We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissapointed”
Review of Hotel Mar Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mar Bella
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
lakes
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very dissapointed”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We .stayed .at HOTEL MAR BELLA and ate at the sister hotel. TOSSA BEACH.
HOTEL MAR BELLA was a one star hotel and very basic. No fridge, no air con and no safe..It was however very clean and well serviced but the walls were paper thin and we heard all the nocturnal activities of the couple next door, not condusive to a good nights sleep. Also the noise outside was prevelantm especially at the weekend.....
.The swimming pools at the sister hotels were minute. The all inclusive was ok for the drinks but the food was repetative and bland, in fact for three days I didn't eat at all and on the last night after seeing the offering of either fish or sausages for evening dinner we eat out.. . 7.
Tossoa itself is a lovely romantic town, but if I went again, I would fly from Girona rather than Barcelona, because its a lot shorter transfer time and I would definately not go to any of the Tossa Beach, Centre or Mar Bella Hotels...











AND

T

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieposielakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    16
    13
    10
See reviews for
13
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Hotel situated 5 minutes from the beach. The hotel staff speaks English. The Hotel can't provide breakfast, but it was not a problem, because there are many cafes nearby... or you can buy some staff in the supermarket nearby. Most of the rooms have balconies with a nice view with two chairs.
There is no lift and it was not so easy to climb to the second floor (by the way, there is also third floor). The walls are too thin, so you can hear your neighbors very good... So it was not so easy to fall asleep.There were loads of small ants in our room... we asked other livers: they had the same problem...

Room Tip: You should choose the room not at the main avenue and not on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadzim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Mar Bella is part of a 3 hotel complex. It is one street away (approx 3 min walk) from the other two, ie Tossa Hotel and Tossa Centre. The Mar bella is just for sleeping, thats if you can. An old building with wonderful acoustics !! We were situated on the first floor, and could hear everyone who came in, as the sound just echo's through the building. For the first few times you think 'never mind, they are on holiday', after that it gets troublesome. Friday and Sat nights are the worst, due to the hen/stag parties that are placed in this hotel, to keep them away from the other hotel options. You can imagine what its like when they eventually come back !!
Mar Bella's saving grace was the fact that although the room was very basic, it was spotlessly clean, cleaned each day, with towels changed daily too.
Overall, we did only sleep here, taking all our meals in Hotel Tossa. It was a cheap holiday and for what we paid, was I suppose, acceptable.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor, hopefully then you wont be disturbed by noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joglecouriersltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A typical 1* Hotel. Clean. Central location. Yes it is in the centre of town and subject to usual town noise. Price includes all inclusive courtesy of Tossa Beach and Tossa Centre hotels!! - bed, breakfast, lunch, evening meal and as much as you want to drink. So ignore the moans, pay your money and give it a go!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank gcz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 11th July - 15th and booked it all from travel republic. We understood that it would be basic for the price that we paid. One thing I would say is DO NOT BOOK TRANSFERS WITH TRAVEL REPUBLIC. They dropped us off at some random place in Tossa and we had to find the hotel ourselves wandering around with our luggage in the heat.

Nethertheless; after finding the hotel we booked in with no problems, staff spoke very good English. We were on the first floor which was fine as there are no lifts in the hotel. Got to our room, very spacious with a small balcony that looked out on to one of the side streets. I was quite happy with the room. There were even blankets in the wardrobe which came in handy when the temperature cooled in the evening. The room was clean and I had no complaints about it at all; apart from the towels maybe being tiny!

When we were given our key we thought ohmygod! It's like a huge boulder; we didn't realise that you have to give the key back to reception EVERYTIME you leave the building. I don't see what the point is in this and it's quite annoying having to go to reception to pick up the key and hand it in every time you want to go out.

The food and drink is served in another hotel which is a 2 minute walk away (just opposite over a bridge). Breakfast is served from 7:30am - 9:30am with lunch 1pm - around 2:30pm and dinner 7:30pm - 9:30pm. Snacks are served at various times throughout these but none past 9:30pm. You can always get drinks which include: alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails (gran torino is a must), soft drinks, juice, vodka, schnapps, tea, coffee, wine, beer and various others. The drinks selection is great I must say. You're only allowed 2 drinks per wristband at any one time.

Snacks include: hot dogs, burgers, cheese/cheese and ham toasties and fries. One thing I would mention is the food is VERY processed here and it doesn't taste great but you get used to it. You're only allowed 2 snacks per wristband here too (which I see as pointless because if you want more; you're gonna get it anyway).

Breakfast = croissants, cold meats, salads, egg (with green bits in?!), cold beans, cooked meat.. VERY basic.

Lunch is the same as dinner = pasta, watery sauce, potato (different sort every day!), and meat (chicken,fish,beef) and sometimes fries.

I would not eat here EVER again. DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU ARE A VEGETARIAN!!! I struggled all week. All I could eat was dry pasta and potato for a week. I got so fed up with it. One thing I can say is that the desserts were nice. Vanilla/chocolate and cream ice cream to try every day. Needless to say I was quite annoyed that I paid for all inclusive and this was all I could eat.

Other than the food which would be my only complaint; everything else was good. It's about a 7 minute walk to the beach and Tossa as a whole is a lovely place! There's not a lot to do here but then it's a beach holiday; there never is. I would visit again but I would NOT go all inclusive.

Room Tip: Do not go all inclusive - ESPECIALLY if you're vegetarian!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamsynx20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tossa de Mar hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Book Holiday on the 28th June 2011. Travel company kept pushing this Hotel stating it was a 3 star and all inclusive. Travel did not tell us that the Hotel did not have any lfts and that you had to go the Hotel Tossa Beach for a the meals and drinks. You can imagine how we felt when we arrive at the Hotel Marbella and found out that there was no lift and that we were on the 3rd floor, My husband suffers with rheumatoid arithritis,I then asked the receptionist if he could move us to the the first floor, he then called the assistant manager who came and informed us that we would not be able to move today and it would cost us 20 euros a day to move to the 1st floor. The room on the 3rd floor had 4 beds in it you could not move and there was no drawer space. After 2 days we had enough and paid the hotel 100 euros to move rooms, this was a rip off. The food at the Tossa Beach was cold, the cutlery was dirty, crockery also dirty. We only 3 meals at the hotel . So from the Tuesday we eat out and did not use the Hotel at all. The staff in both Hotels were unfriendly and also spoke very little english. One thing I can say the room was clean. This holiday was not cheap so we feel that we have been ripped off.
We go to Spain several times a year. I have never stayed in anything like this and we don't want to again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elephant13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

On arriving at the hotel Mar Bella we were informed that our holiday provider low cost holidays had not booked us into the hotel. Despite having the relevant paperwork confirming our booking we were made to feel that the fact that low cost holidays had not booked us in was our fault. We had to ask to speak to the manager as the male receptionist was very unhelpful and were promptly informed that despite a room not being booked for us we would be put into a temporary room for the evening and then moved the following morning. When expressing my disatisfaction at this as we wished to unpack and did not wish to wait around in the morning to change rooms we were rudely told "well how much stuff do you need to unpack". We were then placed in a room on the top floor which had no ventilation (we couldnt even open the window) and had clearly not been cleaned with a blood stain on the floor by the sink and the shower water ran discoloured. We didnt anticipate much from the hotel for the low price we paid but at the very least expected it to be clean! The following morning after several complaints to the receptionist and manager we were eventually moved rooms (by this point we had missed the breakfast times). We were informed we would be placed in a room with a balcony for our troubles but this was later denied by the manager and we were put in a back room which we were actually pleasantly suprised by. The room which was spotlessly clean and spacious in size a far cry from the first room however only achieved by consistent complaints. On the Wednesday however we returned to the room and there was a strong smell of parafin when asking the same reception guy why he didnt have a clue and told us hed get the maintenance man (needless to say he never arrived so god knows what the smell was) The facilities of the linked hotel Tossa beach were basic but okay however the entertainment provided was poor and you got the fealing you were pushed to leave at 11am and forced to leave by 12pm. The food seldom changed however this did little to bother us as we speant very little time utilising the all inclusive. One point that is worth noting is how rude the gentleman who ran the snack bar was to british tourists on asking for a hot dog and chips we were provided with a hotdog and told to wait for 10 minutes for the chips when stating that our hotdog would be cold by this point and we would have prefered to have waited for both we were told rudely why "would you want both together" logic to us brits but obviously not to the spanish. Would not recomend this hotel for anyone but if your planning to get a cheap getaway and use very little of the facilities like we did then ull be fine just make sure they clean your room first thumbs up to the cleaners once they were actually utilised!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawyer1Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#38 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
SM Hotels Turissa
SM Hotels Turissa
#26 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#36 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
URH Hotel Parkhotel
URH Hotel Parkhotel
#35 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#23 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
URH Hotel Novo Park
URH Hotel Novo Park
#37 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Bella

Property: Hotel Mar Bella
Address: Avda Costa Brava 21, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Mar Bella 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mar Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Bella Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Mar Bella Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing