We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special, but OK”
Review of Calema Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calema Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Special, but OK”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We found the Calema Hotel in Monte Gordo fairly average/nothing special. The apartment was however very spacious, and clean, and the reception staff extremely helpful.

We were half board, so ate every morning and evening in the restaurant which was very small and pokey - if you were a couple you had to sit squashed in the middle of the room - there were tables for 4 and more around the side, but on more than one occasion guests were very rudely shouted at if they dared attempt to sit there if there were only two of them. Understandable if the restaurant was busy - but as not many guests used it, then I saw no need for that attitude. We could not complain about the food in the evening - even though there wasn't much of a choice, we really liked what was on offer, although I would definitely not recommend eating there if you are a vegetarian, or even if you are someone who loves their puddings - as there was hardly any choice of desert - 2 flan type dishes and/or fruit. Also If you like your breakfasts, then don't eat there either; only bread rolls, with ham/cheese, Jam/marmalade, 1 choice of yoghurt flavour, and 1 choice of cereal. OK I suppose if you were going for a short time, but it got very boring after 10 days!!

Monte Gordo itself was lovely - HUGH beach, - though noticeably hardly any young families. Certainly at the time of year we went (September) the average "Tourists" I would say were early retirement age and above.

We would go back to Monte Gordo, but probably find a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    32
    5
    7
See reviews for
44
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We stayed (me and my wife) on Hotel Calema for 2 weeks starting 12th august 2008. The hotel is spotlessly clean. All the staff where polite helpful & cheerful at all times. Their English is good too. There is lots of equipment in the apartment to make your own dinner. The best equipped hotel I have visit. Its not Coffee machine but a kettle, that works fine. There is an toaster and microwave, and an Owen with 4 cooking plates. Air-condition. The restaurant in hotel was cheap & served very good food. The bar is excellent. The swimming pool is small, but nice and clean. I don’t try the trim room and sauna, but its look well equipped. Food, drinks and cigarettes my you buy in the hotel bar. Internet café in the reception, but not of good use, since they have too much security, so you cannot fill your phone or pay your bill.

Also the maids are in to clean every day. The Hotel and the staff are excellent. Recommended.

Smal, but good Library in the 2. reception.

PS. Some sound from the nearby area, but that will stop when the building complex is finish.

  • Liked — Well equipped and clean
  • Disliked — sound level from nearby contractor.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JanBergen_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2008

My chum and I stayed at the Calema Aparthotel in Sept/Oct 2006. We loved every minute of it. The room was spotless and towels changed daily. We enjoyed the bar & restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Calema is close to shops and beach, also plenty of restaurants around if you fancy eating out. We are going to Monte Gordo this year 2008 and hope to stay at the Calema as we had such a good time before.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness
  • Disliked — there was nothing I disliked
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lyricalsixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

When we first got there, were not real impressed -- and I will say this right now, DON'T eat there (at the Calema), food is a real disappointment, but there are so many places around that are just fantastic -- the Rendevous is fabulous, and only a short walk away -- as is everything else -- hiring a car is a waste of money, LOTS of shops, restaurants, and interesting places to explore, lots of bike paths, and bike hire is cheap -- as are nearly all of the restaurants -- This is a fantastic place to just plain relax -- the beach's are really, delightful, and I am from Florida & Australia - so I know my beaches, the Calema is really good value for money -- we had a two bedroom apartment with two baths and two balconies, it was clean, well maintained, but lacking in things like coffee maker and full air conditioning -- small pool, but nice if you could get to it -- staff were really great, helpful, friendly, and would go out of there way to do what they could for you -- back to the food in the area -- there were three of us, and we would eat, drink, have dessert, and after dinner drinks (or nightcap) for around about 70 or so Euro all up for the three of us -- it really is a fantastic place -- no loud clubs, or hooligans all over, had the Honda golden wing club there when we were, and they were great -- no problems at all -- just loved looking at those beautiful motorcycles -- All in All, one of the most beautiful places (and friendliest) I have ever been to for a vacation -- we were there for two weeks, and wished we could have stayed longer -- but be assured, we are absolutely going back -- this is a DO NOT MISS place
Ron & Inge (&sister in law - Karen)
Go there to relax -- not party (we are all over 50)

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Fla-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds - UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We went to Monte Gordo the second week of the season, so was still very quite which suited us as all we wanted was a good beach and some
local restaurants serving local food. The hotel was fine - 1 bed apartment which was kept clean and tidy, only slight problem was we were at the front of the hotel so got a little traffic noise, and were above the gym, so between 4.00pm and 7.00pm had noise / music from below.

Food wise, all the beach bars are much of a muchness - but do great fresh sardines, which, when washed down with a bottle of crisp house dry wine was fab for lunch - 7 euro's for the sardines (and plenty of them) 5 euro's for a bottle of house wine.

For evening meals there were a couple of places which we felt stood out especially Veleiro Restaurante which is about 20m past the Casino. A lot of local seafood, and did "cataplana's" which is like a big stew which can either be meat, fish or both, and have an extensive wine list if you fancy something a little more special than the house wine. Also, you can get a taxi down to Vila Real Santo Antonio for about 5 euro's and there are some good restaurants along the marina - we went to the Associacao Naval which was recommended by the waiters at Veleiro for great seafood. All in all a great place to go for a low key, non noisy realxing week!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2006

My husband and I, both over 60, stayed at the Calema 14-28th Sept 2006. The apartment was very clean, being cleaned every day but Sunday. The bedding was changed twice weekly and the towels every day. There was a microwave but no toaster or egg cups. Plenty of crockery and cutlery etc. but no tray and pots and pans a bit limited. We didn't cook much but missed the toaster and egg cups so we bought them there.

Our first week was in a north facing apartment with absolutely no sun at any time. It also had a chest high (when standing) wall which made us feel very cut off from the world. I asked for a change for the second week and was then given a south facing apartment with open access over the pool. It was like being in a different hotel. Sun all day, contact with the world so we spent a lot of time there unlike with the first apartment. Half of the apartments are north facing so be aware of this when booking.

Monte Gordo itself is very clean with plenty of cafes and restaurants. But it's very limited because the beach is very wide making the sea very far from the road and the beach dips down near the water's edge so that when you sit down beside the beach you cannot see the sea. There's no promenade because there's no visible sea, therefore there's no real focus to the place,
which is a big disadvantage because walking by the sea is something you do on holiday. The beach itself is very nice and very big and the water is safe to swim in.

We visited Villa Real which is about 3.5 klm away. It's a lovely small town and it's where you get the ferry to Spain which is very close by. Taxis are cheap as are the buses. There's also a train nearby which goes to Faro and everywhere in between. We went to Tavira by train.

All in all we enjoyed the holiday but wouldn't go back because of the previously mentioned limitations.

  • Liked — It's size and cleanliness
  • Disliked — North facing for first week
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own toaster if yoy want to have toast.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluebell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport gwent south wales
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2006

just got back from the calema aparthotel montegordo
for the two weeks we were there it was excellent
6 of us shared a two bed apartment
it was very large plenty of space
we had two bathrooms one with a shower, toilet,sink.
the other had full bath with shower over it ,toilet,bidet,sink.
all looking new and very clean
two very large bedrooms
with plenty of storage space
living room and kitchen also very large
kitchen has everything even a microwave oven
although we took our own toaster and kettle
but we always do that where ever we go
two large sofas in the living area good for the children
to sleep on
tv with limited channels but ok
air con with its own remote control
both free
large balcony
as my wife was in a wheelchair
the calema is great there are at least 4 ramps outside
the hotel
and one inside just outside the lifts
it was easy for her and me as i push her around in her
wheelchair
as we were self catering
there was plenty of supermarkets
ali super being the main supermarket in the algarve
but the was plenty of others
we went out every night to eat
plenty of places to eat local fish a specialty
but there was plenty of places for english breakfast
indian,and chinese places as well
plenty of small bars to have a cheap drink in
one place owned by a very nice local couple
a place called the hamburger bar
we drank and had snacks at was very cheap
everything drink wise nearly all cost 1 Euro
very nice friendly couple
the area was very flat very good for wheelchair users
beach great very flat we walked straight off the prom
onto the beach
all in all a great hotel and resort
if anyone is going there soon i can suggest places
to eat and drink
we are going back next year 2007 in august
we all cant wait

  • Liked — very large and clean apartments
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — just give it a try you will be suprised
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 13 in Monte Gordo
506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#11 of 13 in Monte Gordo
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 13 in Monte Gordo
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calema Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calema Aparthotel

Property: Calema Aparthotel
Address: Avenida da Catalunha, Monte Gordo 8900-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Calema Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Calema Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calema Aparthotel Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing