We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Much better facilities than the 3-star rating indicates (Lounge, TV room, large bar area, games/reading room). Slightly run-down, but very comfortable. Room size excellent, good sea view, good standard of cleanliness. Very good breakfasts (and buffet dinner at E20 per head per night - but we only ate-in once). Bar prices high except during happy hour - but a pleasant walk into town to the numerous cafes. 45 min drive from Faro airport. Car parking fine. Good base for cycling (hire shop over the road) and walking in the Guadiana Valley. Would recommend having a car - local bus and train services fairly infrequent. Staff very obliging. Pool was too cold to use (March) but sea was ok for a quick dip. Guests mainly Dutch and UK pensioners, but some younger people. Interesting birds in the gardens - hoopoes, redstarts etc. Monte Gordo itself is a newish development - not terribly enthralling. VR de Santo Antonio is within walking distance, and has more traditional Portuguese architecture (rebuilt in the 18th century after being flattened by a Tsunami) and shops. Castro Marim worth a visit, and a ferry ride across the estuary to Ayamonte in Spain worth doing (E2.30 each way)

Very enjoyable stay !

Room Tip: Some of the lower "sea-view" rooms have view obscured - would recommend 3rd floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SidcupWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    229
    58
    25
    7
See reviews for
132
243
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Talybont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

we had two very good stays at this hotel for two years running. we will be going back there later this year. we also went on various trips especially to Seville. the staff in the hotel were very good and helpful and food was on very good quality and plenty of it. no complaints whatsoever we really had, a very enjoyable time on each stay.

Room Tip: the rooms are fine ideal for aholiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My fifth Christmas in a row here. On my arrival I was given the key to room 532. This must be the grottiest room in the hotel. It had a nice side sea view and that was about it. The heating/airconditioning didn't work; it blew only cold air. The room's location on the top floor meant that it it needed to be kept warm. The bath was a disgrace; the enamel lining had come away. The whole room was in desperate need of refurbishment though the bed was clean and comfortable. It should only be used as a room of last resort. After one night I asked to be moved and with no problem from the reception staff I was given room 315, a far nicer room.
As I am a regular guest here I was surprised that I was put in such a room at the start. Doesn't customer loyalty count for anything?
The rest of my stay here was very enjoyable; the staff were as good and as friendly as ever and the food in the dining room was up to its usual standard. The only slight disappointment was that BBC1 and 2 are no longer available on the TV. ITV1,2 and 4 are available however.
Being put in such an awful room at the start means that the hotel loses one point in this review.

Room Tip: Dont take room 532.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GwynMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here at the end of November for 5 nights. The hotel is in a perfect location on the beautiful beach. The rooms were a bit dated, but the cleaning was second to none, with pristine white bedding, fluffy quits and pillows. There was plenty of choice for meals, I mostly ate the salads, as they were gorgeous. We had a few days on the beach as the weather was great, we also frequented a few of the beach bars with were very friendly and great for beer, sangria and nice snacks, the hotel beach bar was not open during our stay, but there are plenty just further along. Not much going on in the hotel during our stay, this may be due to the majority of guests being of retirement age, not a problem to us, we just made our own entertainment!! On the couple of cold days we had a trip to Villa Real de San Antonio (just 5 euro in a taxi) lovely little town, plenty to see and plenty of shops, we also took the ferry over to Ayamonte in spain, which was filled with pretty squares and buildings. We would have liked the hotel bar to be open through the day, but alas it was not! No problem to us, supermarket over the road sold the same beer, and vodka!! We enjoyed our stay here with friends.

Room Tip: Recommend paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliek18770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Returning here, for three weeks instead of one last year. The hotel itself was great in terms of service, but the experience was ruined by the 'annual' music festival from 27th to 31st December. The temporary festival location was in the centre of the beach front, around 400m from the hotel. Music started at 22:00, but didn't finish until 05:00 each night. The music was so loud that many guests in our hotel were kept awake and made very annoyed. We complained, but were told that the mayor had authorised the festival, so there was nothing to do about the sleep disturbance, even though it was clearly in breach of the law regarding sound pollution. This was particularly bad because 99% of the guests in the town are 60+, and we had two kids with us. Such a shame. We won't be going back, at least not if there's any chance of this recurring.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guygardnerharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Have been here for one week Dec. 2013 can't find anything to complain about. Will write further review on return to uk. Hope this will be of help to anyone on their way. Weather has been a bit mixed this week but apart from being a bit chilly in the evenings it has not been cold.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexTroyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hello we went to vasco da gama on 31 October for two weeks the hotel is perfect for a very friendly relaxing holiday food is the best hotel food ever there's something for everyone , the staff are so friendly the maids behind the scene work very hard , we absolutely love the alga rev and what more the weather was absolutely perfect sunbathe moated days

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 13 in Monte Gordo
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 13 in Monte Gordo
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 13 in Monte Gordo
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasco da Gama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasco da Gama Hotel

Property: Vasco da Gama Hotel
Address: Hotel Vasco da Gama Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasco da Gama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vasco da Gama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vasco Da Gama
Vasco Da Gama Monte Gordo
Vasco Da Gama Hotel Monte Gordo, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing