We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 generations holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Loughborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4 generations holiday”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were a party of 10 family members ranging from 9-85 years of age of 4 generations. First of all the hotel rooms were excellent, very clean,spacious and beautiful sea views. All hotel staff were excellent and went out their way to be helpful. We recommend Theresa who was an amazing therapist and her special massage left you floating. A very special thanks also to Marta and Rui for their boundless enthusiasm with all ages and made our evenings so much fun for young and old. Finally thanks to the restaurant staff who made our dining experience so enjoyable especially catering for an Indian vegetarian family and the special chilli oil with our meals went down a treat.

Room Tip: For sea views ask for room on 7 or 8th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiger6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    188
    178
    63
    42
See reviews for
304
101
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Positive :
- rooms are large and clean (however, they could use a modern refreshment)
- very friendly staff

Negative :
- worst food choice ever and poor quality (you get exactly the same food for lunch and dinner, the meat is dry or almost raw and they just know 3 vegetables : carrots, bones and cauliflower)
- no free Wi-Fi (lucky you if you can have network in your room)
- wellness, gym : paying too...

So you can have way better for that money in Monte Gordo !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fansmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monte Gordo hotels

Moraira
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Having visited once before 5 years ago I knew before our arrival that this is no 4 star establishment, but I don't believe anything has been touched since we were last here! The rooms are tired & worn, the bathrooms dirty, & there is a total ignorance from ALL the staff! We had an 11th floor room which had 1 wardrobe locked.... Why?? Beds(2 singles pushed together are rock hard a and have plastic protecting covers( looking at the average age of their clientele I am not surprised!) I believe they should consider changing the name from Yellow to Orange as 99% of the 75+ old clients are Dutch!
Enjoy the resort as it ha a number of good restaurants and a fantastic huge beach, but stay elsewhere!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank apls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A handsome hotel with large and pleasant foyer.Really nice bedroom with very good bathroom but the beds are extremely hard and might not suit many visitors. Our room had a good view of the sea.
The dining room is in the basement and thus a little gloomy. Dinner was not really exciting - soup followed by a choice of spaghetti and bacon/goulash/fish. It might have been better if it had be more than lukewarm - however, there are many excellent restaurants in Monte gordo and nearby Vila Real de Santo Antonio. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and good but the queues to get coffee were long.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExileScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The beds are very stiff and should be complemented with softer mattress pads.
Due to concrete walls and roof and stone floor there is a terrible noise in the restaurants and bar. Would be easy and cheap to fix with sound absorbing material in the roof, but hotel staff seems not to be interested. Stayed there one week and tried in vain to get the hotel staff to at least correct the clock in the lobby.

Internet is expensive (should be free) as well as lock to the room safe.

If the staff listened to their customers they could easily improve to 4 or even 5 stars. Restaurants are good and service in the restaurants excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel. There are no facilities to prepare a tea or coffee in the room. There was no information in the room or at reception to tell guests what was going on or places to see in and around Monte Gordo.. In fact there weren't any details about the hotel itself.

Breakfast was adequate but overall uninspiring.

The rooms are a good size but are tired and need updating. The bed linen was too small for the mattress which was OK if you don't move around at night, if you do you will end up with a ball of sheet. Make sure if you ask for an ocean view room, as we did, you get one on an upper floor. We were on the 3rd floor and while you could see the ocean you also got a view of a large flat roof with a ventilation duct belonging to the rooms overlooking the pool. We asked to be moved if possible and were put on a list, obviously others had the same issue. We never heard anything back from reception.

Overall the hotel is in a great location for the beach, we never had a problem parking, but left you under underwhelmed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A great hotel with a wounder full view. Great staff who look after the customers. A very good selection of food for evening dinner. It is just a short walk to town or to the beach. A comfortable and relaxing bar for a sociable drink from very help full staff. Wifi would be help full at the hotel in the rooms. It is a very help full staff from being well come at the front desk, and all areas of the hotel. The room staff. the dinning room staff ect.

Room Tip: All rooms are large but air conditions is a must as some months the weather can be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 13 in Monte Gordo
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#10 of 13 in Monte Gordo
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Praia Monte Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Praia Monte Gordo

Property: Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Address: Hotel Yellow Praia Monte Gordo Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Praia Monte Gordo 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yellow Praia Monte Gordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellow Monte Gordo Beach
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing