We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cap d'Or
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
stalybridge cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great little hotel .Lovely owners (mum and daughter). Ate breakfast looking over the bay every morning didnt want to come home .Clean rooms and friendly staff .Try a jug of sangria sat at one of the tables in the evening nothing more relaxing.Have not been to spain for 20 years but will be going back next year to tossa and the Cap dor !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 47lorraine_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review.

We are really happy you enjoy your holidays in Tossa and the hotel.
We hope to see you very soon. Don't wait 20 years more!!

It's a pleasure have guests like you.

Yours sincerely,

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    40
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
100
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have stayed at the hotel a few times, it has great views of the beach , friendly staff, clean and well maintained. Don't be put off by the term Hostal it is a great place to stay with a good breakfast. The hotel also is great for lunch or dinner. Phone the hotel direct they speak perfect English and will happy to help. One quick tip... If you fly into Girona I would just get a cab to the hotel in Tossa De Mar particularly if you are only going for a long weekend as parking is a nuisance and expensive. There are boat trips linking the beaches along the coast or a local bus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and we hope to see you very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The location of the hotel and view from our room was incredible. The Inn is right across the street from the beach and at the foot of the old fort. When I first saw the photos of the rooms, I thought a beach was digitally added to the windows of the photos, but that view is the real deal! The inn-keeper is very friendly and welcoming and there is a conveniently located restaurant on the bottom level of the inn. Parking is tough - you'll have to park outside of the historic part of town and hike to the hotel (we recommend a public lot near the bus station that has a reasonable daily fee). The rooms are basic, but clean and homey. Location is very convenient for exploring the old part of the town and of course, easy access to the beach!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpreugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for your review.

We are very happy to help you to get better your time in Tossa de Mar and we hope you will visit us in the very next future.

Thank you again,

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view to the beach, and is located right under the city walls, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for sure!! The price is great and the breakfast was amazing!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flaviadelsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and all services we offered to you.

We hope you will visit again very soon.

Thanks again.


Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful sea view and is located practically on the beach, right under the old town wall. The owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, small and very simple, but sufficient. The bathroom could be larger. You can hardly move inside. There also no place to hang your wet things from the beach. The walls are rather thin and you can hear everything what your neighbours do. Our neighbours were quite loud and argued constantly. The breakfast was poor compared with other hotels we had visited. There were no eggs, only a small variety of cheese and yoghurt didn't looked inviting. But the coffee was good, the croissant and the waiters very friendly. All in all, our short stay there was quite enjoyable.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review that we really apreciate.

I'ts absolutely true that rooms are not big. Actually we mention this point to everybody who is interested in booking. The hotel was fish factory years ago and the building is from the 17th century. This hotel is not the best option if you are looking for large rooms.

About bathrooms, they are also small like the rest, but they have all you need, like hairdryer and soap server, also if you were looking more carefully, in the shower wall there is rope to put your wet clothes.

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy breakfast because is one of the hotel service which is more apreciate for guests, especially the home made yoghourt and cakes.

Finally, we are probably simple because we try to keep the same atmosphere like our old fishfactory was. There are plenty of new, sofisticated and and full equiped hotels with large rooms in town. We belong to a family hotels category that every year are less in town.


Thank you again for your visit.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We loved this hotel! The location is along the beach with views from many of the rooms. We especially liked room 107, which has a small balcony overlooking the beach. If you are on a budget, try room 101, which they describe as small, but we found it to be perfectly adequate (though the bed is against one wall.) The breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was very nice with croissants, rolls, quiche and baked sweet breads as well as cheeses, jams, juice, and coffee/tea, all of which was served at outdoor tables overlooking the beach.
The beach was very crowded (we were there in August) but the cove is beautiful and we liked the walk through the old town with winding streets and restaurants and shops.
I would not recommend dinner at the hotel, though; we tried it because it was recommended in Lonely Planet, but it was mediocre and there were many other options for eating outdoors along the promenade that looked better.

Room Tip: Room 107 for the small balcony- really nice. Room 101 if you are on a tight budget- they recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharzanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your review that helps us to work better in the future.

We are really surprise about your opinion about the bar, where we served some home made tapas, because the same person who prepare breakfast is also in the kitchen to cook the tapas. So, if you enjoy the quiche and the home made cakes in the morning, we understand you could apreciate the rest of the food that is made with the same rigor.

We thank you again for your visit and we hope you will visit again very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just got back from Cap d'Or. What a delightful surprise for a small, inexpensive beachfront hotel. Proprietor was lovely and accomodating. Rooms were quaint and clean. We enjoyed the "main balcony room" right atop the beach. Sweet little breakfast included. Hotel is mere steps from the town's landmark medieval castle, almost nestled into the base, with pathway providing lovely evening stroll and beautiful views. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.

We absolutely apreciate your nice review and help us to go ahead with the work we are doing and with the business that our family began in 1954.

We hope you will visit the hotel again in the very next future.

Thanks again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#7 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#8 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Property: Hotel Cap d'Or
Address: Passeig Del Mar, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cap d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava
Cap d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing