We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, very clean and pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for a week in July with our 2 children aged 3 and 6. Our room was spotlessly clean and both children had proper beds which is quite rare in a family room. Our view was dire so be sure to request a front of hotel room or pool view but we weren't that bothered about views! The cost of this hotel is very good value for money; the breakfasts are varied and good and we enjoyed our others meals too. Plenty of choice- can get quite busy though. The pool is great and they don't allow people to save loungers which is good. We didn't use the entertainment but there seemed to be plenty of people in the bar area at night taking advantage of it. We loved Bar Pano which is opposite the entrance for a nighttime drink. The hotel is a short walk into town and there are loads of restaurants to choose from. We had a good time and would def use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emcart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Dear guest,

We thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Costa Brava Hotel in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our hotels in Tossa de Mar or in any of the other we have strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We felt that this friendly comfortable hotel is definitely worth its 3stars. It's in a very good location for the beach and old town. We found the staff to be friendly, efficient and hard working. The entertainment staff were very pleasant and provided a range of activities. The pool workout was hard work but enjoyable.
The food was plentiful and varied but not hot enough for our personal taste.
The room was very clean and we liked the large powerful shower.
We enjoyed our lunchtime visits to Pano's bar just across the road from the hotel. This bar is pleasant and very good value for money.
This was our first visit to Tossa and it was a delight. It 's a bustling town with lots of character. There are stunning views from the castle and clifftop walks. The atmosphere was relaxed throughout. Tossa is a great resort and we would be very happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank avondale-eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Costa Brava Hotel in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We went to this hotel with our 2 children age 2 and 4 years old. The hotel is in a good location near to the centre, we got a taxi from the airport which is expensive at 60 euros. The hotel on first appearance is nice enough and the rooms were very clean, the cleaners worked very hard and were in our room every day. The food was nice enough, not a massive selection, but you should definitely be able to find something you like. once a week they have a traditional catalonian night, which is a lovely touch. One night my Daughter did not like any of the desserts on offer, we spoke to a waitress and she spoke to the chef and came back with a lovely piece of chocolate cake! The sunbeds by the pool are shaded at different times of the day, the best place is by the childrens pool. They advertise having a fitness room, but it is tiny, so if you are a fitness fanatic like my Husband you will be disappointed!!! There is a mini club for the children, it is in a good location right by the pool, so you don't feel like you are letting them out of sight, you can still see them, but the animation team don't really interact with the children, they just give them some paper to do some colouring and I was not very happy with them on a couple of occassions. A couple of times my Daughter was told she couldn't have any more paper because she hadn't finished colouring her first picture and paper was expensive and my other Daughter wanted to colour in a mask, but they wouldn't let her because it was 15 mins before miniclub was closing!! I did feel they could have played games with the kids a bit more, or done some painting, just a bit more variation. One complaint I would make would be about the grumpy older barman, he does not like English people. He would not serve you if you spoke in English, said he couldn't understand and one night my Husband brought a drink up from the restaurant and he placed his glass on the bar, the barman took it away and said that glasses should not be removed from the restaurant in a sign language broken english type way of communicating!! Tossa De Mar is beautiful thought, definitely a resort I would recommend.

Room Tip: we had room 245 with a view of another building, not brilliant. We did request pool view, didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line. We will inform about your complaints to the manager of this hotel of our group to take care of it and take the necessary steps.

In the Costa Brava Hotel in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here mid july for 6 nights as part of a 17day road trip of Catalonia and as the previous reviewer writes, we are also a well travelled British family of four with children aged 12 and 9yrs. Firstly Tossa de Mar is a beautiful and magical little town that we had visited many years ago and it has changed very little since then. It is I believe the perfect place to holiday with a young family, the old town has all the charm and beauty of a hilltop Tuscan village but with restaurants that are open when you need to feed your little ones. You can spend hours in the evening getting lost in the nooks and crannies of the old town or sit by the bay people watching with the waves crashing in as your soundtrack. There are 3 beaches to choose from, two with facilities, the sand is coarse and so doesn't stick and the sea is pleasant, you can take a boat trip to another beach further north, stay the day and catch the last boat back-idyllic. The Costa Brava hotel is set back in the newer part of the town about a 3-5 minute walk from the beach front and restaurants, a reasonable location. It is located next to probably the only couple of bars and snack bars that cater for the British offering breakfasts and the usaual chips + meat, the majority of eateries, and there are many ,are typical Catalan and offer menu del dia starting from around 12 Euros for 3 courses including bread, water and wine- perfect.Prices become more expensive the closer to the castle wall but you're paying for the atmosphere which is the same as most european countries. As the previous reviewer mentioned the pool is certainly in the shade late afternoon, we normally get out and about and end the day in the pool but this was a little disappointing as we had booked because of the pool and only used it once due to a 'blue lip' scenario!
It's true the main public areas are in need of a revamp, the carpets on the stairs are threadbare and the general decor is 70/80's, I'm sure this hotel was a find in it's day. The previous reviewer must have got our room after we vacated it! Ours too faced a brick wall, the balcony was a little shot at for a family of four, the quadruple rooms are really a sqeeze and the bathrooms are tiny. However the rooms were spotlessy clean as were the crisp white bed linen. As we only ever use hotels as a base for exploring the area the room was perfectly adequate for our needs.
The food I agree was average but not exciting. We had planned to change to lunch if the food was bad and eat out in the evenings but we only did this one evening as we had decided to take a packed lunch for a day out (Above average packed lunch by the way!)Always a fish choice but often a little overcooked for our tastes. Always a good range of salad choice, but found thier partner hotel in Sant Pol to have fresher options. The food on Catalan night was above average. Mainly the food is Catalan, lots of pork based dishes so if you're looking for British fayre then this won't be the place for you. I think for just over £100 a night for a family of four half board can you really complain?
Patrons are primarily French and Catalan.
Front desk staff are helpful in a brusk way, smiles are at a minimum.
You can park in front of the hotel to unload and scoot around the streets to find a parking spot for free, not a problem for us in July.
Overall this a good value, solid, budget choice for independant travellers looking for a base to explore Catalonia and Barcelona (around 1hr 15 in the car). Not a great choice if you're travelling for a sunbathing, pool, luxury holiday-2 star hotel with 3 star food. However I feel the 'book at your peril' warning from the previous reviewer is harsh and we normally use 4 star hotels and can be a little fussy. This is the Costa Brava and your wallet should give you a clue on quality.
Will definitely return to Tossa for a couple of nights in the future, wouldn't rule out the hotel Costa Brava as a cheap base, all things considered including it's value for money, on this occassion it was only let down by the pool area.

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking the pool to avoid the wall view issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuggyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Costa Brava Hotel in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We are well travelled British family of four. Our children are 11 and 14.
If you appreciate building aesthetics, this hotel is not for you. It has zero charm and is hemmed in between a number high rise buildings!
The pool is predominately in the shade throughout the day.
The reception and restaurant staff lack charm which is often the saving grace with a poor hotel.
The building is tired, with threadbare carpets and the floors were quite dirty.
The food is reasonable but unexciting.
The room was shocking! It looked onto a brick wall - we couldn't stand being in it. AC not working.
We were due to stay a week but checked out day 1 and moved to another hotel- ironically in the same chain but one we would recommend as a hotel warranting 3 stars - Hotel Neptuna in the old town. Travel Republic -the agent we booked with were brilliant and helped sort out our grievances quickly and efficiently - thank you Travel Republic!
Stay at Hotel Costa Brava at your own peril. NOT recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britishfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed at the costa brava for one week full board, two adults and two children aged 10 and 5. After reading all the other reviews about the food we were apprehensive but all we can say is that the food was absolutely fine and all 4 of us managed to find something to eat at all times. For breakfast and evening meal the restaurant does get very busy so we found it best to get there earlier. The animation team at the hotel are great with the children and there are things to keep them occupied. We found the room a little cramped for the 4 of us but at the end of the day you do not spend that much time in the rooms. Hotel was always spotlessly clean. The location is great and only a few minutes walk to the beach and the old town. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a great value family holiday and we will probably return sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lanoneix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you at the Costa Brava hotel or in any of the other hotels of our group strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Enjoyed the food which included a good variety at dinner. Reasonable facilities for a 3 star and free wifi worked perfectly in our third floor room. Tossa a very pleasant location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Costa Brava Hotel in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#5 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Costa Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Costa Brava

Address: Avenida Verge de Montserrat s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £40 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHT Costa Brava 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous, friendly hotel that is continuously updated. It is ISO 9001 -certified. The Hotel Costa Brava is situated in the famous, quiet and welcoming town of Tossa de Mar, close to the centre and to the beach. The Hotel Costa Brava offers a broad range of amenities for your holiday enjoyment: outdoor pool for adults and children, terrace, kid’s area, small heated indoor pool, fitness suite, hydrotherapy shower, Turkish bath, massage area, round-the-clock reception, lifts, currency Exchange, bar, games room, entertainment programme, TV room, air-conditioned restaurant, kid’s club with a mascot, free WiFi throughout the hotel, garage, medical service and laundry (which carries an extra charge). In the hotel restaurant, meals are buffet-style. We do not accept pets A great hotel for a great holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel GHT Costa Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Brava Hotel
Hotel GHT Costa Brava Tossa De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing