We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Minerva

Restaurant Minerva
Ranked #12 of 163 Restaurants in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family business since 1983...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We went to Minerva as it came quite high up on Trip Advisor, but both of us were unimpressed. The food was average and we went to much better places throughout our stay (we also went to some worse places too). We had different dishes from the daily menu which includes a starter, main and desert for a fixed price so we could sample a selection but nothing stood out. Perhaps we had the wrong things? It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either. On the plus it wasn't expensive, the service was good, the staff friendly and the view was nice. Overall we'd avoid as there are places serving much better food in the town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    127
    28
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,309 helpful votes
“Nice fresh tapas, fish and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I visited with the family and enjoyed some nice fresh, sardines, mussels and prawns. All were nice and the service was good too. Nice view from the outside tables looking over the bay

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service and lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were looking for a place with living lobsters to have one a la plancha, it was EUR 12 per 100 gr. here. We also had a simple mixed salad. The lobster was brought to us, quite unhappy actually, the waiter explained patiently what it was (a girl lobster, 6 years of age), took our order and it was ready in about 15-20 minutes (we were busy with the salad anyway). The lobster was served on a bed of finely cut tomatoes and was excellent, although it did take us some patience to get to the tastiest parts. The waiters were very polite, making themselves invisible when not needed but appearing quickly as soon as you were beginning to wonder where they were. Overall a lovely lobster experience in a nice seafood restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank globbalchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Lovely position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Four of us,on a balmy July evening had a mix of the fixed menu and fish from the display.For starters we shared mussels,giant salad and prawn cocktail with mains as paella,escalop, pork and a big sea bass.Service was very good,even though it was very busy unlike others on the Mar Mernuda road,most of which seem nearly empty so Minerva must be doing the right thing.
We watched with envy as a Catalan family shared an enormous sea food platter which included lobster,crab,razor clams etc so the economy has not hit everyone in Spain.
Nice restaurant and it is one of our favorites

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank val-leasowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was recommended to me but did not meet my expectations.
We went for lunch and found the food to be average, the service slow and the room itself lacked any ambience/atmosphere. We were never going to go back. It is not expensive but there are several alternatives close by which are far superior in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 09_04_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Minerva also viewed

Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 

Been to Restaurant Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing