We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who needs a pool when you're this close to the beach”
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cap d'Or
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here in the height of the season for a whole week and loved it. Lovely hotel, fabulous staff who looked after us extremely well. No problem with noise as it is so lovely to hear all the people on the beach having such fun. Breakfast was a joy, sitting outside with a sea view. Glad we stayed here as we found so many more brilliant restaurants and bars which we missed previously as we stayed at the other end of town. In short - loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for your review.

When people ask for pool in the hotel, we always say that we have really big pool: the sea.

Thanks again for your stay in the hotel and we hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cap d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left the staff did everything to make us at home and welcome. This is a simple old fashioned hotel but it all works. But be warned it is on the beach and directly below the rooms, walk people going to and from the old town, so it is not silent. If you can live with this you should be delighted. Breakfast was a delight.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for your nice review and for your stay in the hotel.

The hotel is located in the old town, below the castle and opposite the beach. The fortified area was declared National Artistic Historic Monument on 1931, and it is the emblem of the village. That means that all people who come to Tossa visit the Vila Vella during day or night.
The hotel belongs to the fortified area, so we can't avoid the people walking around, but we work very hard to avoid any noisy inside the hotel.
As a historic hotel, we are aware about the limitations and restrictions we have when we need to make some works, ( any work in the hotel involve the National Heritage department in Madrid) but also we, ( the 4th generation of the family), are so pround to be in the old fisherman's family house.
This family run hotel has never claim to be a luxury or 5 star hotel. We like guests spend the best time in the hotel with comfortable rooms and home made food.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel to be perfectly situated to see the old town and sitting eating breatfast overlooking the beach was gorgeous. The staff were all very friendly and we were lucky to have the only room with a small balcony. The room was very comfortably sized for a short stay and well looked after. Having seen a bad review concerning room 111, we were shown this room too and while there is not the same sea view, the room itself was equally good and since we were spending many hours on the beach, I can't imagine our holiday would have been any less enjoyable in that room. The breakfasts were great - try the cheesecake if you get the opportunity! - the boat trip and the little beach just a bit away from the crowds that the owner recommended to us were also fantastic. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are very happy to know that you had a nice stay in our small hotel, and also that you enjoyed the home made cakes. We try to do our best every day and is for this that the guests reviews help us to improve the services.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I spent 10 days going to London, Barcelona,and ended our vacation in Tossa de Mar at Cap d Or via a recommendation on TripAdvisor. It was a great way to end a unforgettable vacation. The hotel is quaint and the owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Tossa is a great place to walk around the walled town and relax at the beach and spend your evening eating great food. The rooms at the hotel are cottage like and there is free wifi. The views are spectacular from all rooms and worth the very economical price. Breakfast is included in the price and I miss the cafe con leche and croissants in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have just spent a week at the Cap D'Or and loved it. It is very small, but the rooms are beautifully decorated and the location of the hotel is perfect for enjoying Tossa. Each morning we walked the 50 metres from the hotel to swim in the sea and then ate our breakfast under the parasols at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent; freshly home made savoury and sweet items, different each day - delicious. The hotel owners were very helpful and did everything they could to ensure that their guests had a restful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazza49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband I spent three nights at Hotel Cap d'Or in July. We really appreciated the good advice given by the owner/manager as we wanted to explore inland, and use the hotel and Tossa de Mar as a base. This especially as the town is a lot bigger than we had expected. The first week of July is probably not the best time to visit if you want a more peaceful stay (we aren't party animals and unless you close the windows and sleep with the aircon on you will be disturbed by the noise from the pathway in front of the hotel at night/beach cleaning and rubbish collection first thing in the morning in mid summer).
We enjoyed exploring the old town and the views from there. We had two busy days driving a section of the coastal drive (thick mist meant closed in which was a pity as it reduced vsibilty of the coastline), then on inland to Besalu (to see the mikvah or Jewish ritual baths - if you do this make a note that the public can only get access at 4:30 pm as there are guided tours at scheduled times otherwise), Girona, and the medieval villages of Pals, Palau Sator and Peratallada.
We loved the excellent coffee and breakfast at the hotel (great home made cakes), especially sitting outside. We were advised by regular visitors to Tossa de Mar we met to try La Luna in the old town for tapas and had two good evenings there.
You can park your car in free public parking on the street about a ten minute walk from the hotel (fifteen minute drop off /pick up close to the hotel for luggage) and our car was still there every morning!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crawfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Nestled under the castle, directly fronting the beach, this hotel has stunning views and a central location but is nonetheless peaceful as at night there is no passing footfall.

The service is excellent, the owner is multi-lingual and her local knowledge and recommendations helped us to make the most of our time in Tossa.

Free wifi and air-con and a tv at this price is good and our room was pretty and very clean. There was not much drawer space for clothes and the room and bathroom space is modest but it is adequate and more than compensated for by the charm and location.

As other reporters have noted, the breakfast is excellent, particularly the home cooked savoury which on our visit varied every day.

Tossa is stunningly beautiful and not at all rowdy. The majority of holiday makers were Spanish with significant numbers of English, French, Dutch and German visitors. The restaurants and shops were very good in both the historic old town and the more modern streets.

Room Tip: Request a full sea view at the time of booking the room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hullite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#5 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Mar Menuda
Golden Mar Menuda
#12 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Address: Passeig Del Mar, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £80 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cap d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava
Cap d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing