We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a most comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed here as a party of 8 golfers.The rooms were very spacious and comfortable.Overall the hotel is just across from the beach and very close to bars and restaurants.Breakfast the first morning was a little confusing as the dining room was very busy but we soon got the hang of things.The quality and variety of food on offer was very good and one morning the staff provided breakfast at 6.00am.because we were playing very early

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HughEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights 21st/22nd Dec.2009. It was part of a 12 night, 3 hotels break over Christmas and New Year (read reviews of other 2). We have stayed here in the past and and found it very conveniently situated in a nice town with a long,wide beach across the road. Great for launching yourself for a swim or a paddle and just as good for a long walk, another walk, 2 kilometres, will get you to Vila Real, a lovely little town on the border with Spain. You can catch a ferry across the river to Ayemonte for a euro or so and it makes a nice trip out. If you do do this trip remember Spain is a different time zone. The hotel is huge and the rooms are comfortable and spacious with good size balconies. Our room was 28ft longX12ft wide. 2 large beds,settee,table + 4 chairs and a well equipped bathroom. There is also a small kitchenette but access to it was locked, on other occasions it has been available and it contains cabinets with equipment and drawers with utensils, a stainless steel sink and a microwave. for 2 nights we did'nt bother ourselves. We chose full board (god knows why), we have booked half board in the past and that was rubbish. I think the time of year influenced us this time, wondering what would be open. This time the food was even more pathetic, very little choice, a miserly display which was never hotter than warm. It is a comfortable hotel in an excellent location which is very badly let down by the catering. I wanted to confront the hotel manager and ask him how he would feel if presented with these pathetic offerings, but decided he must read the reviews, he had'nt reacted to them so it would be a waste of time. what a pity. I am rating the hotel 4* for its comfort, spaciousness and location, the catering gets less than 1* The management deserve no consideration whatever. Next time we visit the area we will try the Vasco de Gama?

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackhardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

It's a small paradise! It's been renewed and it keeps its charm. It's big as well as its bed rooms, I stayed in a Junior Suite and it's so comfortable and so big... It pleases you.
Breakfast is not very outstanding. It has several bread species, cheese, ham, jams, cereal... Fruit that you have to prepare for yourself, unless you want the fruit salad which stirs caned fruit with natural one... You have some bacon and eggs also, bot no sweets (cakes, croissant or others). Juice is from the machine (apple and orange) and you have chocolate, coffee, milk, cappuccino and others also from the machines.
Bed room it very clean, as well as the bath room. Bed is great, very big. Parking facilities near by and the perfect location, on the main avenue, facing the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbarroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We travelled as a family of 4, 2 adults an a 10 and 8 year old. We stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest was dreading the stay, having read so many bad reports. There is not any bad in this hotel although i would say its down side was the food which backs up most of the rest of the reports. You will not go hungrey but the choice is poor. On the plus side you do get free drink, and it is help yourself, this consisits of super bock, bottled water and fizzy drinks so that a plus side. I really would not rush for breadfast and it is basic.
The hotel itself was kept very clean and was very quiet although we were told that monte gordo is not so commercialised. The hotel pool had lots of space for the kids to play aroun in and out off although we did op for the beach which is very very clean. The beach is accross a little road about 3 - 5 mins walk.
I would go back but really only at this hotel for a max of 3 nights as the kids ammenties was limited and we did not come accross any hotel entertainment.
The spanish boarder is only 3km from the hotel too.
Our room was great with a sea view and a very big bathroom. It appeared to have been recently refurbished, we had a fridge, tv, hairdyer. There was no tea of coffee facilites in the room and the tea and coffee and breakfast is not very nice. so bring your own!!
While we were there this hotel appeared to be used as a fitness boot camp which maybe a regular venue.
I am sure you would enjoy your stay providing your expectations are not sky high.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryjaneromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

travelled with my wife and two boys aged 7 & 9. Stayed for 5 day (4 nights) as part of an onward trip from Faro to Seville and then Benalmadena (Andalucia).

Arrived at the hotel to find that there was limited car parking and there was a waiting list for space, so the car was parked beside the campsite which is next to the hotel.

The area is generaly dirty although the hotel entrance was impressive and clean. Monte Gordo itself is a resort of Tat Shops and over-priced restaurants, although it would be unfair if i didn't highlight, that at night, the town is well worth a visit as it vibrant wiht plenty of street entertainment.

The hotel offered a decent sized junior suite. That's were the positives end.

The Hotel used to be an Iberotel but was taken over recently by Yellow. Big mistake.

The restaurant is in the basement, no natural light and is very canteen like. Nobody dressed for dinner, shorts and T shirts were the norm, (not what i'd expect from a 4 star hotel). Yes you get free drinks at dinner, but it's beer only and soft drinks for the kids, no wine unless you pay extra. There are two resaurants but you have to pay an additional 17.50 euros per person to eat in the other one, that's per visit, not per week.

The food, i've got to say, was the worst i've every eaten. Hod Dogs and Boiled Eggs for breakfast one morning and that was it, unless you wanted toast or Corn Flakes.

The food was so bad i asked to see the chef one night. Some ten minutes after i demanded for the third time to see him he came out of the kitched stinking of cigarette smoke and when i complained about the appaling food he said that he "cooks for 2000 and he's not cooking just for me". I asked him if he was proud of the crap he was serving up and he said "speak to them upstairs".

I get the feeling that there is conflict going on and i guess this may have something to do with the fact that the satndards have declined sharply since Yellow took the hotel on.

The entertainmant in the evening was Karaoke. The hotel reps were awful. The swimming pool was no bigger than my garden pond.

I could go on and on about how bad this hotel is, (oh and btw i'm in the business, as i own a travel company based soley in the UK),

Don't book this hotel, dont even go to Monte Gordo, unless you're into poor over-priced tat.

You'd be far better off travelling the extra 15 km into Spain and staying in Isla Canela or Istantilla.

Quite simply the armpit of Portugal

AVOID

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rescuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Dont expect to go into restaraunts and have fast food service! There is no such thing as a mcdonalds, but what you do have is lovely helpufull staff , who make you feel welcome even with two young children, as it is the norm here to eat out with the whole family in tow, and unexpected to order meals for the children as they often share with the parents. an welcoming and lovely change from the uk.

Spain is a good day trip, it takes 10 mins to cross by ferry and easy to get to by either taxi about 6 euros, bus 1.90 or foot 40 mins.

As for the hotel , it is a big hotel and at times rather busy with athletes, which made meal times quick hectic although a good selection was available. The only down side was that there was no entertainment for the kids at night as it was out of season.

all in all , we would highly reccommend this to any one wanting a relaxing holiday, in montegordo itself there are lots of lovely cafes and restaraunts, mobies bar being one, where the owners were very welcoming and cooked to suit our children, even though it was not on the menu! and my husband was happy with the sports on the large screen. many thanks for keeping us all happy!

There are lots of lovely portuguese restaraunts to try traditionally cooked fish and steaks,

Most of all unbeatable beaches!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukbob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

very impressive accommodation - great sea view.
beach literally 2 minutes walk. stayed half board and meals were more than adequate, with free drinks at dinner.
hotel appeared to be only about half full so was plenty of room in and around the pool area.
we hired a car from Faro airport which enabled us to visit other resorts and drove to Seville, which took less than 2 hours.
local restaurants in Monte Gordo seemed quite pricey ( compared to Spain ) so we were quite pleased we went half board ( £26 each per night ).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
469 reviews
0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Praia Monte Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Praia Monte Gordo

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: £40 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Praia Monte Gordo 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yellow Praia Monte Gordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellow Monte Gordo Beach
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing