We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good all round choice”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Hangleton Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A good all round choice”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The Alcazar Hotel is situated away from the sea front but is only a 5 minute walk to fantastic long sandy beach.The rooms are an average size with air conditioning, television and a mini fridge. No kettle. We found the storage space limited with very few drawers. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. We could not fault the cleaning. Our room was on the 5th floor which was ideal wyth a nice view the higher floors could be a problem as there are only 2 lifts.. Reception was first class helpful and efficient. The breakfast was great with a hot and cold buffet. Very strict about taking food out of the dining room for consumpttion later in the day. The swimming pool was nice if you are a swimmer but only a small shallow part.Not enough umbrellas around the poor but plenty of free sunbeds. The early morning breakfast delivered to your room was patetic.. The pluses far outweigh the minuses here and we would recommend. Better for couples than families.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    179
    71
    16
    12
See reviews for
94
217
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Upon Thames
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

In our opinion The Alcazar Hotel was worth a 4 Star rating rather than its 3 Star classification. It is located about a 4 minute walk from the long sandy beach and it is around 6 minutes walk to the town centre and the bus station. Forget the railway station which is outside the town and is at least a 35 minute walk. The rooms are a high standard being cleaned very well every day with fresh towels. Linen is changed twice weekly.There is a television in the room where you can received Sky News,Eurosport, CNN News an Channel 4. Also a mini fridge. One very minor disappointment was the lack of drawer space but a good sized wardrobe to compensate. The staff in all parts of the hotel were very helpful and efficient and could not be faulted. The breakfast, which was buffet style, was top notch with an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes. The swimming pool was nice but not ideal for non swimmers as only a very small part was shallow water. free and ample sunbeds but probably not enough umbrellas. A poolside bar was open during the day. The clientele was a mixture of nationalities although during our stay the Portuguse where in the majority. Only 2 lifts so if on the 7th or 8th floor walking upstairs was not really option. Providing you are not impatient you did not have to wait for a life too long.The worst case scenario for us was a 6 minute wait but this was very unusual.We did not use the bar in the evenings as we personally prefered to drink in the resort. Often had a drink in Moby's bar near the hotel on the way back. Very friendly and English run. We certainly would not hestitate in recommending the the Alcazar hotel and would go back again if we returned to Monte Gordo for another holiday. The only major negative was the cold breakfast delivery to the room if leaving early on a trip. it was absolute rubbish and best avoided.Otherwise nearly all positives. Monte Gordo is an excellent base for sightseeing and it is only 3 miles to the Spanish border, be aware if going into Spain it is one hour ahead.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Go across the square and visit Moby's bar. Enjoy the company of Toni and Carl who run the bar. The food is great. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful and so is the resort. This is a place for the older traveler and not for children. This was our second visit to Monte Gordo and we will go again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

this was our first time in both this resort and also Portugal. The hotel room ( junior suite ?) we were given had two single beds in the main part of the room where the tv , fridge (free) etc were , then a lovely bathroom and in a seperate second bedroom a double bed ( very useful to chase a snoring husband too ! ). The hotel is modern and very clean, the staff mainly very helpful and friendly. The food was a bit mixed, always pleantiful but not as you would normally expect in a european hotel, maybe it's a portugese thing , some strange snd surprising combinations. The resort is very quiet but it is ideally placed for getting about the area. We hired bikes (7 euros for 3 days) and the area has lots of cycle paths, so it's safe and easy to get about. You can ride the short distance to villa real de st antonio , which is a nice place to visit for the day, and take your bike on the ferry there ( 1.50 each, and 1 euro for the bike, and about 15 minutes) and go to Ayamonte in Spain .We found Portugal to be less developed for the tourist than many other countries but that is balanced by the kind and friendly people we met there, Wine was .80 - 1 euro a glass, beer 1 euro small beer, 2 euros large. Good value for money holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

A beautiful very clean hotel, with excellent service, and excellent food. Very reasonable internet access. Great pool, bars and self service restaurant. Small shop in which to buy souvenirs.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I have stayed in the Algarve many times, often in 4 star hotels, but this has surpassed any of them for ther cleanliness and service of the staff.

I stayed on a B&B basis so I can't comment on the evening meals, but breakfast was all you could wish for. Cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon, poached and boiled eggs (okay, a little hard) but the bread rolls are excellent, and real butter!!

I stayed in room 302 which had oak floors which can be easily cleaned and was daily! My room view was over pine forests and a camp site and a water tower. I watched the sun rise over the water tower every day.

The reception staff were very friendly and very helpful when I needed to confirm my transfer but was going to be out for the day. The transfer office didn't open until 9 am and I needed to be out by 8.30 am. They sorted this for me.

My flight back to UK was an early one so I ordered an early breakfast which was brought up to my room at around 8.30 pm. Wow!! It was a whole tray wonderfully presented - a real surprise and helped me on my journey the next morning.

In my opinion this is a 4 star hotel and I would go back in a flash!

PS, I was on the 3rd floor and had no problems with waiting for the lifts.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We have just come back from a week at the Alcazar in Monte Gordo.

The room was spacious and airy - having two seperate windows in the bedroom which we were able to open which was just as well because the air conditioning wasn't very good. The bed was comfortable and was cleaned daily. Television was basic Sky News in English but we found English films with Portuguese subtitles on another channel.

Breakfast was quite good - although the menu was the same every day. Dinner was OK with a lot of different fish dishes. Meat seemed to be mainly turkey and turkey. Vegetarian option was always pasta. There were no drinks lists so we ended up with two small beers most nights. There was no price list in the bar either so although "Happy Hour" was posted as being 8.30 - 9.30pm daily we had no idea what the prices were in the first place.

Situated at the eastern end of Monte Gordo with a camp site in the pine forest next door it was still not far from all the amenities of the town.

The staff were all very friendly.

One of the two intenet computers in the reception area was out of order the whole time we were there.

As a base the hotel was fine

The whole resort seemed much quieter to when we have been there before - possibly due to the recession.

I have ticked that I would reccomment the hotel to a friend. I would reccommend it as a base for sight seeing in the area but would advise them to go B&B and eat out at night as there are plenty of restaurants in the town with a good touristic menu for around 10 euros

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 13 in Monte Gordo
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 13 in Monte Gordo
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn
Casablanca Inn
#5 of 13 in Monte Gordo
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel & SPA

Property: Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Address: Rua de Ceuta 9, Monte Gordo 8900-435, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcazar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alcazar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo
Alcazar Hotel & SPA Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing