We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 16 October 2009

eneque in design staff very attentive and helpful ,different entertainment every night resteraunt fist class with varied menus and helpful service

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank groverengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

modern clean and friendly helpful staff. evening meal disapointing however would certainly return and recommend for bed and breakfast. central position yet quiet at night. Brill holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The hotel is set back away from the main tourist areas of Monte Gordo and so your stay is garenteed to be a quiet one. The rooms are spacious are well kept. Staff are friendly and accomodating although we didn't really need to ask for help with anything as any information you require is nicely presented in the welcome pack in the room. There is no mad rush for sun loungers by the pool as it is closed from 7pm to 9am. Breakfast selection was very good and the food was nice, it did however get repetitive as the food served was exactly the same every day.

If you are looking for the quietest part of the vast beach at Monte Gordo then turn left out of the hotel's main entrance, follow the road until you reach the entrance to the neighbouring camp site, cross the road and walk through the picnic area. Beyond is the beach, in the distance to your right you will see the majority of the other people on the beach (all crowded on and around sun loungers), to your left is golden sands and a pleasant walk all the way to the Spanish boarder.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danay_kroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

The Alcazar is a very tidy, pleasant hotel, ideally situated for the beach and commercial centre. The food is very good, the rooms very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

A few days in Monte Gordo at the hotel Alcazar. A very quiet, clean, friendly hotel where the staff were more than obliging. Cleaners came in daily and were friendly. As were reception and restaurant staff. We did not make use of play area and swimming pool. Hotel food was basic, varied and tasty. Local area consisted of seaside type shops and restaurants with a large casino / cabaret club. (We did not go in.)
If you are looking for a very quiet, relaixng holiday - this is your place. Seemed to cater more for older generation and couples with very young children. Not much doing for young people. This is not a boozy, nightclubbing type of holiday. Top marks given for wonderful, clean beach!
We loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maidofmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I really liked this place, relaxed and nice. I loved the design of the place, especially the restaurant, someone mentioned Austin Powers style, I'd say it’s brilliantly 60s.

Although I love kids it was nice to have a really relaxed pool area without shouting such. The weather was nice but the wind was a bit fresh at times, and when it was we moved over to the sandy part of the hotel garden which has less wind, very nice. I also appreciated the little pine tree area, which adds a lot to the atmosphere around the pool area.

We enjoyed the evening entertainment. It’s not Glastonbury or the West End but it is a nice environment for a relaxed drink in the evening and a chat with the, mostly senior, people staying there (who were very nice).

On the downside, we were told by the travel company that the tennis court was free if you brought your own rackets etc. When I asked at the reception they said it was a whopping €5, ridiculous.

All in all, a very nice, relaxed hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrettNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

although this hotel was not bad the cleaners just came in and changed the towels. Not once did she ever actually clean anywhere apart from sweep the floor on a few days. Tide mark round bath was there al 11 days. The room itself was nice with a lovely sea view and there was a fridge. Also the pool was full of debris that had blown in or been thrown in and again a big scum mark all round. Never saw anyone cleaning that. I would not have let my kids go in. Food choice was especially poor. Just a choice between meat, fish or pasta. Salad was the same everyday and the breakfasts were the same every day as well. Two desserts each day, usually a cake and a dish of Angel Delight. Although not worst hotel I have stayed in I would not go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimoBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#5 of 14 in Monte Gordo
212 reviews
0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel & SPA

Address: Rua de Ceuta 9, Monte Gordo 8900-435, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £39 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcazar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alcazar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo
Alcazar Hotel & SPA Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing