We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in monte gordo”
Review of Hotel Alba

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alba
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best hotel in monte gordo”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

great hotel , very nice pool area , so clean in all areas , top class staff , only 5mins to beach.
in a very nice town , with the best beach in portugal. best value hotel you could find.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    88
    50
    12
    7
See reviews for
73
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We arrived in Monte Gordo on the evening of May 2nd 2011. As we walked in to the reception we were greeted by a very nice woman and given the keycard. We went to our room and was nicely surprised. The studioappartment was nice, bright and clean. The balcony was large although not with the best view overlooking the street.

During the week we were there the cleaningladies knocked on our door every day. The drawback was that they never came to the same time in the morning so we could prepare (i.e. get out of bed...) and when they worked they made a lot of noise. They started work at 8 a.m.

The town itself is a charming and nice little place. You can walk along the streets without being bothered all the time. The restaurants and tavernas have great food and good prices. My favorite restaurant have got to be the one called Osaka which is a Japanese restaurant, all you can eat! After 2.5 hours eating and drinking we rolled out of there- only paying 50 euros for the fun. For the both og us! Other nice restaurants were "Taberna Minhota", a pourtugese restaurant and the Copacabana with the most adoring owner.

We had a swimmingpool by the hotel but there is also a great beach in town. They had just started setting up beds and parasoles. The water was nice and cool with great waves for those who like to play in the waves.

If I were to rate the holiday total with points from 1-10 I will give it a good 8. The points taken away are for noise in the morning, both from inside the hotel (cleaningstaff) and from the street. And for hard beds. Although I have slept in firmer beds, this was more hard than comfortable.

To conclude, if you are going on a holiday with friends or partner I recomend both the hotel and place with all my heart! This has been my best holiday ever!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Good reception with always cheerful staff. Our room on first floor facing west looking out on pool. Clean bright decent decoration (magnolia theme!). Good lighting plenty of hot water all the time. Self catering with fridge; 2 ceramic hob; microwave with grill and all the pots and pans (and crockery & cutlery) for 4 in a room for 2! Quiet area 3 minutes stroll to wonderful 20 mile long beach.Life guards started the season's surveilance on 18th Feb! 2 minutes stroll to pine woods with gravel tracks for walking & cycling. Good supermarket 300 yards away - and plenty more shops all near. We enjoyed the 5 of the many local restaurants our favourite was O Tapas with a 10 euro touristic (sic) menu which incuded 1 bottle of for a couple 3 good courses; coffee (with milk if needed) and an Almond liquour. Choice here included 10 large bbqed prawns! Buses good to get around - if you need to! Villa Real 2 miles away with ferry to Spain worth a trip. Casto Marim with its castle and salt lagoons with Storks; Spoonbills; "Flaming Joes"( those pink things); Stints etc etc is also 2 miles away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We booked this break last minute, then read reviews, we were a bit aprehensive after reading the negative comments, I can only say what we found. We had a studio room on the 2nd floor, the towels were changed every two days, the bedding every 3 days, the cleaner emptied the bins every day and swept and mopped the floor, the studio was cleaned when the bedding was changed, the room had a fridge, halogen hob, microwave, pans, kettle for the hob and enough crockery, glasses,knives and forks for four people, air conditioning and TV, if some people think this is basic they must normally stay in 4/5 star accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cupar
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We first visited this hotel in May 2010 and was so pleased with the apartment that we returned in October. Big mistake.
In May we got an apartment on the fifth floor overlooking the pool. It was great--very spacious and loads of privacy, also generally quiet at night. Manager a nice friendly helpful guy.
On our booking form for the return visit in October we specified that we required the same rooms. Were never told there may be a problem here. On arrival at reception, we were given a room on the third floor overlooking a busy main road. We asked for a change but they said they were fully booked?????? For the first five nights we could not get a full nights sleep because of noise. A local cafe had just been opened over the road and the locals don't speak to each other--they shout. Also is opposite a large refuse collection centre. 400bhp Cummins lorry engine running at max revs for nearly 1 hour from 12.45 onwards to empty huge refuse bins. A local dog managed to keep us up most of another night as it was part of a trio in a "Who can bark the longest" competition.This was reported to the manager who refused to go out and stop the incessant barking but said he would phone the police. By morning 6 we had had enough and demanded another room. a girl at the desk moved us along the corridor a fair bit away from the cafe area. For the last two nights the noise was a little subdued and we got some sleep. The tone and attitude of the manager had changed and he never bade us goodbye, unlike the departure on our first trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

ALBA HOTEL
Nice enough,does the job as a base and thats it.
We didnt want the "free upgrade" but were forced to have it as the normal rooms where shut as the hotel was so quiet and thats hardly surprising as Monte Gordo is a ghost town.
Pleasant staff,average room but a room safe you could open with a desert spoon (trust me on this I opened the locked room safe with a desert spoon in front of shocked staff),the bar is never open,the pool is not heated and is is the shade most of the day,bbrrrr
We booked the Alba hotel,Monte Gordo for a week but didnt last two days as it was so boring,in fact we spent Sunday night 10th Oct watching the antiques roadshow in the hotel room as it was more entertaining than walking around Monte Gordo again.

On Monday thanks to the hire car that we needed to get to Monte Gordo as it is so far from the airport to catch a taxi (36 miles to Faro airport,53 miles to Albufiera),we drove over to the party central town of Albufiera on the west of the Algarve and booked another hotel out of our spending money as it would be worth it.We then drove back to the Alba packed the car and left and I promise you we will never return.

Fantastic if you are over 70 but if you are any younger and like a bit of evening entertainment give Monte Gordo a miss as there isnt any entertainment whatsoever apart from sitting outside a bar watching the wrinklies go by or standing in the "casino" pumping your money into fruit machines.

Great beach in Monte Gordo and some nice restaraunts/bars BUT most shut at 10PM,be warned if you want some nightlife AVOID MONTE GORDO and book Albufiera which is the best town on the coast and we visited a few believe me.HAPPY HOLS

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Just back from a 2 week holiday in Portugal. Holiday was booked at last minute and was very impressed on arrival to Hotel Alba. On greeting us at near enough midnight the staff was very helpful and kind and on a Brucy bonus they upgraded our room. The location to the Monte Gordo Beach was a short 5 minute walk and the beach was stunning, very busy though and if you walk up the shoreline for another 5 minutes you will find quieter spots on the beach as the white sandy beach streches for miles. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.3 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 13 in Monte Gordo
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 13 in Monte Gordo
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#10 of 13 in Monte Gordo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Alba

Property: Hotel Alba
Address: Lote 3 Rua 10 de Maio | Alameda da India, Monte Gordo 8900-332, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hotel Monte Gordo
Hotel Alba Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing