We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its not as bad as the rest say!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
romford
1 review
“its not as bad as the rest say!!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We travelled as a family of 4, 2 adults an a 10 and 8 year old. We stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest was dreading the stay, having read so many bad reports. There is not any bad in this hotel although i would say its down side was the food which backs up most of the rest of the reports. You will not go hungrey but the choice is poor. On the plus side you do get free drink, and it is help yourself, this consisits of super bock, bottled water and fizzy drinks so that a plus side. I really would not rush for breadfast and it is basic.
The hotel itself was kept very clean and was very quiet although we were told that monte gordo is not so commercialised. The hotel pool had lots of space for the kids to play aroun in and out off although we did op for the beach which is very very clean. The beach is accross a little road about 3 - 5 mins walk.
I would go back but really only at this hotel for a max of 3 nights as the kids ammenties was limited and we did not come accross any hotel entertainment.
The spanish boarder is only 3km from the hotel too.
Our room was great with a sea view and a very big bathroom. It appeared to have been recently refurbished, we had a fridge, tv, hairdyer. There was no tea of coffee facilites in the room and the tea and coffee and breakfast is not very nice. so bring your own!!
While we were there this hotel appeared to be used as a fitness boot camp which maybe a regular venue.
I am sure you would enjoy your stay providing your expectations are not sky high.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryjaneromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    181
    169
    58
    42
See reviews for
292
92
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyneside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

travelled with my wife and two boys aged 7 & 9. Stayed for 5 day (4 nights) as part of an onward trip from Faro to Seville and then Benalmadena (Andalucia).

Arrived at the hotel to find that there was limited car parking and there was a waiting list for space, so the car was parked beside the campsite which is next to the hotel.

The area is generaly dirty although the hotel entrance was impressive and clean. Monte Gordo itself is a resort of Tat Shops and over-priced restaurants, although it would be unfair if i didn't highlight, that at night, the town is well worth a visit as it vibrant wiht plenty of street entertainment.

The hotel offered a decent sized junior suite. That's were the positives end.

The Hotel used to be an Iberotel but was taken over recently by Yellow. Big mistake.

The restaurant is in the basement, no natural light and is very canteen like. Nobody dressed for dinner, shorts and T shirts were the norm, (not what i'd expect from a 4 star hotel). Yes you get free drinks at dinner, but it's beer only and soft drinks for the kids, no wine unless you pay extra. There are two resaurants but you have to pay an additional 17.50 euros per person to eat in the other one, that's per visit, not per week.

The food, i've got to say, was the worst i've every eaten. Hod Dogs and Boiled Eggs for breakfast one morning and that was it, unless you wanted toast or Corn Flakes.

The food was so bad i asked to see the chef one night. Some ten minutes after i demanded for the third time to see him he came out of the kitched stinking of cigarette smoke and when i complained about the appaling food he said that he "cooks for 2000 and he's not cooking just for me". I asked him if he was proud of the crap he was serving up and he said "speak to them upstairs".

I get the feeling that there is conflict going on and i guess this may have something to do with the fact that the satndards have declined sharply since Yellow took the hotel on.

The entertainmant in the evening was Karaoke. The hotel reps were awful. The swimming pool was no bigger than my garden pond.

I could go on and on about how bad this hotel is, (oh and btw i'm in the business, as i own a travel company based soley in the UK),

Don't book this hotel, dont even go to Monte Gordo, unless you're into poor over-priced tat.

You'd be far better off travelling the extra 15 km into Spain and staying in Isla Canela or Istantilla.

Quite simply the armpit of Portugal

AVOID

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rescuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monte Gordo hotels

uk
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Dont expect to go into restaraunts and have fast food service! There is no such thing as a mcdonalds, but what you do have is lovely helpufull staff , who make you feel welcome even with two young children, as it is the norm here to eat out with the whole family in tow, and unexpected to order meals for the children as they often share with the parents. an welcoming and lovely change from the uk.

Spain is a good day trip, it takes 10 mins to cross by ferry and easy to get to by either taxi about 6 euros, bus 1.90 or foot 40 mins.

As for the hotel , it is a big hotel and at times rather busy with athletes, which made meal times quick hectic although a good selection was available. The only down side was that there was no entertainment for the kids at night as it was out of season.

all in all , we would highly reccommend this to any one wanting a relaxing holiday, in montegordo itself there are lots of lovely cafes and restaraunts, mobies bar being one, where the owners were very welcoming and cooked to suit our children, even though it was not on the menu! and my husband was happy with the sports on the large screen. many thanks for keeping us all happy!

There are lots of lovely portuguese restaraunts to try traditionally cooked fish and steaks,

Most of all unbeatable beaches!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Angleterre
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

very impressive accommodation - great sea view.
beach literally 2 minutes walk. stayed half board and meals were more than adequate, with free drinks at dinner.
hotel appeared to be only about half full so was plenty of room in and around the pool area.
we hired a car from Faro airport which enabled us to visit other resorts and drove to Seville, which took less than 2 hours.
local restaurants in Monte Gordo seemed quite pricey ( compared to Spain ) so we were quite pleased we went half board ( £26 each per night ).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alentejo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

The iberohotel at Montegordo is now called yellow. It`s one of the best in Montegordo and the biggest. It`s not really close to the beach, you have to cross just one road and this can be a problem if you have youn children. Notice that the other classical hotel at the Montegordo - Vasco da Gama - is very near, and this one is realyy in the beach. But the Iberohotel is much better: better service, better rooms, cleaner (I stayed some years ago at Vasco da Gama and had a cockrush in the bathroom. As I said, the room was large and could get a nice price for a triple in December (€63 in hotelclub). The biggest problem is the breakfast: so confusing!

  • Liked — the room is large
  • Disliked — confusing breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fernando É
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

I do not class this as a 4* hotel the room was a good size and clean, being a junior suite I thought a kettle should have been provided at least we could have had a hot drink! the food was very bland and boring the salad was ok but the hot food was usually lukewarm and tasteless! So you end up having to pay to eat out as well ,the dining room was more like a staff canteen.Some of the staff were more interested on talking and texting on their mobiles.The beach was the best feature .Was very dissapointed with the whole hotel and would not return or recommend it

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — lack of facilities and entertainment
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshire31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We were all slightly sceptical having read some of the rather damning reviews on this hotel and not at all sure what to expect. We were therefore pleasantly suprised to find that this hotel was much better than reported. The rooms were large and clean, reception staff helpful, restuarant (although limited choice) was more than adequate for two familieis of four - our tip would be to get there before 8.00pm though, after that time queuing and dodging become a bit of an art! The children (aged between 7 and 11) loved the pool, games and entertainment both at poolside and in the evening.
The location of the hotel was superb, although not exactly on the beach as indicated in the photographs - there is a road between the hotel and beach. The beach was fabulous, with lots of beach bars and restaurants serving local delicacies.
Montegordo is predominently a Portuguese resort which came to life at night. There are lots of bars, restuarants and shops around the square. If you want a holiday that caters for the British, then this isn't for you - but if you want a relaxing holiday sampling Portuguese life then go for it. Well worth a visit was the boat trip across the river to Spain. Tavira and the Island, also a good day out.

  • Liked — Location, activities, food
  • Disliked — No real vegetarian option - except for Salad, Pasta & Rice!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWelshFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#9 of 14 in Monte Gordo
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Praia Monte Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Praia Monte Gordo

Property: Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Address: Hotel Yellow Praia Monte Gordo Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Praia Monte Gordo 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellow Praia Monte Gordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellow Monte Gordo Beach
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing