We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not returning”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Ireland, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not returning”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here last year and found it to be in a great location and spotlessly clean. We were looking forward to returning as we loved Tossa but were very disappointed with hotel this time. Still very clean and thoroughly cleaned each day. BUT the food and staff terrible. The food was not warm any time we went to eat, breakfast or dinner, it was the same if you went early or late for breakfast or dinner.The staff in general are the most unfriendly I ever met in any hotel. They look at you when you ask a question, reply without a smile. We were never greeted in reception or the dining room. The staff inn the restaurant wanted you in and out as quick as possible, they banged around plates as they cleaned up. Tina was the only friendly one in the restaurant and we also found the housekeeping staff to be friendly, which was strange. Will be returning to Tossa but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear guest,
I apologize that the hotel didn’t cover your expectations. Be sure, your comments will be a great help to improve in the future. If you visit Tossa again, I would like you give us the opportunity to show you we are worthy of your confidence.
You will be always more than welcome. Sincerely yours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    204
    103
    17
    23
See reviews for
177
201
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just got back from one weeks stay.Spotlessly clean hotel in good location. Entertainment left a little to be desired.The food was fine. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and we found something we liked every evening. We don't understand some of the comments on here regarding the food. Buffet style is rarely piping hot and it is only a 3 star hotel after all. The restaurant was very busy particularly at the weekend, we found it was best to eat after 8.30pm. The staff were hard working and always pleasant enough but I feel this is down to how you treat them. There were some bad mannered guests in the hotel who don't do us Brits any favours at all, but then I suppose we should be used to this by now. All in all we had a lovely break .

Room Tip: Top floor pool facing rooms are in best position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feed-back. Thank you as well for complimenting our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for all of them.
Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is really nice and in a very good location, the hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly/helpful. Although little English they could understand most things. The only really big downfall to this hotel was the food!! It was terrible! Always the same stuff everyday, nothing was piping hot but they did provide a microwave to heat to your taste. The pool was so cold we never went into it, but the jacuzzi is nice but obviously not in the sun so we barely got a tan. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving your impression on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were generally satisfied with our services and the staff. We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

All the staff were friendly, attentive and efficient. Our requests were dealt with promptly. A comfortable hotel and if we returned to Tossa de Mar, we would certainly consider staying here again.
The entertainment in the bar area was pleasant enough, though some "turns" were a little too noisy for the size of the bar/lounge area, especially the flamenco. You could not make any comments to your companions as it was difficult to chat with the loudness of some of the music. However, the bar staff were very good.
Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay pleasant. The reception/chambermaids/bar/dining staff were all to be commended on their attention.
The food was perfectly acceptable - breakfasts fine, the salad bar very good but the main course was only warm and though there was a microwave provided, this isn't the same. However, overall it was fine.

Room Tip: We had a room which was one we chose on arrival at the hotel as we wanted a bath and the original ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for staying at the Costa Brava Hotel and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and constantly strive to offer the highest quality standards.
Looking forward see you soon. Sincerely,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Tossa de Mar is my favourite holiday destination in Spain and I have stayed in 10 or so hotels and apartments in the town over the past few years.
The Costa Brava hotel is well situated, close to the the main shopping streets, the local park and about 5 minutes walk to the fine beach in Tossa.The Lobby is spacious as is the bar/entertainment area.
The food is hardly haute cuisine but is perfectly acceptable, varied and of a decent quality.
The room in which I stayed was well presented with a balcony overlooking the adequate swimming pool. The staff are mainly Spanish with limited English but this should add to rather than detract from the charm of the place. The hotel is obviously favoured by Spanish families judging by the number that descended on the hotel during the weekend on which I visited and their exuberance added to the atmosphere. The hotel is also favoured by German and French nationals.The hotel does not have in-room coffee making or facilities and a fridge and safe may be rented at reception.
This appears to be a family oriented hotel, so, should you wish for peace and quiet, may not be for you.
All in all, the Costa Brava hotel is a good value 3* hotel which I recommend.

Room Tip: try to obtain a room overlooking the pool, where you will get sunshine in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear guest,
Tthanks for your comments in Trip Advisor. We are so pleased with. Do not hesitate to contact us for your following reservations. Hope to see you soon. Sincerely
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Lovely hotel in the pretty town of Tossa de mar ,hotel in a good position for all it has to offer ,hotel of a good standard ,very clean ,staff had limited english but enough to get by and didnt find it a problem ,rooms nice with very good shower ,food fine for breakfast but not to my taste in the evening ,but with an abundance of excellent restuarants in Tossa this wasnt a problem ,previously stayed in sister hotel Oasis which is a 4 star but i did prefer staying in the Costa Brava .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here in July for a week and werent disappointed in any way. Swift check-in by friendly staff. Had a room over the pool and it wasnt noisy in anyway. . Really lovely room with nice clean bathroom with shower. Shower gel and shampoo dispenser always filled in the bathroom-didnt really need to take any! Hairdryer-good. Lots of English and German tv channels.Pool an adequate size although the left side had no sun til later in the afternoon, so sunbeds on the right were scarce! Food was actually very good. Lots of choice everyday and themed nights. Drinks usual prices, so didnt class them as expensive. Entertainment was not very good at all. We tried it a couple of nights - not for us. If youre looking for a busy resort with lots of pubs and clubs with loud music, then Tossa De Mar is not the place for you. Although there were some really nice restaurants in the town. Town centre only 5-10 mins walk away and its an easy walk, and not uphill. The walk to the Castle is worth it, although a steep hot walk! You can get the little mini train up there instead. Dont pay for parking if you have car hire as you can always find spaces around the hill at the front of the hotel. Just drive up the road facing the steps and up around to the right. All in all, a really good hotel, good food and good location. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#4 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Costa Brava

Property: Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Address: Avenida Verge de Montserrat s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHT Costa Brava 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous, friendly hotel that is continuously updated. It is ISO 9001 -certified. The Hotel Costa Brava is situated in the famous, quiet and welcoming town of Tossa de Mar, close to the centre and to the beach. The Hotel Costa Brava offers a broad range of amenities for your holiday enjoyment: outdoor pool for adults and children, terrace, kid’s area, small heated indoor pool, fitness suite, hydrotherapy shower, Turkish bath, massage area, round-the-clock reception, lifts, currency Exchange, bar, games room, entertainment programme, TV room, air-conditioned restaurant, kid’s club with a mascot, free WiFi throughout the hotel, garage, medical service and laundry (which carries an extra charge). In the hotel restaurant, meals are buffet-style. We do not accept pets A great hotel for a great holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel GHT Costa Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Brava Hotel
Hotel GHT Costa Brava Tossa De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing