We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place is closed, being refurbished” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montesol Aparthotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monte Gordo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montesol Aparthotel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Place is closed, being refurbished”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

This is a review for interest sake in case anyone is planning to return to these apartments.
We stayed at the Alcazar Hotel which is next door to The Montesol Apartments, the place is undergoing a massive refurbishment, covered in scaffolding while they appear to be adding new doors, balcony doors, window frames and it looked like a complete electric rewire. I would not imagine it to be reopened for some time.

  • Disliked — not habital at present
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank rogangbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2007

I enjoyed Montegordo as it is a nice resort, very laid back. I would not go back to this hotel however, as someone entered our room with a key and busted open our suitcases and stole our British money and our Euros. Rightfully, we should have had a safe but we have been going on holiday for 30 years and have never thought about a safe. The staff were nice enough but the funny thing was, all the rooms on our floor got new locks put on even though the hotel was closing in October for refurbishment.

  • Liked — it was very central
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monte Gordo hotels

Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed here from the 6 Aug 06 for 11 nights a very clean hotel but very basic rooms self catering ( No kettle) maids in every day to clean rooms. Swimming pool on top floor which is freezing loungers are ok but no bar beside pool bar is on bottom floor beside reception.

Montegordo is very busy at the start of August. Lovely restaurants a good holland bar ed and willem where they do fantastic food and some really good pizza restaurants. Remember portugese do not eat until later so some places are not open till 7pm and after 7 30pm can fill up quickly. Plenty of bars to choose from we went to McGintys irish bar down past the casino very friendly karoke every night and drinks are cheap there is also Johns bar for cocktails and plenty more to choose from.

Plenty tourist shops but most sell the same thing and a lovely cork shop in the square. Villa real is a 5 min taxi ride away to get the ferry to spain for something different to do. Your rep will also have days out. There is not much to do in Montegordo apart from walk round the shops or go down to the beach which is lovely but if your wanting a relaxing holiday then you will enjoy it.

And no we are not old we are 24 and 28 and we enjoyed ourselfs but found that 1 week would of been long enough but for a cheap holiday its a good place to go we would go back again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A bit basic for self catering and no bar beside pool
  • Tips/Secrets — change money at swarovski shop top end of pedestrian bit very good commision compared to banks
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorty8205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n,ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2006

Montesol apartmotel was basic but clean, we upgraded from a studio for extra space.
Myself and my girlfriend both late 30's arrived late Juneo6 to a relatively quiet resort despite Portugal's' progression in the word cup.
Montegordo itself is nothing special. With highrise apartments and a lack of planning foresight it fails to delight. If you want a relaxing time with a fine beach, nice restaurants then its okay.. If you want real character and treasured memories then consider elsewhere in the Algarve.

On the plus side its the hottest and cheapest part of the Algarve. Go to the nightly casino show for a fantastic 10euros bottle of wine included. Avoid the downstairs games room eerily quiet passport needed. Hire out bikes for 2km ride to Villa Real and the ferry trip across to spain. Take a few day trips to break up the repetitiveness of walking around Montegordo.. do it twice and you feel like a fish.

We would go back to the Algarve but not Montegordo before we're 65.

Helpful?
1 Thank anthoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terneuzen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2005

We, a couple of 60+, were this year for the 6th time in Portugal. Our first time was in 1997, we then stayed in Praia da Rocha. The years after this trip we stayed in Monte Gordo. Every year when we re-arrive it feels like 'coming home'.
We stayed in several appartments such as: Atlantica, Atlantido, Alba (west en north side, if you go there avoid this north side because its horrible) Calema and Montesol. This year in januari till March we stayed in Aparthotel Montesol. This is an older building which needs to be totally renovated.
For the Dutch readers of this comment: We travelled with several holiday-companies such as: PRIMAVERA (the best of all), GIRASSOL (also good but expensive). WARNING: NEVER EVER travel with KRAS-Stervakanties becaause this is the worst company to deal with. You cannot trust them at all. We have had terrible experiences with this travel-agent. They cheat and lie!!! There is only one good thing about them: they have (maybe now HAD) very nice hostesses in Monte Gordo. We advise everybody strongly not to travel with this company. WE STRONGLY ADVISE TO BOOK AND GO WITH PRIMAVERA, its the best TRAVEL-AGENT for the Eastern Algarve.
In Monte Gordo there are several (over 20) good restaurants where you can get very good meals and most of them, are very cheap. If anybody wants to know more about Monte Gordo please do not hesitate and send an email to: montegordofans@wanadoo.nl We will try to answer all your questions as fast as possible.
Next year we go again to Monte Gordo. This time we will travel with our own car. We rented an appartment from a privat person, a Dutchman who lived in the place for 8 years and owns several appartments.
WHEN YOU DECIDE TO GO THERE WE WISH YOU A PLEASANT STAY.

Helpful?
17 Thank montegordofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2004

Aparthotel Montesol, is a really nice Hotel with very friendyly staff and it has a really nice Roof Terrace and Pool.

Now Monte Gordo, is a different story all together, I have never been to such a Boring place in all my Life, although its very Qaint and Clean, there is absolutely nothing to do. The first 3 days there we would have gladly gone home, its not until you relize that you have to totally rethink your shedule, can you put up with it. this means getting up late on purpose, wandering down to Ed & Willems Bar, which serves the best English Breakfast you will find, (Ed & Willems is situtated on the front next to a Supermarket), the front is not that long so you can't miss it, after breakfast its wander up into the Empty Town Square and have a Drink at the Alamo Bar, (its nice with a friendly young lady to serve you and you can enjoy the air of emptyness around you and wonder, where are all the people) after that its back to the front and walk into Bar 42, they serve a really nice beer there and its only 2 doors down from Ed & Willems. after an hour there its then time to wander back to the hotel, get changed, pick up a good book, (take plenty of them, I read one every 2 days) and go to the Roof Terrace, stay there till 5ish then back to your room shower, change, go out for a couple of drinks and about 8.30 make your way to the Steak Bar, just around the corner from Bar 42 up a side street on the Left, that is the Best Meal you will get in Monte Gordo, we ate there after having 4 days of terrible meals and Annebel is a nice lady, after Dinner go for a nice walk around the town which should take about 15 mins or 30 mins if your really slow and then back to Bar 42 for the rest of the evening and then to Bed. repeat this for 14 days and go home.

Watch the Beggers, they are all over the front, Cripples, Kids & young mothers with kids). Have a morning in spain, its a quaint little town and you'll see more life there in one morning than you will in 14 days in Monte Gordo. A trip worth booking is to Zoo Marine, it has Sea Lions, Dolphins, small fair ground attractipons & pools, its a great day, the Sea Lion show is a must to see and the dophin Show is fantastic. You can also pay to interact with the Dolphins at an extra cost of 125 Euro, but if you can afford it, do it as its the best experience you will ever have.

Now back to Monte Gordo, because its so quiet, with nothing to do plus with the added attraction of no live music, just go there and totally relax, if you don't mind dogs, Flies, Fish Dishes, Veal and General boredom, you will enjoy it.
Good luck, You'll need it.

Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#9 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montesol Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montesol Aparthotel

Property: Montesol Aparthotel
Address: Rua de Ceuta, Monte Gordo 8900-435, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
Montesol Aparthotel Hotel Monte Gordo
Montesol Aparthotel Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing