We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
catterick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from San eloy for the 5th time and it didn't let us down, it is 2 star so don't expect too much for the price but perfect for the kids and plenty to do, free bus to town on the hour is great, tossa is a lovely town. San eloy is clean busy and fun if you want luxury peace and quiet don't go, but fun crazy dancing and pleasant people who return year after year is what your after then San eloy is for you. Perfect for kids of all ages.

Stayed August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear DazK
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 5th holdiay with us ... and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Kind regards, Sue, Guest Relations Team, Med Playa hotels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    243
    104
    36
    50
See reviews for
452
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a week at the San Eloy. A whole week of fab entertainment, a clean room andgrounds, friendly staff. Food good and a wide selwction. Snacks were good but could do with a bit more variety. Beautiful surroundings. Wr travelled with a 15 and 11 year old and they both loved it too. I even filled out their loyalty scheme form. Met lots of lovely people from everywhere. The greeting from passport control at airport was superb and friendly. Never before have we received such a friendly greeting. Looking forwad to getting a good deal and returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear kingfamily14
Its great to hear that the San Eloy ticked all the boxes for you and your family. We hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Sue, Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We got home yesterday after 2 weeks AI at the Hotel San Eloy. After reading lots of reviews, we had a pretty good idea what to expect and it very much matched what we anticipated. It is ideal for families with children over 4-5 years old in my opinion.

There are lots of activities available all day long run by the young enthusiastic entertainment team who are themselves not native Spanish speakers in the majority but have a great grasp of several languages, managing to include everyone and ensure they understood the activity.
Evening entertainment is generally mini disco at 8.30pm unless they have something different on for the children. Some of the shows included performances from children/teenagers which they had worked on all afternoon, sometimes over several days.

There is no pressure to join in, but particularly for adult activities the entertainment team make an effort to go all around and invite adults to get involved.

The food is excellent, I preferred the lunches to dinners but that's probably just me. There were a few days when we slept a little late and missed breakfast but the snack bar opened at 10.30am and we could get toasties to start us off quite happily.

We spent 2 weeks there and I can say honestly that the room was cleaned daily, towels changed daily, bedding changed every other day. The entire site was litter free and clean. Staff - well to be blunt they were outstanding. From the bar staff who offered bite cream and ice cubes when my elbow swelled up one evening, to the Lifeguard to took care of my daughter when she slipped and not forgetting all the restaurant staff and the wonderful animation team. Each and every person was helpful, nice and made our holiday a very special one.

This morning we got up and missed it so much we have booked for next year.

Room Tip: We had a suite near the tennis courts which was very handy for everything and we could even watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ruggers25
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the popular San Eloy.
We are pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable holiday with us, and made use of the facilities and services available.
It is always particularly pleasing to read reviews regarding our staff, who we know make a huge impact on the overall enjoyment of our guests.
We very much hope to see you again in 2015!
Kind regards
Sue, Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a week’s holiday at the San Eloy. It was my first visit back for 9 years and it is still just as great as I remember.

Everyone is so friendly. We made so many great friends and met some wonderful people – but that is just the kind of place that it is. If you want a peaceful, quiet and isolated holiday then the San Eloy probably isn’t the place for you. If you however like making new friends and joining in with activities then there are always games taking place and evening entertainment shows start at 8.30p.m.

The rooms are basic but always kept spotlessly clean. New towels and maid service every day.

The All Inclusive food buffet had something for everyone – unless you are a very fussy person.
It is perfect for families with children and there are always games taking place and activities for them to get involved in.

We have booked already for next year and are counting down the days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A great family holiday if you get it at the right price! we went through Skytours and even though had a free child place we still paid at least £600 more than other guests who used on line companies such as travel republic. Therefore i have mixed feelings as for the price we paid (£2250 10 nts AI for family of 4) i expected more.
Just returned from San Eloy with our 6yr old and 11yr old. We had a good time, but the hotel and grounds are tired and worn so on arrival my first impression was "oh dear" rather than "oh wow".....
However it has charm, set in a forest the surrounding background is beautiful and the bus in to Tossa is no aggravation and takes just a few minutes.

Accommodation - is three story terrace apartments. Our apartment was again old, tired but spotlessly clean. No air-conditioning made sleep at night uncomfortable, especially as it can be quite noisy due to other guests sitting outside their apartments drinking until early hours, so to avoid the noise you have to shut windows and doors! there were only a minority of guests like this most were respectful and there is a security guard who does his best to keep noise down, so it is pot luck if like us you suffer this problem. (ear plugs helped!) although AI we had a tiny kitchen which was nice to have a coffee on the balcony before breakfast.
Swimming pools - main one is big and kids can have floats and toys etc, they let you dive in and have fun! smaller pool we never used as it is very small and not much space for beds. Baby pool is tiny and again not much bed space.

All Inclusive - food i thought was very good but then we enjoy trying different foods. Lunch i felt was better than dinner and was an enjoyable break from the sun especially as the dining room is the only air-conditioned area! Drinks were good and bar staff very friendly and attentive.
For kids i have had better AI as the ice creams were limited to two types of small flavoured tubs and no Slushies however they had many flavoured drinks and kids cocktails plus chocolate milkshake. The snack bar serves chips, burgers, toasted sandwiches and hotdogs all day and night and these were great!
I did find on this holiday my kids still wanted money to buy a better ice-cream or sweets and crisps.

Activities and Entertainment - the entertainment team run activities throughout the day split into kids, teens and adults. my 11yr old son was therefore in an in-between age as too old for playing with the kids which might involve singing and dancing activities (to perform in the show later) but not old enough to play in the footie tournament etc with the teens, so he was sometimes fed up! my 6yr old loved joining in, and slightly older teens were having a good time. As adults i would suggest this is the best way to make the most out of this hotel.... YOU MUST JOIN IN! this way you meet other guests and as it is a small hotel you really then get a friendly family feel day and night, having a chat with others and a bit of banter made all the difference, as the evening entertainment revolves a lot around getting guests on the stage it makes a huge difference if you know them/have shared an activity with them. We also found that kids and adults alike began to instigate their own activities inviting other families to join in.
The same goes for the entertainment team who run the activities during the day then perform at night, they work so hard and if you join in even a little bit they get to know you by name and really make you feel at home. The shows are very amateur but once you know these guys you watch it with a tongue in cheek attitude!
It is a small complex and felt very safe for the children to do their own thing, my older one made friends and they even had their meals together! Main area lights turned off at 12pm so only noise after that is other guests.
Tossa de mar is beautiful and we went to the beach a couple of times - try the little cove rather than the main beach as it is small with rock pools, great for snorkelling and has a beach bar.

Trips included Barcelona New Camp and local water parks.

So to conclude despite 3 days of rain we had a good holiday, food good, staff great, activities, and nice location but i must stress i feel this is only because we met other people and joined in!!

Now glad to be home to finally get a decent nights sleep!! Would i go again? if it was cheap!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear funandlaughs

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the popular Aparthotel San Eloy.
We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us, and that the team in the San Eloy, the services provided, food and location met with your expectations.
We sincerely hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on future occasions
Kind regards
Sue, Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Can I preclude this review by stating that myself and my family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) had a really good holiday..... however this is in spite of the accommodation rather than as a result of it. Having read through the reviews before and after the trip, I can only assume the positive ones were written by the staff or by ghost writers...... I can safely say that in 30 years of sun holidays, the accommodation in san eloy ranks in the top three worst I've been in..... I say the top three because I'm certain that some of the holidays I had as a teenager may have been as bad, but I can't recall them

so what was so bad about it??

to make it easier to read, I'll summarise as follows:

The hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere, the bus service to civilisation is great for only €1, but stops at 9pm and the local taxis are extortionate. They are the most expensive I've seen outside of Dublin, €10 for a 2.5km journey!

The rooms are dirty, shabby and old

The maid service is weekly......... yuk.

There is no air conditioning....this above everything else is the most shocking, mainland Spain, 32 degrees, no wind, tiny rooms that are like a furnace

The bedroom was literally 24" x 30" larger than the two single beds pushed together to make a double...no storage, no room even to live out of a suitcase. Far too small.

The kitchen is woefully inadequate

the bathroom was small, very basic, very shabby

The balcony is so narrow a family of 4 needs to sit like they are in a toboggan, or sit partly in the room

The pool is careworn and in need of painting

The grounds are likewise

the reception is inadequate

the wifi is a joke, so slow its like a dial up connection from the 90's, and they have the nerve to charge for it anywhere outside the bar area

the television is a 12" portable, 7 feet off the ground, with very poor selection of channels

the supermarket resembles a local shop that's due to go out of business


So....were there any positives??

well the entertainment crew put a lot of hard work in, the grounds are pretty spacious and there was less clutter and was quite pleasant.

the town, tossa de mar, is beautiful. Quiet, picturesque, upmarket shops (Armani, boss, lacoste, jack & jones etc), with perhaps a few too many Italian restaurants and no Chinese or Indian options as far as we found, beautiful beach and scenery, nice supermarket and good value

all in all, would I ever go back there???????? Not a hope, would I ever stay in a hotel owned by the same group.....even less likely.

On the last day when we were checking out, they charged us €25 to hold the room for another couple of hours. We went on this holiday knowing we were on a budget, and knowing it seemed good value, but comparing to previous holidays that may only cost an extra €100 - €200 more, it was certainly not the value we perceived it to be.

Room Tip: go somewhere else. Seriously....go anywhere else, a squat, a box on the beach, the back of a car, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Peter Jones 1966
We are very sorry to read your review of your recent stay with us at the Aparthotel San Eloy and learn of your disappointment.
At the San Eloy we have been providing holidaymakers with value for money, fun holidays for many years and the Manager and her team are very keen to resolve any issues or disatisfaction our guests experience during their stay and on the spot. We are sorry that it appears that in this case it was not possible to resolve them to your satisfaction or they were not highlighted during your stay.
We can assure you that all of the reviews on Trip Advisor are genuine reviews, it is certainly not our policy to write reviews.
We are pleased to hear that in spite of your disatisfaction with the San Eloy, your overall holiday in the beautiful resort of Tossa de Mar was enjoyable.
Kind regards
Sue, Guest Relations, Med Playa Hotels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Brilliant ! I had an amazing time in Tossa De Mar . There is lots to do and I never got bored . I went with my 2 teenage daughters (14 and 17 ) . We had a great time ! the food was yum the staff were lovely , the beds were comfortable but the best was the scuba dive !

Room Tip: Suites are much better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Declan M
Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to hear that the San Eloy ticked all the boxes for you and your family and hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again!
Kind regards
Sue, Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
1.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy

Property: MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Address: Ctra. Llagostera Km 14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel San Eloy Hotel Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing