permanently closed before 9pm, for example.

6. Air Con: Didn't work reliably and was too small for the whole suite.

The hotel is well managed on the whole but it is best suited to older couples rather than families and if you pop into other hotels in Monte Gordo, such as the Vasco de Gama, you will drool over the better services and the human connection that they seem to achieve with only a little more thought. I recommend this hotel as a good value base to explore the resort from rather than a hotel which can persuade you to never leave its grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThePhilosopherKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Just back from a five night stay at the Hotel Alcazar, Lovely clean hotel our room was on 6th floor with great view over the forest, lovely staff, great buffet breakfast which you could take your time over, didn't spend a lot of time at the pool, but day that we spent there was enjoyable, bar food was excellant value for money, spent our days on the beach which was a 5 min walk away, a long sandy clean beach, ate at Pete's (can't rem it's proper name) snack bar which is just off the beach near the Yellow hotel, Pete & staff in snack bar area were very friendly same can't be said for the restaurant bit at the back, waitress was having a major grump and we had to wait over an hour for our lunch even though people arrived after us and got served before us, food wasn't even worth the wait. Also ate at Ed & Willems great food brillant desserts, lovely waitress (english girl), Monte gordo is a place for relaxation not a place for families with school age children, not much for them to do, but as two couples in their early 40's it was the place for us, looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana2720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#5 of 14 in Monte Gordo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
245 reviews
0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel & SPA

Address: Rua de Ceuta 9, Monte Gordo 8900-435, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £41 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcazar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alcazar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo
Alcazar Hotel & SPA Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing