We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calema Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calema Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We went early May the hotel is good facilities are good food can't commend as we were self catering
Clean and very helpful staff the weather was brill when we there mid 30s every day Amust is to get the ferry to Spain it's a nice little town ayermonte
Eatin out is easy as there are plenty restarants of all cuisine
The resort is flat so easy on the feet all in all great will I go back YES

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 30trebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    33
    31
    5
    7
See reviews for
43
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spennymoor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visited at Easter 2013 for 5 days, went back at Easter 2014 for 10 days. Great hotel, clean and well presented. Short walk to nearest supermarket, the beach, the town and bars/restaurants Buffet continental breakfast was OK, no variation each day but still saves cooking. Did not eat in restaurant on an evening but looked a good choice on the menu, with a guest discount available. Bar clean and spacious, and competitively priced for a hotel. Free Wi-Fi in the reception/lounge/bar areas.First few days there were teams of young children who were competing in the Mundialito but we knew to expect them and it was only until Easter Sunday when they all returned home.2 bedroom apartment was large, clean and spacious. Small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, hob and plenty of cupboard space and all utensils, crockery etc included. We only made sandwiches each day, so did not fully utilise the kitchen. TV was basic but you do not go on holiday to sit in front of a TV! Give this hotel a try you will enjoy it and won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

A group of 12 of us stayed here. The rooms are spacious. Its a short walk from the beach. Prices for drinks from the bar were superb 1 euro for a bottle of beer. Some superb restaurants nearby. Cant recommend enough

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

just got back from another great relaxing holiday in Monte Gordo , Portugal in the Calema Hotel the hotel was very good & the weather was tremendous & the resort itself is so relaxing, well worth a visit if you just want a chill out beach holiday

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the pool with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

More like a hotel than an apartment complex, the Calema proved an excellent choice in terms of value and overall quality. the single-room apartment was spacious and well equipped, with a nice breakfast bar separating the kitchen and living areas. The location was close to the resort centre (5 mins walk) and beach (10 mins), and although somewhat urban, it was quiet and convenient.

Everything was up to standard as far as we were concerned - Air conditioning, Lifts, Equipment, Swimming pools (especially the indoor heated one), bar etc. We didn't try the food, as we preferred to cook ourselves or dine nearer the beach.

View from the balcony wasn't great (i.e. buildings), but otherwise no complaints whatsoever - will re-book next ime we are in Monte Gordo, for sure.

Room Tip: If a pool view balcony is possible, then you may prefer this, not an issue for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El-Barrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

just got back from a week in calema, the hotel was very nice, clean, close to the beach, would go back as its in an excellent location, calling at moby's bar to see karl and toni is a must.xx to bits karl.xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

we stayed here for a week, 6 of us in a two bed apartment. the apartment was very spacious an kept really clean. towels changed daily if you left them on bathroom floor. the balcony was huge, plenty of space an enough chairs for us all to sit out there. we were self catering so carnt comment on the food. plenty of places close by to eat. we would definatly go back here, lovely place :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calema Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calema Aparthotel

Property: Calema Aparthotel
Address: Avenida da Catalunha, Monte Gordo 8900-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Calema Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Calema Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calema Aparthotel Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing