We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family vacation in a spectacular natural setting along the Costa Brava” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giverola Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Giverola Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family vacation in a spectacular natural setting along the Costa Brava”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I spent 2 weeks of my summer vacations in the Club Hotel Giverola 8 times since 2002 with my family and friends. Needless to say it is a place I enjoy.

There are many reasons to like Giverola:

An incredibly beautiful location between the mountains and the see, on a still un-constructed part of the Costa Brava, with direct access to the beach
Small buildings, each of them with a limited number of rooms, most rooms with see view, well integrated in the environment
Clean and reasonably well equipped rooms
A large choice of activities for the kids, the teenagers, the sport lovers and the hikers (I am in the hiker's category)
Proximity of Tossa de Mar and 80 kms away from Barcelona
A good choice of food for breakfast and dinner for those on half board
The vast majority of the staff is friendly, helpfull and making their best efforts to speak English, German or French. Many clients are coming from Switzerland, Germany, the Nederlands, the UK and France.

It should be kept in mind however that Giverola is located in a mountain environment and you should be prepared to walk up a down several times a day to move from your room to the swimming pool and the beach, and to the restaurant for breakfast and for dinner. Lunch can be conviently taken close to the swimming pool. Parents of young children must therefore be fit, and the place is not advisable for persons with reduced mobility.

Also, as a Giverola "old timer" I allow myself to make a few recommendations to the management in order to improve the "dark spots" and keep the place as enjoyable as it has always been:

Having been built 25 years ago, the rooms are aging. Although they are kept clean and functional, with some improvements such as the welcome addition of ceiling fans, it is time for a major refurbishing.

While quality of service has been maintained over the years, price has been going up significantly. I think price should be kept Under better control unless a major refurbishing and upgrading of the rooms allows the hotel to move from the current 3 stars to a higher category.

There are some deficiencies to correct at the restaurant for those on half board. Unfinished bottles of wine cannot be kept by the restaurant from one day to the next, and the restaurant does not propose half bottles, which is not acceptable for this category of hotel. It is also not acceptable in a family oriented place to offer only half bottles of water.
The internet service needs to be improved as one need to reconnect at every utilisation and connexion interruptions are frequent.

Overall, the place remains very enjoyable and I recommend Giverola for families who want to acheive the right balance between active vacation and "farniente"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick_le_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    167
    32
    11
    13
See reviews for
243
68
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meximieux, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent two weeks in this Club which is place in a beautiful area. The apartments are quiet old and not very well insulated in term of acoustic.
We had one dinner in the restaurant which is really expensive for a quality that we considered in the average and not more.
The beach is not so clean. Many boats dropped people from Tossa de Mar and the beach is quickly crowded. The swimming pool is not so clean also.
This Club offer a lot of activities. Tracks for mountain bike are really closed to the hotel.
We were a little bit worried by the music of the bar on the beach. Two weeks of Jazz. It was too much. The music is very noisy and you can hear it directly in your apartment.
We spent two nice but we won’t come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely setting for a great active holiday. Lots of groups and sports to keep the whole family busy, and by the looks of the pensioner tennis group there was some pretty fierce competition on the courts!
The site is on a very steep hill, so this isn't the resort to come to if you're either disabled or want to push a buggy around. We did have a buggy for our youngest but we used a back pack to get her down to the beach. I'm partially mobility disabled, but I managed to get around fine, but any of the higher levels of ambulant disabled should probably avoid this spot.
There was a boat ride to the near by town of 'Tossa' (unfortunate / funny name for us Brits!) which was great fun as it stopped at the caves on the way back and the children could see all the beautiful fish through the bottom of the boat.
Other people have already talked about the food, but it's reasonable quality and you can easily fill up on the huge breakfast before heading out. One thing to watch out for is the large gangs of German pensioners, who certainly have sharp elbows at the restaurant. Ignore them as there is tons of food for all.
Staff are generally friendly, with the notable exception of the man who was renting the kayaks on the beach. Never smiled at me for the whole 7 days.....

Room Tip: They've virtually all got see views but ask for one near the cable car if you don't fancy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSWrightson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Figeac, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you want wonderful landscapes , enjoy the nature, ride a bike,just relax, play tennis, archery, canoeing..definitely go there through a "mountain road".It is at 3 km from Tossa de Mar downtown on a hill and to the same road to San Feliu de Guixols, a beautiful Catalan village. At Tossa de Mar possibility to visit a stunned castle, to lay down to the main beach and to eat some tapas, paella, el chorizo or plenty of other delicious Spanish specialities. An other point: it´s very well situated just one and half hour from Barcelona , easily to catch an express bus . The personal there is great, very nice and a delicious buffet is served every day, the prices are quite correct, they do not abuse the tourist. For families good place also because there is a Kids club opened every day during Summer period , a pool with a small slide. An entertainment team is operating from March to October and propose different type of activities. These informations are drawn from my own experience there as entertainer 5 years ago.
Enjoy your Spanish holidays!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

1. Reasonable place overall; very quiet, peaceful, and relaxing; the buildings and furnishings are a bit dated/ old
2. Dinner ($E23 adult $E13 child) and breakfast ($E12,5 and $E7,5) buffets with very good food, something for all including vegetarians and gluten-free
3. We stayed in one of the "apartments" with nice balcony and adequate kitchen (microwave, cook-top and refrigerator)
3A. There is a Caprabo grocery store in Tossa, immediately after the first Ronda/ round-a-bout, on the right, as you descend from the hotel; worth stocking up there
4. Beds were all singles/ twins (we are 2 adults, 2 kids), and no double bed (although we did see one room with a double bed, it was not evident how to request or reserve this feature)
5. Not new fixtures in the rooms (shower, for example, worked fair but not excellent/ difficult to set temperature and flow)
6. Nice and accessible beach; we played tennis; there's mini golf; bikes for rent
7. Indoor pool (heated) is very nice, but it closes at 7 PM all nights during the off-season, including the hot tub
8. Bring a swim cap: this is required for the indoor pool (I think it's a Catalunya spa requirement? - silly yet inflexible), or you can buy one for $E3
9. Depending on "full price" in the summer, this hotel would probably be worth it in particular if you wanted to enjoy all their activities and restaurants; if you were just sleeping here, there might be more approachable places to consider

Room Tip: The "yellow" section of rooms have (generally) good views, even if you don't specifica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arrived and queued to get into the reception. Unbelievably they had tickets in order for your 'turn'. Finally given keys to our 'villa' - which was little more than a dirty room joined onto another one with a 'kitchen' in a corner - and all this to sleep 5 !!!

I really could go on and on about how bad we felt about this place. Needless to say we checked out there and then and found ourselves a lovely four star hotel with two adjoining rooms - half board and less expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brooksie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We just spend a wonderful week in this hotel.

Before we left, we looked at all the review and all the features of the hotel and wondered why it was not rated 4 stars.
Well it's just that everything is a little outdated in the appartments. But it did not bother us at all. With a complete renovation they could completely change hotel category !

Pros
- It's a beautiful architecture that perfectly fits the surrounding nature.
- The houses are confortable and big (we had a two rooms appartement, with two bathrooms). The balcony was huge and well equiped. But, ok all a bit outdated except the big flat screen tv !
- The facilities are perfect : two outdoor swimmingpools, a big slide with it s own pool, plenty of chairs by the pool for all the guests, wonderful views, showers... You can plan mini golf, tennis, table tennis, pool, rent a bike, and all kind of sports from yoga to archery ! Almost all for free except tennis and pool/babyfoot.
- the beach is cute, and almost private, not too crowded and with fine sand but not so fine that it gets everywhere, just the perfect weight. Some stones in the sea though, so if you're very sensitive, bring water shoes. The water is clean and translucid.
- The inside pools are wonderful, clean and empty, with fantastic solarium to relax. BUT you must wear a bathing cap (3E)
- Two restaurants, one Comedor up near reception and one down by the beach that is a self for lunch and a la carte by night. Everywhere the food was delicious and the setting and the views wonderful. The buffet inthe Comedor was crowded at times though.
Beware : only the Comedor is included in "media pension" which is a shame because the beach restaurant is fantastic too and it's nice to be served at 50m of the sea in the evening. It's not even much more expensive than the buffet if you don't need to eat three servings of everything ;)
- There is decent entertainement in evening and even during the day
- There is a mini and a maxi club to keep your kids occupied, they are nice and competent and offer various activities
- There is a mini disco every night that my 3 y.o. loved and then they play cartoons.
- There is a game room with toys for 0-6yo near the reception wich is useful when you need to wait a while around there.
- If you want to be away from kids, there are plenty of quiet places too !
- supermarket is good and you get enough variety if you don't want to cook too many times.

All in all a near perfect stay, but we ll still list the
Bad points
- a lot of stairs everywhere. Not really a bad point but making it really painful with trolleys/young kids. There's nowhere to put your trolley if you don't want to take it up to your appartment. Many stairs to go to the Comedor, well you just can't avoid them...So either be fit and ready to cary your little ones either this hotel is NOT for you.
- no transfert arrangements possible + parking is 7E and there really are no other way than to pay it
- you get a chip to pay all you need to pay in the hotel without cash, but you're always asked for caution money when you want to have towels, rackets, minigolf gears and so on, a real pain since you usually don t take your wallet ! Kind of negates the point of the chip bracelet.
- pretend not to sell big bottles of water in any restaurant ... but the staff and big groups get them ! So you end up paying 2.5E per half litter which is already stealing but seeing all the groups and staff get the 1.5L bottles kind of pisses you off a bit !
- towels are 1.5 E per day even if you don't change them everyday they charge you the same amount for day...
- in the supermarket you can pay with chip all but ... stamps... same thing you end up running for your wallet just for that...

All in all only little things and that could so easily be arranged that it can be kind of frustrating.
But nothing to put you off from this wonderful relaxing place.

Room Tip: All seemed great to me. No AC but did not bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sourisverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
1.5 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
9.1 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
9.0 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giverola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giverola Resort

Property: Giverola Resort
Address: Apartado 330, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Giverola Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Km from Tossa de Mar, a very picturesque town in a beautiful setting. Residence with pool between sea and mountain. Anim'incluse and children's club (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Giverola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giverola Resort Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing