We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”
Review of Calema Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Calema Aparthotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visited at Easter 2013 for 5 days, went back at Easter 2014 for 10 days. Great hotel, clean and well presented. Short walk to nearest supermarket, the beach, the town and bars/restaurants Buffet continental breakfast was OK, no variation each day but still saves cooking. Did not eat in restaurant on an evening but looked a good choice on the menu, with a guest discount available. Bar clean and spacious, and competitively priced for a hotel. Free Wi-Fi in the reception/lounge/bar areas.First few days there were teams of young children who were competing in the Mundialito but we knew to expect them and it was only until Easter Sunday when they all returned home.2 bedroom apartment was large, clean and spacious. Small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, hob and plenty of cupboard space and all utensils, crockery etc included. We only made sandwiches each day, so did not fully utilise the kitchen. TV was basic but you do not go on holiday to sit in front of a TV! Give this hotel a try you will enjoy it and won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

A group of 12 of us stayed here. The rooms are spacious. Its a short walk from the beach. Prices for drinks from the bar were superb 1 euro for a bottle of beer. Some superb restaurants nearby. Cant recommend enough

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

just got back from another great relaxing holiday in Monte Gordo , Portugal in the Calema Hotel the hotel was very good & the weather was tremendous & the resort itself is so relaxing, well worth a visit if you just want a chill out beach holiday

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the pool with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

More like a hotel than an apartment complex, the Calema proved an excellent choice in terms of value and overall quality. the single-room apartment was spacious and well equipped, with a nice breakfast bar separating the kitchen and living areas. The location was close to the resort centre (5 mins walk) and beach (10 mins), and although somewhat urban, it was quiet and convenient.

Everything was up to standard as far as we were concerned - Air conditioning, Lifts, Equipment, Swimming pools (especially the indoor heated one), bar etc. We didn't try the food, as we preferred to cook ourselves or dine nearer the beach.

View from the balcony wasn't great (i.e. buildings), but otherwise no complaints whatsoever - will re-book next ime we are in Monte Gordo, for sure.

Room Tip: If a pool view balcony is possible, then you may prefer this, not an issue for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El-Barrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

just got back from a week in calema, the hotel was very nice, clean, close to the beach, would go back as its in an excellent location, calling at moby's bar to see karl and toni is a must.xx to bits karl.xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

we stayed here for a week, 6 of us in a two bed apartment. the apartment was very spacious an kept really clean. towels changed daily if you left them on bathroom floor. the balcony was huge, plenty of space an enough chairs for us all to sit out there. we were self catering so carnt comment on the food. plenty of places close by to eat. we would definatly go back here, lovely place :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed there for 5 days with breakfast included. The breakfast was very poor, very low variety and very little quality. We couldn't even toast the bread. Don't try the milk from the machine, it's awful, I asked all week for them to heat some milk for me. Helpful staff outside of the breakfast room. The apartment was big and spacious, and relatively clean. Although the apartment doesn't have sun all day it was always hot. We had to leave the windows open all day and at night too. The problem with leaving the windows open at night was the noise, there were always carriages with horses (that had little bells on them that made a lot of noise,more irritating than actually loud) passing there all night. The pool is very small, we didn't went there, we went only to the beach that it's huge and 600 meters walking distance. Monte Gordo has a big problem with parking, lots of cars for a tiny city...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smtcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#5 of 14 in Monte Gordo
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casablanca Inn
Casablanca Inn
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#11 of 14 in Monte Gordo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calema Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calema Aparthotel

Address: Avenida da Catalunha, Monte Gordo 8900-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £24 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calema Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Calema Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calema Aparthotel Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing