We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Spanish”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Food was so bad paid for half board and ate out cause the food was really awful, croissants for breakfast safest option perfect for Spanish people but English avoid if u want a cooked breakfast, staff very helpful rooms very dated and basic but air con all good, just let down by the food

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz6309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Continental end of June beginning of July and had a lovely week in this quaint and comfortable hotel. We arrived with the knowledge there could be school groups at the hotel of which there was a smaller group of around 20 school children from Morecombe High School. What a delight they were, a credit to their school and teachers and in fact made the start of our holiday quite uplifting hearing about their trips out for the day and where they had been.

Our room was a good size with comfortable beds and a nice balcony overlooking our pool area and the Bahia Hotel beyond which made for pleasant people watching. Our bathroom was compact but well fitted with towels changed most days if required. The rooms were kept very clean and the air conditioner was excellent if not a little noisy.

The dining hall is small but for us was never full, the food was fresh cooked every day with a restrictive menu but every day there was a different meat dish, pasta dish and fish dish with chips salads and vegetables, pudding was cake and fruit or rice pudding typical of Spanish desserts, nicely presented.

The pool was a nice size, unheated and salt water, with plenty sunbeds around, but again the hotel was very quiet during the day and often we had the pool to ourselves until the other guests came back from their days out. the pool bar wasn't open but this was not a problem for us.

The reception staff, bar staff and cleaners were all very nice and helpful and special thank you's to Antonio (bar manager), Sara (bar staff) and Lucas (reception) for making our stay very enjoyable.

The Hotel is situated away from the beach but a pleasant walk down through the lanes with their colourful shops onto the beach front and the resort is very clean, lively family orientated resort a very pleasant place to visit with the spectacular scenery of the mountain back drop and the Fort on the beachfront.

I would recommend this hotel and resort for groups, couples, families and the only down side I can think of was that there was no entertainment out our hotel which might have encouraged the guests to stay there and use the facilities more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff greeted us after out drive from Barcelona airport, they were friendly, organised and welcoming. Our group were quickly shown to their rooms which were conveniently all on the same floor. The pool was 1st class as was the furniture. The food was plentiful and the variety was extensive. None of our group was left wanting as far as the breakfast, lunch and dinner was concerned.
It is a short 10 minute walk to the beach. The walks available during the evening are breathtaking. The Castle is lit up and is an inviting place to visit should you wish to eat away from the hotel in one of the many restaurants.
We were there at the end of the holiday season but you would n't be able to tell by the way the staff treated us.
Will definitely visit this place and hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front are away from the swimming pool. A bit more quiet on that side and a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent 9 nights here at the start of September, the room was big enough and clean and tidy. The room was refreshed each day if you wanted it. The Hotel had given us our request of a high floor and double bed with side sea view and views of the mountains. No one looking in at us from another hotel. The variety of food was limited but it was always presented well and meals were hot and very enjoyable. The Hotel would not profit if it had a larger range of food as there would be too much wastage. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Most of them would speak some English. The pool area was nice and relaxing. Hotel situated at the quieter end of Tossa de Mar, only a few minutes walk to the supermarket, post office and main tourist shopping area. A pleasant walk through the narrow streets to the beach took fifteen minutes at a leisurely pace. The beach was always kept clean. The views were breath taking from the wonderful castle at the end of the beach. We had a great time and would go back again.

Room Tip: To choose a good room go higher for the views and face either the garden centre or garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spend here 7 days and were occupying room for 3. About the room, very simple, for us the most missing things were a ... kettle and fridge. Still less than there is no chance to get a glass of water os some hot beverages during the lunch or even supper.
Room was refreshing every single day (always fresh towels) but what's about shower gel and soap?? (One sachet for one bath). Once we moved small cabinet we found out a big layer of dust!!! It looks like hasn't been cleaned since weeks.
One more, very important - many of leaks on the walls as we occupied corner room.
The food was great, in our opinion everybudy could find something good. Big range of vegetables, fish, meat, seafood and deserts.
Staff very friendly, even in basic English (as mine) we could go deal with everything.
Summary nice and very cheap place, for not really modern hotel the standard is enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kostig87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we stayed for a week at the start of sept, initailly stayed in the side rooms, very small,just enough space for one person to move around at a time.But good staff, was no problem,moved next day, moved to room facing the pool, much bigger, better layout. rooms cleaned regulary. there is aircon and free wifi, signal will struggle in rooms and pool, but it's free.The pool is cleaned and has height markings which is good. where the hotel lets itself down is that it's very dated and a refurbishment is long overdue. it's in a good location, 10-15 min walk to shops, supermarket and beach. only 4 mins from bus station, visit lloret de mar, 3.50 eur return.(15mins). The breakfast is continental, but of very low standard and poor quality. consists of 5 trays. thin cheese, two types of processed ham, hot dog sausage, cold hard boil egg. and stale rolls. There is inadequate toaster that takes 10 mins!!!!just see the angry queue grow!!!lol. no real entertainment at night which is duplicated throughout the town is another negative. in all a good budget hotel for sleeping, cleaniness,pool, good staff but eat the breakfast out of necessity and not for enjoyment.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool. if you are initaily put elsewhere, request a change. the staff were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at start of september. We asked to be moved from the first room as it was so small i felt closed in. The staff were helpful and moved us to a room facing the pool which was much bigger. The hotel was clean. Freindly helpful staff. Absolutely no entertainment though. The breakfast was the WORST I have ever experienced in any hotel. Stale rolls. Cold hotdogs. Cheap meat and cheese. We thought we got lucky when we spotted a bowl of fruit only to find it was plastic! Nice pool though. What can i say...dont eat here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#23 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Novo Park
URH Hotel Novo Park
#39 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel URH Vila de Tossa
Hotel URH Vila de Tossa
#31 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel TossaMar
Hotel TossaMar
#29 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#5 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Vila de Tossa
URH Vila de Tossa
#18 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Avinguda de Puerto Rico, 3, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £35 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Continental Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing