We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing 10 days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcazar Hotel & SPA

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Filey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing 10 days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Smart hotel in good location with nice garden and pool area. Hot breakfasts 'tourist' rather than 4* standard (currently 3* but 4* in 2014 is planned) - varied from passable to quite good. Didn't try evening meals .... the menus didn't look inspiring and local restaurants much better options.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smpfiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    169
    67
    16
    12
See reviews for
88
203
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Alcazar with my husband for a week at the end of July. It was very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

A reviewer mentioned taking a junior suite if one was available and we followed this advice. It wasn't, however, a suite as such. When I imagined a suite, I thought there would be an area - perhaps a bedroom - for the bed and closets and a sitting area. There was a good sized bedroom in our junior suite with open shelving and a small desk. The large room, however, had two single beds in in and a hard chair. I was disappointed with this but that may just be because it was not what I expected. The balcony was great and that is where we sat most of the time we were back in our room.

The food I found a bit dull. I know if is difficult to have a buffet appealing to all. There was a meat dish and a fish dish and a pasta dish - at the least - every night and lots of good salad ingredients. I ate primarily salad with a piece of chicken or fish beside each night. It was fine but not "good" or "great" by any stretch..

Would I stay there again? Likely not; I'd want to try somewhere else for variety.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in July, weather was great, room was OK but inadequate air con. Pool was regularly dirty, but by far the thing that needs improving the most is he quality of the food, bland cold, no imagination, we paid for half board but ate here only once. I can't imagine how this place s rated number one.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel is friendly, offers large suites and is situated near to all amenities. We food the breakfast to be excellent, whereas the evening meal in the early part of our stay was a bit hit and miss and was sometimes very cold. The pool area is well furnished and as other reviewers has said can get a bit chilly but you can always move around with the sun. We never experienced a problem finding sun beds. Monte Gordo is lovely area unspoilt by rowdy tourists, it is easy to visit Ayamonte and Tavira by bus and ferry. A highlight for us was our visit to isle tavira simply stunning! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and area to others

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I too feel the need to respond to previous comments. We have just returned from 5 days at the Alcazar, at no time did I find the pool area dirty, (in fact I saw staff clean it every evening). We spent 4 of our 5 days chilling by the pool at no time were we deafened by music and we could have as much sun or shade as we wanted all day. All in all, a super place to stay for a relaxing holiday, a great little resort with lovely restaurants and bars. We had our best meal at Vicius up the steps just off the main square. Monte Gordo and the Alcazar are certainly worth a visit. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53alipali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure where mcrunner was when he wrote his review but I'm sitting by the pool right now which is around 90% in the sunlight! Also, the only time I found the music a little loud was when I was sitting right next to one of the speakers. Easily solved - I moved along as there are always plenty of free sunbeds available. One of the best things about this hotel and Monte Gordo in general is the lack of loud, shaven-headed tribal-tattooed Brits in football shirts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fonzarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

First and last time to stay here. The rooms are excellent, big, clean, perfect. The pool area was dreadful. We asked twice to have it cleaned as it looked really dirty - in fairness the next day it was done - but there appeared to be no regular cleaning. The loud music pumped out into the pool area every morning, and EVERY morning I had to ask for it to be turned down - also a full week of listening to the same 1 hour 30 min tape over and over, forced us to the beach for our final 2 days!! The pool area also isnt a sun trap, very few areas get the sun. As I go on sun holidays to chill by the pool, relax and catch the sun, this wasnt the hotel for me and I wont be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcrunner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Gordo
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
2.9 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel & SPA

Property: Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Address: Rua de Ceuta 9, Monte Gordo 8900-435, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcazar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Alcazar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo
Alcazar Hotel & SPA Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing