We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly,efficient staff,clean rooms but the breakfast was terrible.”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we stayed for a week at the start of sept, initailly stayed in the side rooms, very small,just enough space for one person to move around at a time.But good staff, was no problem,moved next day, moved to room facing the pool, much bigger, better layout. rooms cleaned regulary. there is aircon and free wifi, signal will struggle in rooms and pool, but it's free.The pool is cleaned and has height markings which is good. where the hotel lets itself down is that it's very dated and a refurbishment is long overdue. it's in a good location, 10-15 min walk to shops, supermarket and beach. only 4 mins from bus station, visit lloret de mar, 3.50 eur return.(15mins). The breakfast is continental, but of very low standard and poor quality. consists of 5 trays. thin cheese, two types of processed ham, hot dog sausage, cold hard boil egg. and stale rolls. There is inadequate toaster that takes 10 mins!!!!just see the angry queue grow!!!lol. no real entertainment at night which is duplicated throughout the town is another negative. in all a good budget hotel for sleeping, cleaniness,pool, good staff but eat the breakfast out of necessity and not for enjoyment.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool. if you are initaily put elsewhere, request a change. the staff were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at start of september. We asked to be moved from the first room as it was so small i felt closed in. The staff were helpful and moved us to a room facing the pool which was much bigger. The hotel was clean. Freindly helpful staff. Absolutely no entertainment though. The breakfast was the WORST I have ever experienced in any hotel. Stale rolls. Cold hotdogs. Cheap meat and cheese. We thought we got lucky when we spotted a bowl of fruit only to find it was plastic! Nice pool though. What can i say...dont eat here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous 11 days at the Continental.
This hotel is not disguised as a upmarket hotel with poor service. It is a homely, friendly, welcoming hotel with good staff.
The rooms were adequate for our needs. They were kept very clean and beds comfortable.
Our little balcony overlooked the bus station and the town. Ideal for "people watching".
The food; OK so its a continental breakfast. I still was full after each breakfast.
Evening meals were always VERY GOOD.
The choice was limited compared with some larger hotel chains, but this is family run, and ample for all guests. I prefer to have a smaller selection of very well cooked food than loads of choice which is all awful.
The chef was very attentive and in my opinion, produced very good quality food. His Chicken is to die for!!!!
On the whole, I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel. Many guests I talked to come back many times.
Tossa de Mar is a beautiful place, and the hotel made our stay a home from home.
Go on, give it a try. What do you want for your money? You wont be disappointed if you don't expect the Ritz. Get real people!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have just come back from a five day holiday in this hotel with my friend. We wanted a nice pool and lots of sunshine, and that is exactly what we got! This hotel is located in a small town, with plenty of bars, pubs and restaurants. There is also a good supermarket within a couple of minutes walk. The rooms are small, and the decor is dated, but the Aircon was good and the hotel is, as others have mentioned, very clean and well-kept. The pool is unheated but is a good size if you want to do a few lengths. The only bad thing about this hotel, in my view, was the sun loungers. They are not adjustable, which means that you have to lie down on them, and can't sit up comfortably to read. There also aren't many umbrellas around, but there is some shade under the trees. There was good Wi-Fi within the hotel, although it was patchy by the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rdalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed for one week half board at this hotel.

Positives:

Clean hotel overall.
Room size although a little small was perfectly fine for the price.
Friendly and helpful staff.
WIFI included in price.


Negatives:

The food was mostly disgraceful and let the hotel down. Very poor variety, for example breakfast mainly consisted of cake, cornflakes, cheap hams, boiled eggs. It wouldn't cost them much to have a Muesli. On my last day the frankfurters were infested with ants, however after a guest reported it they quickly dealt with the problem.

Dinner was slightly better than breakfast however the selection was still poor.

Overall if you want only a room this is very good value but if you want to eat here forget it. I can imagine getting better food in prison.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

i stayed with my school -the hotel room we stayed in was very small,the showering area was tiny, the air con only worked when the key was in the slot which we was out all day so when we went back to the room it was always boiling also we discovered ants in our wardrobe so we kept over clothes in our suitcases.
the food was dreadful, there was no meat mainly chicken, the chips was extremely greasy so if you stay at this hotel i would advise you to go out for meals on the beach front. the night time discos and drinks at the bar was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed for a week at this hotel with my wife this June .It has good size rooms with balconies. A nice entrance lobby and the hotel is well looked after and spotlessly cleaned. The breakfast is pretty basic but for the price fairly adequate. All in all a good value for money hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel URH Vila de Tossa
Hotel URH Vila de Tossa
#31 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#5 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#22 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Tossa
Hotel Marina Tossa
#17 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Avinguda de Puerto Rico, 3, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £34 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Continental Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing