We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hello we went to vasco da gama on 31 October for two weeks the hotel is perfect for a very friendly relaxing holiday food is the best hotel food ever there's something for everyone , the staff are so friendly the maids behind the scene work very hard , we absolutely love the alga rev and what more the weather was absolutely perfect sunbathe moated days

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

as this was our fourth time here we obviously love it Abit upset first day as we couldn't have the rooms we booked until the next day so had to use an apartment not suitable at all b ut it was only for 1 night and we did get 2 sea view rooms together the next day. I didn't feel the rooms were cleaned to normal standards but don't know if that was because we were there for a month????? there was a problem with the food cabinets which was a bit concerning and I felt a lot of it was not hot enough, though they did keep testing it with a thermometer. not good for a well established hotel to my mind. The staff are really friendly and helpful but as another reviewer says the waiters do stand talking rather than clearing the tables. we will go back again as the hotel is in the perfect location and we do love it. sea view is a must the sun on the balcony all day its heaven

Room Tip: high floor and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RINGSTEAD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a very good hotel in a lovely setting, the rooms are lovely and kept very clean. The bar and lounge are both very comfortable with leather sofas, free wifi can be accessed from both of these rooms in addition to the reception area.
The drinks are very reasonable particularly during Happy Hour from 5 to 7pm when half a litre of Sangria is only 2.25 euros, you get a fantastic view of the sun set from the bar. The restaurant serves a very good house wine for only 8 euros a bottle.
The food at both breakfast and dinner is very good with a wide choice plus the chef cooks griddled meat for people who prefer something plain.
A visit to Spain is recommended, the 8:45 bus from outside the hotel will take you the 2 miles to the 9am ferry terminal, you can return on the 1pm bus or take a taxi.
It is also worthwhile to take the train or bus to Faro (see the old town) and Tavira.
We had a lovely holiday and the hotel played a large part in this.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 578Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just back from our second stay at the Vasco da Gama.I agree with all the good comments regarding the position of hotel so will not repeat them. I thought I would comment instead on some little tips which I wish I had known prior to visiting. This is a beach/pool holiday so you need to bring some 'entertainment' with you, books puzzles etc., be aware that WiFi can only be picked up near the reception area. There is a table on each landing where you can leave/borrow books and magazines, also a book case in the groundfloor room where you can store suitcases whilst waiting for your room (check in 2pm, check out 12) but the majority are not in English so don't rely on them. We were unlucky with the weather this time and found that a five night stay was enough, there is little in the way of 'bad weather' distractions. The bus service is very infrequent outside the main holiday months but there is a taxi rank about three minutes walk (turn left out of the hotel) The hairdryer attached to the wall in the bathroom is a basic 'blaster' to dry your hair, it is impossible to style your hair with it so ladies bring your own, however, in line with almost every hotel I have stayed in, the Vasco doesn't have a mirror near an electricity socket either! There is no 'tea' tray in your room so a travel kettle plus mugs are a must. There is a mini bar fridge in the room which we used for water (20c from local supermarket 5 minutes walk from hotel) Flat screen TV in room, you have to scroll through about 22 Spanish stations in order to get to the English ones; no BBC I'm afraid only various ITV stations and an English speaking Euro station. Buffet style breakfast and evening meal; you certainly will not go hungry as you can eat freely but notices warn that any food taken out of restaurant will be added to you bill. Personally I found the fish a better choice, meat didn't strike me as being of a high quality, plenty of fresh fruit and salad. Tables are set with knives and forks only so don't forget to pick up teaspoons, butter knives, sauces etc when you select your food. On both visits I have found the serving staff 'variable' Some are excellent at clearing your table of used plates but some leave them to pile up which I find a great irritation. This is not a fine dining experience at the Vasco more like a self service canteen. No drinks are included in the evening meal (self service urns at breakfast) most people purchased a bottle of wine (8 euro) which could be saved for the next day if not finished. Coffee is served in the bar area and costs 1.5 euro. The hotel runs a 'happy two hours' between 5 and 7 pm each evening when all drinks are half price (cocktail 2.25 euro, about the same for a large beer) and there is some entertainment laid on most evenings in the comfortable lounge bar (lighting is low so not suitable for reading ) If you are blessed with good weather there is a lovely balcony bar area overlooking the pool, christened 'Bat Terrace' on a previous visit.

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just back from our 3 visit to Monte Gordo, we love it, we stayed at The Vasco de Gama, this hotel is old world, so don't expect minimalism, I think,it is the oldest hotel in the Algarve,the location is superb the pool area and public areas are spotless,they have their own beach bar, we love the Hel Bar on the beach and a glass of Vino Verde cannot be beaten watching the sun set with your feet in the sand, we hired bikes and cycled around the resort, through the forests, Vila Real is very pretty, this is where you get the little ferry to Ayomonte in Spain. We lost some prescription glasses in a light grey case, so if anyone finds them please return to Vasco de Gama hotel, PICKFORD jet 2 hols. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank GillP136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Paid for sea view but our view was a large tree and to the right solar panels. Evening meal not up to a four star hotel but the breakfast was excellent (best ever). Hotel very clean. Nice old charm. Brilliant happy hour.

Room Tip: Take care when paying extre for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

excellent hotel our 2nd visit and will be back soon .we llike the fact that it has direct access to the beach,and lots of room around the pool. rooms are excellent serviced byattentive staff,the restaurant also passed with flying colours.

3  Thank BARRIEJ914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn
Casablanca Inn
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasco da Gama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasco da Gama Hotel

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £40 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasco da Gama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the 60's, here it appears and opens, that would become "The first beach hotel in the Algarve". At the seafront planted, it served as inspiration, named after the great discoverer, who five centuries ago discovered the sea route to India, thus being baptized on August 1, 1960 of "Hotel Vasco da Gama" applied in a metaphorical way, because this would be the first to be born in this region. The Hotel Vasco da Gama offers 186 rooms, which are all equipped with all modern amenities, such as swimming pools, tennis courts, children's playground, mini golf, gym, Wi-Fi internet, parking, private gardens, restaurants and bars. A wide range of services, as well as breathtaking views of the sea, where the main concern is nothing more than the comfort and well-being of those who stay there, or unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vasco da Gama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vasco Da Gama
Vasco Da Gama Monte Gordo
Vasco Da Gama Hotel Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing