We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2008

We stayed at the hotel Sept. It was still very hot. Hotel is very clean, great rooms, pool area large and no problem getting a lounger. Entertainment every night. Staff very friendly and helpful. The pool bar has a great menu. Very close to the beach, shops and plenty of places to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Pool area and bar
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    179
    71
    16
    12
See reviews for
94
217
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Just come back after a 7 night stay, hotel was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast served as a buffet, always plenty there and fresh, hot breakfast changed daily.
Room was cleaned every day and the towels changed every day.
Pool and pool area really clean, and all cleaned every night. All staff helpful and friendly.
We were not expecting to have such a nice comfortable hotel, after some of the previous reviews we were a bit worried but it was way above our expectations.
Loads to do, took a day trip to Spain by bus and ferry which cost approx £10 for the both of us.
The beach is absolutely wonderful, you can walk for miles.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — No kettle in room for morning cuppa!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Excellent hotel on the fringes of Monte Gordo. We stayed for 14 nights and found the bedrooms spacious (although a little more drawer space would have been appreciated), the air-con invaluable, and the public space facilities more than adequate.

The pool area was excellent, with plenty of loungers, and a good shady area if you don't want to sit in the full glare of the sun all day.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbeach
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

My wife and I had a wonderful holiday of 8 days here. We dont know why some guests found it awful, our room was very clean the maid service was excellent(towels were changed very regulary).The breakfasts were superb with one heck of a selection, if you are in a foreign country we would expect to eat their type of food. The staff were very helpful and always very cheerful. The only problem we encountered was with arriving in the morning we had to wait for our room to become available and we passed the time away by sampling the food at the pool bar. We would like to return again some time in the neare future.

Stayed June 2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

we booked this holiday after being advised it was good for wheelchair users. Well- clearly not. Yes the hotel has a lift but only to the rooms. If you want to get to the pool theres only stairs. My dad is an amputee so needs a wheelchair to currently get around.

The food was appauling and on more than one occassion decided to go into town and eat out. The bread rolls were the best food on offer.

It says something about the hotels entertainment as the travel rep actually advised us to go to the hotel across the road for the better entertainment, at the Vasco de Gama.

Dont bother changing your money there either as theres only one place to change your cash to euros.

Never Again
Ive had more fun at the gym.

  • Liked — Air conditioning
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

we stayed here for 4 weeks.......
after 2 weeks, we have to tell the maid to change our beds.
all she did was, changed towels, made bed,emptied bins, and if we were lucky we got a toilet roll.
there was thick dust on the top of the head-board.
as for the friendliness of the staff......we called it alcatraz.
the food - we managed the breakfast the first and last day.....
the scambled egg is powdered and tastes disgusting.......
we had 5 meals in the dining room - out of 28 - we found it better to eat breakfast and dinner out.....
you have a choice for dinner of 1 meat dish and 1 fish dish. if you didn't eat fish and didn't like meatballs or spagetti......hard luck.
sometimes the meat was passible.....only sometimes.
it is more like a 2 star than a 3...............my advice if you are stuck, is just book b & b, and eat out..........don't know where these other reports come from but i can't agree with those that say that it is wonderful------------RUBBISH.won't be going back..

  • Liked — when we were out of the hotel
  • Disliked — everything- especially the maid
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritAbroad
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

Needed a room desperately (having been forced out of the Hotel Guadiana in Vila Real by smelly drains!) and the Alcazar was a good substitute.

Room was clean and a good size, staff friendly enough, breakfast offered little choice and what there was was bland but plentiful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 13 in Monte Gordo
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 13 in Monte Gordo
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn
Casablanca Inn
#5 of 13 in Monte Gordo
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel & SPA

Property: Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Address: Rua de Ceuta 9, Monte Gordo 8900-435, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcazar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alcazar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo
Alcazar Hotel & SPA Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing