We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hermes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Miami(Tossa de Mar)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
SM Hotels Turissa(Tossa de Mar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mar Bella(Tossa de Mar)
View Hotel
Hotel Continental(Tossa de Mar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel(Tossa de Mar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Soms Park(Tossa de Mar)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Windsor(Tossa de Mar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
41
42
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
42
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapasone stara small swimming poolrooms are smallthe buscomfortable bedrooftop terracefranciajacuzzisupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hermes is great value for Tossa, handy for bus station yet not too noisy, handy for big supermarket and for the street market on a thursday. Pretty typical style for a hotel of this price in Spain. I was upgraded becaue the hotel was not full, which was kind of them. Free wifi in reception and in first floor rooms. Nice roof terrace. Francesca is very helpful. The terrace bar is pleasant for people-watching and the drinks are cheap! yes, the deposit for the TV remote is "unusual", as is there being no soap or shampoo at all in the bathrooms, but these are small things. And it is unusual and lucky to have a jacuzzi or pool in a hotel of this budget so please ignore the people who complain about them! Visit beautiful Tossa and stay at Hermes - enjoy!

Room Tip: first floor along the long side of the building - then you get balcony and free wifi
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The photos and reviews are misleading, especially as regards the basement pool. It is not a swimming pool, it's too small: you can only do 4 strokes, and, worse, it's cold. And the jaccuzzi apparently only operates in high season and even then you have to pay for it (and I'd be surprised if it was heated). Cheapness is this hotel's only asset - don't be fooled by the reviews. Our room was miserable and damp, they don't heat the rooms when they're unoccupied and even then you can't keep the heating on while you're out as you can't detatch the heating/airconditioning key from the room keys and you can't close the room door if you don't take them with you, as the door locks automatically. The same no doubt applies to the air conditioning. They've thought of everything. If a cheap room is all you want, it's fine, and maybe in high season it's ok, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cymruambyth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel has a good price, to compare with the others in Tossa de Mar. Hotels location is really convenient and the receptionist is polite and helpfull. There is car parking in front of the hotel which is paid. The view from the windows is not astonishing, but for such a price it is good. There is a jakuzzi on the roof of the hotel with few sunbathing chairs. You can see castle from here and the see. But the building and furniture is not a brand new. All the furnishing and style is from 90's.
We booked 4 person room. It was clean and had a balcony. But in review it was written there isgoing to be a double bed and two beds for one person. We found four beds, three of which were one size, and the third was small one, not very comfortable. Also, there was a good air conditioner.
The biggest disapointment is breakfast: it was the wors breakfast I have ever had. There was nothing to choose from and all food was not tasty. I suggest not to take a breakfast here, beter find another place or make them by Yourself.
To sum up, I think this hotel is good for tourists who just needs a bed to sleep, if You need something more superior, it is not for You. Location is good. Next time, if I;ll come here just for a couple of days passing Tossa de Mar, I will stay here. But if I'll stay in Tossa de Mar for a longer vocation, I would prefer a much more comfort, then Hermes can give.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rimga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

As a solo traveler I’ve chosen Hotel Hermes, because accommodations in Tossa are expensive and this was best option that I could find for my budget.

It was an individual room with a private bathroom, and the rate was 34€/night, and it didn’t include breakfast (4€/day).

The hotel has a café near the reception.

They will charge the first night in your credit card when you book (you have to send an email) and then when you have to pay the rest when you do the check in.

After check in, you will be given a set of keys: one to your bedroom and another one that opens the door of the hotel at night, and in this way you can enter/leave the hotel 24h/day.

Pros
-Great location for those coming by bus (2 min). You just have to walk the street ahead of you, and there is even a sign to Hotel Hermes. Tossa is very small, so you can’t lose in it, chose a street and follow down to the beach in 5 minutes.

- The room was comfortable, clean and quiet; I wasn’t disturbed by noise of traffic on the street or by other guests in the hotel. There is a lift.

-The lady in the reception speaks English very well.

Cons

-The room especially, the bathroom needs an upgrade because the shower had some leaks nothing too much, but it should be fixed and renovated. There was always hot water in the shower. There wasn´t hairdryer, shampoo or soap.
-Deposit for the TV control, aircon and the key of the safe. Its 10 euros deposit per item, when you return the item, they will return de euros. Although I didn’t use any of these items, I don’t think that this politics is correct. It seems that the guest is always trying to steal something. Who the hell would steal the tv remote!? I don’t think that this is common thing, because then all the hotels would have this politics!

- Again the strict politics, as you can see in the picture, in the lift there is a warning that bags aren’t allowed in the breakfast area!
-
Although this wasn’t an issue for me, in the website is mentioned that all the rooms have balcony, but that isn’t true. At least mine didn’t (see picture)!

-The Jacuzzi on the top floor, only works 30 min per day. Although I didn’t used it ( I prefer the beach), I think that is little time!

In nutshell

So, in a nutshell, if you are travelling alone, and just need the room to rest and take a bath, and with low cost price (at least for Tossa), this is a good option!

Tip in Tossa

Go to the castle, stroll and see it and follow the sign to the miradouro (see picture).There is a pathway that goes to 3 miradouros who gave amazing views on the coast, the lighthouse and the sea! (This was the highlight for me!)

At night stroll through the village and castle!

During the day (and why not at night, it was hot anyway) chose as beach, take a swim and look to the ocean!

You can do scuba diving, because the water is so clear and calm . Terrific for families and for those searching some rest.

There is also the possibility to do a boat ride but at 20€/trip, it was out of my budget!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisbon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here with my family. The hotel has a great location about 5 minutes walk to the old town and the rooms are air conditioned and comfortable. The bar was nice with very reasonably priced drinks and tapas (1 euro for a bottle of beer and 1.50euro for a tapas when I was there). The tapas were really nice and tasted home made. On the roof was a pleasant terraced area which also had a large Jacuzzi and in the hotel's basement was a small swimming pool which the children loved and were in every day. The service from the staff was very pleasant and friendly and a small problem with my credit card bill was rectified quickly and without fuss. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews