We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our visit to Hotel Florida was great. The location was good with a short walk to the beach, the castle and the city. The room was good with a balcony and the cleaning was ok. The breakfast, on the other hand, was great. There were different types of sandwiches, cereals, a good salami and different types of fruits.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emelie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in Hotel Florida for one night on June 24, the Festival de Saint Joan - an entire nights worth of fireworks and celebration. We did not know about the festival beforehand, and the staff was very clear at letting us know what to expect. They also had great suggestions about what to do in and around Tossa. Staff was so accommodating that the lady at the front desk offered to give up her own parking spot so we wouldn't have to put our car in the public parking, though thankfully there was a spot open in their private lot in the back of the hotel.
Although there are not great views from the hotel, it is in a perfect location to walk to the beach, medieval area, and town. Our room was older but did have a balcony for us. Breakfast was great! We would definitely stay here again if we ever come back to beautiful Tossa de Mar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hotel is well kept and bearkfast is ok. Close to both beach and town centre. But, it's noisy and thus difficult to sleep at night. Noises from neighbours above and next door. Sometimes to 4 am in the morning. Bring earplugs and patience.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had no worries rebooking our stay again, we last visited 2 years ago. This time we were 7 people booking 4 rooms for various lengths of stay. Five of us arrived in two cars for 6 nights, 2 flew in for 4 nights before going onto Barcelona. This hotel really knows how to make you feel welcome for your stay, rooms very clean, but all the staff look after you and are friendly. Breakfasts very good with loads to choose from,very good fresh coffee from machines. Tossa is very good value because it has kept its prices in check. On a night we had some excellent meals in good class restaurants for as little as 18 euros by picking the menu of the day 3 courses. All of us hope to return again to Tossa and this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here only one night, so didn't get to enjoy the jacuzzi and rooftop pool, but the hotel is nice enough. It is clean and the staff are nice and friendly. The room is nothing to shout about but it is a decent size and has a nice balcony. My only problem was the noise (but to be fair, I am a light sleeper...my husband snored right through). Had a really hard time sleeping as there is constant loud noise - motorcycles and cars revving, seagulls screeching in the early morning, people talking late at night, etc. My sister stayed in another side of the hotel and also had the same issue. There is a good shutter to block out the light, but it wasn't as effective on the noise.

The breakfast is also pretty good and there is a convenient wine/grocery shop right across. If you are driving, you can park on the streets, assuming you can find a parking space. Otherwise, it is 12E per day in the hotel lot.

Location-wise, it's quite good. It is a short walk through the town to the beach with lots of restaurants and shops around. Perhaps our expectations of the beach were pretty high as we had heard a lot of good things about Tossa de Mar. However, we were underwhelmed by the beach. We preferred Tamariu and the other beaches around Begur instead of Tossa de Mar. The old town was pretty nice though, with some nice restaurants located on the walk towards the top.

Overall, a nice stay but if we ever returned, I would choose a beachside location instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have been visiting Tossa de Mar for over 35 years and have stayed at several hotels and apartments. For a week's stay, I love Hotel Florida. The family who owns it are very particular that everything is perfect. They spent over $200,000 the past winter on updates and improvements. The rooms are immaculate, the beds are very comfortable. You can't beat the buffet breakfast. Merce, who is usually at the front desk, is always ready with a smile and a recommendation, if you like. I felt like I was staying with family. There is an elevator. The hotel is not on the beach, but you can see the beach from the balcony and it is only a 2 block walk. There is a bar and a solarium on the main floor for coffee, tea, aperitifs or after dinner drinks. Ferran, the bartender and grandson of the owners, is the best bartender! The price is so reasonable. There is a splash pool, hot tub and lounging area on the roof which is wonderful after a day of sightseeing. I usually rent an apartment for a long stay, but I LOVE the Hotel Florida for a shorter stay. I highly recommend this wonderful establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed in Hotel Florida for a week from mid-July. Great experience. Hotel Florida is a little gem. Very friendly and helpful staff in family-owned establishment. Very close to beach and location gives one a sense of being in a village as the town is up behind the hotel. We had two rooms and the best room was on the front of the hotel on 2nd floor as we had sun throughout the day. There was a good choice for breakfast. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi on the roof-top. Brilliant for soothing aches after long day's walk on coastal path to Lloret de Mar. We would certainly recommend Hotel Florida for lovely atmosphere and very reasonable price. Tossa de Mar is a superb find - lovely beach, intimate atmosphere, great value in restaurants. Go before it changes too much. Very convenient for Girona airport, just a bus-ride away.

Room Tip: Choose room to front of hotel on 2nd floor for daylong sunshine and a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HallyHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Mar Menuda
Golden Mar Menuda
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Avda. de la Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Florida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing