We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful buffet food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here in July, weather was great, room was OK but inadequate air con. Pool was regularly dirty, but by far the thing that needs improving the most is he quality of the food, bland cold, no imagination, we paid for half board but ate here only once. I can't imagine how this place s rated number one.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel is friendly, offers large suites and is situated near to all amenities. We food the breakfast to be excellent, whereas the evening meal in the early part of our stay was a bit hit and miss and was sometimes very cold. The pool area is well furnished and as other reviewers has said can get a bit chilly but you can always move around with the sun. We never experienced a problem finding sun beds. Monte Gordo is lovely area unspoilt by rowdy tourists, it is easy to visit Ayamonte and Tavira by bus and ferry. A highlight for us was our visit to isle tavira simply stunning! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and area to others

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I too feel the need to respond to previous comments. We have just returned from 5 days at the Alcazar, at no time did I find the pool area dirty, (in fact I saw staff clean it every evening). We spent 4 of our 5 days chilling by the pool at no time were we deafened by music and we could have as much sun or shade as we wanted all day. All in all, a super place to stay for a relaxing holiday, a great little resort with lovely restaurants and bars. We had our best meal at Vicius up the steps just off the main square. Monte Gordo and the Alcazar are certainly worth a visit. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 53alipali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure where mcrunner was when he wrote his review but I'm sitting by the pool right now which is around 90% in the sunlight! Also, the only time I found the music a little loud was when I was sitting right next to one of the speakers. Easily solved - I moved along as there are always plenty of free sunbeds available. One of the best things about this hotel and Monte Gordo in general is the lack of loud, shaven-headed tribal-tattooed Brits in football shirts.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fonzarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

First and last time to stay here. The rooms are excellent, big, clean, perfect. The pool area was dreadful. We asked twice to have it cleaned as it looked really dirty - in fairness the next day it was done - but there appeared to be no regular cleaning. The loud music pumped out into the pool area every morning, and EVERY morning I had to ask for it to be turned down - also a full week of listening to the same 1 hour 30 min tape over and over, forced us to the beach for our final 2 days!! The pool area also isnt a sun trap, very few areas get the sun. As I go on sun holidays to chill by the pool, relax and catch the sun, this wasnt the hotel for me and I wont be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcrunner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just visited monte Gordo for the first time. Could not have picked a better hotel. The breakfast buffet was amazing, sets you up for day. The pool was good with plenty of sun loungers on offer.and a great pool bar for when you need a glass or two from all that swimming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jpetty190757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We visited The Algarve last month and were very happy staying at the Hotel Alcazar. We visited a different town every day and really enjoyed our visit. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast buffet was delicious.

Room Tip: We did not use the fitness center since we're outdoor athletes, but I don't know how to uncl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kauaiswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
211 reviews
0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel & SPA

Address: Rua de Ceuta 9, Monte Gordo 8900-435, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £31 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcazar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alcazar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo
Alcazar Hotel & SPA Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing