We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calema Aparthotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Paiva(Monte Gordo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prime Energize(Monte Gordo)
View Hotel
Alcazar Hotel & SPA(Monte Gordo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alba(Monte Gordo)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Casablanca Inn(Monte Gordo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casablanca(Ferragudo)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vasco da Gama Hotel(Monte Gordo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
20
39
43
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
39
43
9
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2006

just got back from the calema aparthotel montegordo
for the two weeks we were there it was excellent
6 of us shared a two bed apartment
it was very large plenty of space
we had two bathrooms one with a shower, toilet,sink.
the other had full bath with shower over it ,toilet,bidet,sink.
all looking new and very clean
two very large bedrooms
with plenty of storage space
living room and kitchen also very large
kitchen has everything even a microwave oven
although we took our own toaster and kettle
but we always do that where ever we go
two large sofas in the living area good for the children
to sleep on
tv with limited channels but ok
air con with its own remote control
both free
large balcony
as my wife was in a wheelchair
the calema is great there are at least 4 ramps outside
the hotel
and one inside just outside the lifts
it was easy for her and me as i push her around in her
wheelchair
as we were self catering
there was plenty of supermarkets
ali super being the main supermarket in the algarve
but the was plenty of others
we went out every night to eat
plenty of places to eat local fish a specialty
but there was plenty of places for english breakfast
indian,and chinese places as well
plenty of small bars to have a cheap drink in
one place owned by a very nice local couple
a place called the hamburger bar
we drank and had snacks at was very cheap
everything drink wise nearly all cost 1 Euro
very nice friendly couple
the area was very flat very good for wheelchair users
beach great very flat we walked straight off the prom
onto the beach
all in all a great hotel and resort
if anyone is going there soon i can suggest places
to eat and drink
we are going back next year 2007 in august
we all cant wait

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Calema for a week in May 2006 and we thought the hotel was excellent value for the money. We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious, very clean and maintained daily. We were provided with loads of towels throughout our stay. Kitchen had a micro, fridge and two ring hob. One (very minor) gripe: there was no toaster or any type of grill. There was a TV and an air conditioning unit in the apartment’s lounge area and the A/C was free (other hotels sometimes charge you extra).

Not much in the way of views from the balcony but for the money we paid for the holiday we couldn’t complain. There was a safe in the bedroom wardrobe and it cost 10 euros a week for the lock for it from reception which is cheap to ensure that your passports and valuables are safe while out.

Staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke very good English (much better than our Portuguese!)

Overall value for money. While the holiday was enjoyable, we wouldn’t go back to Monte Gordo as it was just too quite for us.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rabnala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2006

My husband and I spent our honeymoon last September at the Calema. It was the first time George had been abroad and it was the best place we could have chosen. The hotel was great, staff fantastic and Montegordo was a lovely town. We enjoyed it so much, we're returning in May!

12  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2005

Pure relaxation was our aim as both myself and boyfriend live and work in London. All we wanted was a clean room, beautiful beach and somewhere good to eat and have a few beers at night.... Monte Gordo exceeded our hopes and was an excellant choice. We sayed in the Calema for one week and were pleased with the facilitys. We used the indoor pool and our door which although a little cold were a god send after lying in the beautiful heat of the sun. The pool table helped kill the hour between coming back from the beach and getting ready to go out. In our early 30's we did all our partying years ago and were glad of the relaxed and casual attitude of the local bars. Not once was our night interupted by groups of lager drinking beermonsters or football holligans!! We mainly went to Johns Bar which was a 2 min walk and had sky sports on a huge plasma so my fella got to watch all the games whilst i sampled the cocktails and chatted to the locals. Did a day trip to Gibralter which is a trek but worth it just to see the apes...also tax free so great for duty free shopping. We went self catering so can't comment on the food, but the rooms were spacious and well equipped also clean and well maintained. Staff very polite and helpful. We will no doubt see them all again very soon. I would recommend this resort to people looking for a low key non tourist place to soak up the sun on a fantastic beach and good places to eat and drink within easy walking distance.I hope any body visiting has a good a time as we did. Cassie and Matt, New Malden, Surrey)

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Cassie-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
norwich, norfolk
113
Reviewed 23 June 2004

We have just come back from Monte Gordo, having had a two week holiday staying at the Calema Aparthotel.
We were half board. The hotel was wonderful, very very clean, we had a fab room with a very large balcony. We were on the 4th floor at the very end.
The view wasnt fantastic, a very grubby building opposite.but we did over look the pool. which was lovely.
The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful.
The food was ok, hot and well presented. But what we were dissapointed with was the lack of choice.
Although 2 days before we left they had just introduced buffet self service style. We found that the food was not very hot, plus there were no vegs to have with the meat dishes.
Dont get me wrong, We really enjoyed our stay.
There was defiantly a lack of evening entertainment in the bars and hotels.
The show at the casino is well worth a visit.
The beaches were fab.
I would defiantly go back.


13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews