We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I have just returned from a 4 night all inclusive stay at the san eloy in tossa.
I had 3 children with me who thoroughly enjoyed it.
The entertainment team were fantastic as they have different activities on throughout the day for the kids ,so they are always occupied.
There are three pools, one large, one medium and one small childrens pool.
The play area is more than adequate too.
The food in the restauraunt was of a very good standard for all inclusive in spain, as i have stayed in many all inclusive hotels in spain and the food at the san eloy was far better than i have been used too,good variety every day.
All inclusive drinks were great ,the sprits measures were very strong, woke up with a bad head on a few occasions.:-).
The family apartment was fine, plenty of room for five of us.
They run a free bus to tossa town hourly, it only takes 5 mins. Otherwise if you walk its a 30 min walk, which i did and that was ok as the surroundings are beautiful.
All in all, a superb which would suit families with children.
Will be returning next year for sure!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BABYDEE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have holidayed here on numerous occasions simply because the staff are extremly friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily. As an all inclusive, all food and drink is included, and it is to a good standard. There are numerous activities on offer and very enjoyable evening entertainment. The rooms are spacious but it is often noisy late at night. Situated away from the town, there is a free shuttle bus available daily. As a disabled traveller, I found the restuarant very difficult to get to because it is up some steep stairs, but there is a lift available if you are a wheelchair user. The ground floor rooms are also wheelchair accessible.
As a family with two young children, this hotel is one of the friendliest we have been to.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar/restuarant are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great location if you looking for nice quiet place where you can relax with your children. Stayed there in may 2011 with our 3year old daughter and friends and and we will be back. Beautiful views, nice and peaceful, away from crowded and noisy city centre. You would need a car if you planning trips to city centre with the child as distance to town is a bit to much for child. Maybe bit basic rooms,but very clean and comfortable and they are equipped with everything you need.. Tossa de Mar absolutely gorgeous. It is good to get two bedroom apt. as they are on ground floor and you get a small patio with them where you can have your meals if you not booking your meals with the hotel. We didn't go for all inclusive not to be tight with meal times, but went to the restaurant for dinner one evening. Nice buffet food as for three star hotel. I don't understand complaints about this hotel as to me it was exactly what I was looking at a great price.

Room Tip: Go for two bedroom apartment on ground floor. All go with nice patio and you can watch your child pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emilia364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

four of us went to this hotel in june last year,
2011 we had previously visited 25 years ago. We found the rooms big enough, beds comfortable but no A/C. you can hire a fan but that really not helpful. Freindly staff and decent food. Lots of screaming children. The free bus into Tossa runs every hour, Its fair to say that this hotel is not for everyone. Most of the entertainment is for children so you will need to go into the town if you want some peace or adult entertainment,

Room Tip: rooms on the leftside as you come into the complex are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Me, my sister and my father have been at this hotel 3 years in a row. The best thing about this hotel is the staff and all the people and friends you make. That is the number 1 reason why we return :)
There is always something to do and you don't need to leave the hotel. You relax, swim, get tanned at daytime, or play football and tennis. If you get bored the entertainers arrange different games. In the evenings there are shows, you can just relax in the bar, or hang around with friends. If you get tired of the place, you can go to the beach in downtown. Tossa is a nice and small city, however not so good shopping. Mostly there are souvenirs, jewellery, funny t-shirts, ice cream and pizzerias. There are some clothing stores, like Lacoste and Burberry, and cheaper shops like Only. For shopping you should go to Girona or Barcelona.
We stayed there for 2 weeks in July 2011 and only left the hotel once. We had all inclusive, and the food was as the other people say, not first class. However, it is good enough, they serve pasta, meat, fruits, ice cream etc. The alcoholic drinks are good, and the bartenders are really nice!
This hotel is a really good 2 star, we'll probably go back. The best thing about the hotel is the other guests and the staff. Some guests are rude, some are really nice, and you'll always make good friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scyther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Went to the San Eloy in September this year, we got a great deal and paid £400 per person for all inclusive - ten days. When we arrived we got a very speedy check in, and the first room we were allocated was one right near the enterance, the apartment itself was of a comfatable size - really couldnt fault it. On the third day we have a slight problem with the room but thanks to the great staff we got moved to another larger room on the oppersite side of the complex. The food was okay, not loads of choice but good for what you pay for. The entertainment was great! kids entertainment till 9 every night, always loads going on through the day aswell, and adults entertainment at night which again was very good. The staff are ever-so friendly and really made you feel very welcome, a lot of the entertainers/barstaff where french/german/spanish so their english wasnt overally great but they really tried to make you feel at home. Tossa Der Mar is the most perfect place ever to go - its set in time but its beautiful, the hotel offers a free bus every hour to tossa, definately worth a visit or two! (Also visit Antonia's bar, just two seconds from the bus stop in Tosssa) really nice!!!!!! All in all, I would return as I really enjoyed this hotel, and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bryony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The hotel san eloy has been previously quoted in other reviews on here as an old style butlins camp, personally I would say a poor mans butlins with an expensive view. On arriving we were amazed at how nice it looked (from the outside). Once we got to the outdoor reception we soon realised it was not going to be such a great holiday. We were giving our keys and told what number our apartment was, no offer to show us, we had to venture off to find ourself, the first woman we spoke to was very unhelpful and rather cheeky. We enquired about upgrading to All Inclusive as we were self catering and were told we would have to pay £39 per adult per day, and £15 per child, and this was a 14 day holiday which would have cost us over £2500 for 4 adults and 2 children. So that was our first shock. Next was the apartment, number 124, right next to the entrance, it was tiny, nothing like the pictures online, which have been edited to make everything look bigger than it was. The apartment has cracked walls, no air con, and infestations of ants. On our first night we had a power cut which was caused by a faulty cooker, on some appliances in the apartment there were bare live wires which never got fixed. We then ventured around the complex and were met by cracked paving slabs next to the pool areas, which cut our childrens feet, an onsite supermarket, which resembled a corner shop here in the UK, but with extremely expensive goods, over 150% more expensive than the goods from the supermarkets in Tossa town.
We tried to put things to the back of our head, but we couldnt, it was a holiday we had looked forward to for so long, and the things we were beginning to see about the complex really put us off. We aint in the apartment a few nights, and then spent most of the time eating out in Tossa De Mar, by getting into town you were either greeted by a friendly bus service and driver, couldnt fault this guy, he didnt speak english, but still in a way was very friendly if that makes sense, he even stopped in the middle of the road to give us a lift with shopping when we were nowhere near the bus stop, we often tipped this driver. The bus was 1 Euro for adults, and 50cents for children, and free if you were all inclusive. The bus was on every hour, and picked you up outside the Rivierra Nightclub in Tossa De Mar at 5 minutes past the hour. Which would have been much easier if it was every half hour, the other way was walking, along the main road, and down a cycle track which takes you through the woodland area and into the rear of the complex where you would wait for the bus. This walk would take you about 30-45 minutes depending on your walking speeds and the heat, it fairly drains you walking it in the heat.
I do reccommend you visit the Tossa De Mar town, it is beautiful, the castle is amazing, although when you get to the top of the castle there is a bar for cold drinks etc which is great on a very warm day but be prepared to pay almost 9 euros for 3 cans of coca cola.
The beach and other parts of the town are beautiful, although the sand is very rough and hurts your feet to walk on it, and if you wear goggles, or a mask and snorkle the fish you see swimming beside you is amazing. Tossa de Mar is a town that makes alot of revenue from tourism, the expensive prices show this, you very seldom see any locals out and about, its all holiday makers, not once did we see a group of youths loitering or anything like that. We did not even see any traffic lights which was surprising at the amount of traffic, it was all zebra crossings, and every single driver stopped to let you across. The town is just beautiful, and also has a kebab shop that sells the worlds most delicious donner kebabs, for this alone, we would return to Tossa de Mar ha ha.
Back to San Eloy....... The rooms were small but easy enough for a short holiday, there was no air conditioning, but you could hire a fan from the reception which cost about 50 euros per WEEK, including a 15 euro deposit. Our flat had an infestation of ants that ate some of our shopping and it had to be binned, not a good sign when your having to travel into Tossa, and then get a taxi back to the complex, the taxis cost in excess of between 9-12 euros depending on the time of day, the starting fare in the taxi meters was 7.60, which was rather steep considering your in the taxi for about 90 seconds. We alerted the reception about this and had a handyman come out and spray the cupboards, that was it, they still returned....
We had been staying there for about 5 days and had to request a change of towels, bedding etc so went to the reception and was told this should have been done every 2 days. After which we were bombarded with towels and clean sheets almost every day.
The entertainment for young kids was great, the team really strived to make the kids happy, and after a while made me feel obligated to get up and dance with them, videos of which will be going on youtube and making me the laughing stock of my friends ha ha, all in good fun though. There was a young blonde haired girl who worked on the site who was up first thing in the morning to play games with the kids, and there until last thing at night to dance with the kids after the night time entertainment was finished. It was really the entertainment team that fulfilled our holiday. The drinks at the bar were less desireable, with the glasses being filled 3/4 of the way with vodka, and about 10ml of coca cola, making it undrinkable, it was like this with all the drinks, it was also 3 euros for a small plastic cup of cheap fanta for the kids, and around 4 euros for a pint of san miguel. If you are going here please go all inclusive if you plan on having a few beers. The snacks available from the bar were burnt toasties, and uncooked chips, or re-cooked chips, for about 3 euros.
The pool onsite was smaller than in the pictures, still a good size, but smaller than the online images make it look, at times the water was excruciatingly freezing, and other times was bareable, the bottom of the pool could be doing with a painting though, as there were alot of cracks at your feet. The pool was fine for kids at the shallow end and the deep end was really deep, with me being 6ft 4, i struggled to touch the bottom, it must've been around 12ft deep. This was really the only attraction for kids, when the entrtainment team were not playing with them, the swing park onsite is for toddlers, there is a home made crazy golf game with about 4 holes, which cost around 5 euros to play EACH, there was a table tennis table outside our apartment which was a 5 euro deposit for the bats and ball, and about 3 euros to play, the tennis courts were 10 euros deposit for equipment and 10 euros per hour to play, bare in mind that you can pick up 2 tennis rackets, 4 tennis balls, 2 table tennis paddles and 4 ping pong balls in town all for under a tenner. They must be making a killing at this complex, which is apparently a low budget holiday complex. With us being there for 2 weeks we seen alot of people coming and going, alot of whim had kids in prams, buggies etc, and they were all being put on the top floor, this was totally out of order and this meant they had to carry kids and prams down very steep narrow stairs, and when they requested another room, they were met by a 70 euro charge for this. The management at the Hotel San Eloy obviously aren't stupid when it comes to making money off of holiday makers. Now I know this is a 2 star complex, and low budget but with the things we seen and experienced we were shocked at the cheek they had to charge the prices they charged, we have stayed in 5* hotels and complexes worldwide that have been cheaper than this place.
On our last 2 nights we decided to sample the food on site, we paid £10 per adult, and £6 per child, we got up to the buffet style restaurant, and were met by what looked like a delicious feast. We really enjoyed our food, the staff were even tucking in and having their dinner too. Always a good sign if you see the staff enjoying it. Although the restaurant closes about 9.30pm, we were shocked to see that we were the only people left and they were still putting out fresh food. We assumed there must have been alot of waste if there was nobody left to eat it. How wrong were we? Because on the second night of eating there we were shocked to see the same food had been recooked, and put back out for us, with a few new things added in, which resulted in all of us fighting over the bathroom for the rest of the night. Not a very good way to have your guests enjoy a holiday.
There were more negatives from this holiday than positives...... The kids loved it, and made some lifetime friends, would I return? Only for the sake of the kids to be honest, but there are 4 star hotels nearer the town centre that cost less than this complex, so I am unsure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
1.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,945 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
514 reviews
2.7 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy

Address: Ctra. Llagostera Km 14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £41 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel San Eloy Hotel Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing