We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Horta Rosell
Ranked #3 of 16 Tossa de Mar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Have never stayed here but regularly stopped for drinks on the way back from town. Fantastic atmosphere great ambience very friendly people. Would definitely stay there, rooms look so comfortable being a regular to Tossa and knowing most of the hotels and restaurants would definitely put this in the top 3,

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great service from the start - emailing with the proprietor Andrea was an absolute pleasure, she was quite helpful with info on Tossa which was then my deciding factor in going to there. The staff were also quite friendly.

I had a twin room for myself but it would have still been very spacious if there were two of us in there. Room and bathroom were basic (re: no tv or clock - who needs tv on vacation anyway! or any fancy bathroom amenities) but spotless. Wifi worked in certain parts of the room only which was fine.

Breakfast was what North American's call "continental breakfast" meaning no bacon, eggs, etc. in case that's what you're looking for. The breads, jamon, cereal, etc are sufficient enough to get a good start to your day, and even better that it's served until noon! (good for those who don't get back to their room until very late...). Was there during a football match so they had a tv out in the terrace and served yummy pizza and drinks. I can see why their terrace is popular with locals and tourists alike.

Location is good - very close to the bus station and a quick stroll (not even 10mins if you're not stopping at the shops and restaurants) on the main street leads you to the beach and the older part of town.

Overall, had a fantastic stay and only regret was that I could not stay longer.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo_Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miquel B, Manager at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Hello Jo_Mags

Sorry for taking so long in this reply.

Thankyou for taking the time and writing such a great review. It was extremely kind of you and appreciated.

It is important to us to get feedback ( the good and the not so positive) but we love the great ones:)))))

Thankyou again and best regards from the Horta Rosell and hopefully see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Nice little hotel in Tossa, good location, very friendly staff with lots of restaurant recommendations which were all excellent.

Would be happy to stay again.

Only nag was that there was no air-con but understand that the new owners will be refurbishing all the rooms. Rooms as they are, while dated, are clean and functional.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slumbermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miquel B, Manager at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Hello Slumbermonkey.

Thankyou for taking the time and writing a very nice review. It was extremely kind of you and appreciated greatly.

If you decide to visit beautiful Tossa de mar again ever, PLEASE COME BACK AND STAY WITH US! Meanwhile, we will continue to try and improve our installations (money allowing). We will also try to eat our way through every restaurant menu in Tossa, so that we can give good recommendations to anyone who is interested.

Thankyou again and best regards from the Horta Rosell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Horta Rosell is a perfect place to stay in tossa. I was here with my girldfriend and is a perfect b&b because it was very complet. The cocktails in the bar are delicious, and twice a week there's a live music in the romantic garden. There's a lot of people and a very good atmosphere. The B&B is like Tossa, too quiet and perfect to couples, the staff is very friendly. We're in the 3rd floor the 301Room with double bed. Thank you, and we wiill return the next summer! Auf Wiedersehen! <3!

Room Tip: The best rooms are with the garden views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandramu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miquel B, Manager at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hello and thankyou for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself whilst staying at our little B&B. We hope to see you in the near future, MUCHAS GRACIAS Y HASTA LA PROXIMA. Andrea, Miquel and Borja.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Spanish use the word hostal, where in England we say B&B. This is a great B&B.
I've been to Tossa for most of my holidays and usually stay at the Hotel Costa Brava. This year funds were lower so we had to look elsewhere in the town. This was a holiday with my sister and mother (ages 50, 53 and 73). We love Tossa because it offers what we look for in a holiday. Safe, clean and Spanishy. We don't want all day English breakfasts and louts. We like the beach in Tossa (although not smooth sand) but please remember there is an unexpected drop when you step into the sea. The small streets are charming, with small shops. And there is a castle with a few bars and restaurants.
By normally staying at the Costa Brava we have generally only eaten out once or twice during our stays. This year,we ate out every day and with guidance from the b&b Rosell staff had a great time and it wasn't expensive compared to the UK. The quality was FANTASTIC! I don't think that we will ever go half board again anywhere.
Now on to the Rosell. It's run by three people, two Catalan and Andrea, who is English and has lived in Tossa de mar for a long time. They all try to make everyone's stay memorable for the right reasons. They also have a smiley team of cleaners, receptionists and bar staff. I fully agree with the other reviewers, who have highlighted the personable service. They do their best to go the extra mile. The restaurant and bar tips were spot on.
Rooms are basic but very comfortable. There is no lift, so if you are travelling with someone elderly, let them know beforehand and get a first floor room, preferably overlooking the garden.
The bathroom doesn't have a bath but shower and there is no air-conditioning.
One side of the place overlooks a small road, where you will hear the odd motorbike going past at 6am. But you are in Spain and in the centre of the town, and near to the beach, so my advice, if you are a light sleeper is again to ask for a garden view or turn over and go back to sleep again as you are on holiday! The great plus is that the breakfast (cold meats and no hot food) is available until 12 o'clock midday.
The garden is amazing, with fairy lights, candles, lovely seating, tables and parasols in bright colours. They have great live, music nights (which were a real pleasure) but only until about 11.30pm. Again I concur with all the great feedback about the drinks. They are first class, using great gin makes, Bombay, Tanquaery (sorry about the spelling), Beefeater etc.. again special mention to the mojitos, well worth a visit even if not staying the night.
It's funny how I would never have looked for at b&b before as MY holiday option but from now on after my very pleasant stay here I am converted! Would recommend the Horta Rosell and will return. Thankyou

Room Tip: Garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miquel B, Manager at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Lorna, Jess and Margaret,

Thankyou for taking the time to write your wonderful review. The Costa Brava's loss is our gain! You were fantastic guests and a lovely family. I will send you by email and anyone else who is coming to Tossa de mar and wants a copy of 'my restaurant recommendations' so that you can plan ahead of where and what to eat. Part of the fun of coming to Tossa is the delicious dinning.
Another big thankyou for your 2014 booking, we eagerly await your return and have a big surprise for you as far as gin is concerned!!!!

Roll on summer 2014

Andrea Maw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Rosell is in a great position in Tossa. Not far from the beach and the bus station. Very clean with a cheeky bar/garden that charges 2 euro per pint.
The owner is a very nice English lady who gave us great recommendations even for places outside Tossa.
TV in the bar and not in the room but not a problem as they have live music in the garden!!!!
Would definitely go back and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy him G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miquel B, Manager at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hello

Thankyou for taking the time to review the Horta Rosell. I shall hold you to the 'definitely be back' and hopefully it will be this year.
Your review was great, even to the price of the pint! Well spotted.

Thankyou again

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great little hotel. We paid 300 euros for a 3-bed room for 4 nights. The rooms are very clean but basic. The buffet breakfast is quite good compared to what I've seen elsewhere. Ask for a garden view room. The garden is very beautiful and has a nice athmosphere. They have local singers a few times a week and it is a great setting for that. The hotel is in a great location : not too close to the tourist spot but still a short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miquel B, Manager at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello and thankyou very much for your great review.

It was really kind of you to take the time writing something nice that helps us to grow and improve. Our breakfasts until 12 have been a great success this year and we have been busy this winter sourcing delicious little croissants for the 2014. It was one of the things that I was determined to improve upon. I am now 1 kilo heavier but delighted to announce that I have found the perfect Horta Rosell breakfast croissant for this season!

It's a long way to come from Canada, I'm very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Tossa and at the Horta Rosell and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards

Andrea Maw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
URH Vila de Tossa
URH Vila de Tossa
#22 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
#12 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Horta Rosell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Horta Rosell

Address: Pola, 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £34 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Horta Rosell 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at Rosell b&b guest house. A home-from-home in beautiful Tossa de mar, Costa Brava, with spotless, comfortable guest rooms. Superbly situated in the centre of the village, 200m from the beachfront. The downstairs has been completely refurbished this year and boasts its own beautiful cocktail, suntrap garden.The buffet breakfast is served until 12.00midday. Free wifi zone, a 24-hour reception, safety deposit boxes, bar, beautiful garden, family rooms available,Each room is simply furnished,has it’s own balcony and ensuite bathroomThe Rosell can organise bicycle and car rental. Excursions can also be arranged to nearby places of interest, for example Barcelona or Girona. We even run our own golfing and fishing excursions..B&B Rosell is 1 minutes’ walk from the bus station, with routes to the nearby Lloret de Mar. Tossa de Mar’s iconic castle, Villa Vella is 5 minutes away by foot. There is easy access to the AP7 Motorway, and Girona Airport is a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Horta Rosell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Horta Rosell Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing