We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, shame about the people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed 8 August 2009

very good value for money hotel, surrounded by beautiful catalonian countryside, but just five minutes from Tossa de Mar, a charming family resort with lovely shops and restaurants.
Food very good, drink good(especially the beer-san miguel)very clean throughout.Staff were absolutely lovely and great fun.Rooms spacious and modern.the rest of the hotel is quite shabby chic, but obviously this is reflected in the price.The entertainment varied but was mostly good, led by a very enthusiastic and funny team.
Unfortunately, the downside for us was that some of the other guests were not very desireable, we had our lilo stolen by some nasty french teenagers who were really rude.
We also had a couple of rows with other guests about other things, this has never happened to us before but made us feel uncomfortable.I cant praise the hotel and staff enough, but for this reason I would not return to this hotel.However of you are a bit rough/love strong northern accents/think tattoos are great etc Im sure you will love this place and visit it year after year after year, as many people seem to do-no thanks!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrine40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

We booked the hotel directly ourself and thankfully only paid half the brouchere price compared to Thomson. taking into account that Thomson use the hotel, we was to believe it would be of a good standard. mmmm...!

Staff - Its the first time, we've stayed at a hotel in Spain, where ALL the staff were pleasant, from management to the cleaning staff, always smiling and polite, but not false.

Food - OK, so compared to other hotels, the choice was limited, but the quality was excellent. From fastfood burgers, etc - To Fresh Local Fish Dishes, and high quality meat. If you are a fussy eater you may struggle to eat anything apart from deep fried products.

Drink - San Miguel in Glass, not Plastic Glasses, Excellent range of local spirits, and a must, but not too much is try the Sangria - wow, talk about Moonshine!!! ;)

Rooms - All rooms newly refurbed, would need to ask for extra pillows, no air con, so dependable on when you go wether it would be uncomfortable. Opening the patio door would be a great idea, BUT there is always some sort of noise from 6.30am (people selecting the best sunbeds, till 1.00am with noise from the bar area)

Pool Area & Animation - The Animation Staff are typical in what they do, from 10am doing things with Kids and Adults, to producing their own stage shows. Very Friendly, but struggle to rest around the pool, as once again there is always noise of some sort.

The Scruffyness is general maintenance. Weeds around the pool area, flaking paint on the balconies, water features used as ash trays, bits of litter blowing around, muddy garden areas.

Location - Not really an issue, as the friendly bus driver does a run every hour of the day until 9.30pm, and a nice walk into town is only 25min (short cut through the rear of the hotel near where the bus departs from)

So all in all - expect a 2* Hotel with 5* Service.
Would we go again? No once was ok, but would recommend for a cheap and chearful holiday.

BOOK DIRECT YOURSELVES AND SAVE MONEY - RYANAIR, 25 MIN IN TAXI FROM AIRPORT, AND MEDPLAYA.COM FOR THE HOTEL.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drive4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Customer Services Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2009

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Aparthotel San Eloy.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the San Eloy and that you found the service of our staff, food and accommodation standards to be of a very high standard.

With regards to your comments relating to the maintenance and cleanliness of the area surrounding the pool area. Our maintance team strive to ensure that this area is well maintained at all times and that litter is not left blowing around. Although we provide litter bins for the correct disposal of waste, they are not always used by all of our customers.

We hope that you will consider returning to the San Eloy in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I feel I have to be thorough as possible about this hotel so you can get an idea of our experience.

We travelled with friends - so 8 of us in total.

4 Adults - Aged 26-33 and 4 children - Aged 3, 6, 11 & 14.

On arrival at 11:50pm we were quickly booked in and wrist banded up for an all inclusive drink. The staff were superb - their English was perfect and they were very helpful.

One family in our group had paid extra for a bigger room - Which they regretted - Not only was the room only a little bigger, but this meant they had no balcony, and very little privacy as they were facing on to the main pool.

We however had chosen the cheaper room and we got a balcony - only problem was - we were on the top floor and boy was it hot! - No air con - No Fans, unless you want to hire one...........£21 for the week seemed a little steep so i opted to sleep on the balcony for the best part :-)

I'll give the place it's due - The rooms were fairly well equipped and kept clean every day. Proper dining room table, small kitchen, separate double room, CBBC and BBC1 on the tv, a great ice cold fridge and the beds were probably the best we had slept on in years. Just to think - a ceiling fan was all it took to finish it off!

The pool area looked tired - and although there were plenty of sun beds for everyone (Even though it was fully occupied during our stay) a fair few of them were broken of dirty.

After venturing into the restaurant we soon realised that the food (Albeit fairly random) was actually very nice and parts of the restaurant were Air Conditioned. Only major thing was the layout - it was crammed with table to the point were we found it difficult to seat 4 people around 1 table. Again the staff were excellent - always very polite and worked hard!

One thing i must point out - There were people from ALL OVER THE WORLD staying there - it was 50/50 split between English and French, a few rude Germans, Dutch and Italian. Which made for very interesting evening entertainment as everything was annouced in 5 different languages making it nearly impossible to follow any games being played in the evening.

The entertainment team were, without doubt, the most hard working hotel entertainment I have ever seen. Pretty much ALL of the entertainment was provided by them - That's not to say it was good or in some cases even worth watching but they really tried - That's one huge thing that let the complex down - It's in the sticks making it difficult to go out of an evening and so when the show put on sucks, makes for an early night - in a hot sticky room.

The San Eloy is based in a forest and to my surprise there isn't loads of random insects BUT in the day there are tonnes of wasps! and although they are harmless and won't intentionally sting you - if you sit on one then you get stung! But reception have a wondrous cream that soon sorts it out. Key thing is not to leave drinks by your sun bed then they leave you alone.

Catching a free hourly bus from the hotel - Tossa De Mar is quite picturesque - more so than the neighbouring built up Lloret De Mar, which we all agreed, we would never want to stay at. The Beach looks nice too - I say looks because we discovered after 10 mins of walking on it that your feet really hurt due to the fact that it is very grainy - It's not soft sand at all and it gets worst the closer you get to the sea. The sea is also quite rocky and struggled to carry my 3 year old in and gave up after 10 minutes due to me nearly falling over 10 times.

Cost wise - be savvy - look around - some bars and shops will fleece you - for example £2.70 for a 1.5 litre of pepsi and £1.40 for a small bag of crisps. We got copped on the smaller beach up the far end with walls ices cream. I brought 4 standard cornettos for £12! I felt like eating the wrapper!!

To be fair - there are lots of lovely little shops, great for finding prezzies for folks back at home and they seem to be fairly priced too.

WATERWORLD IS AWESOME!! I know it costs a lot, but it is worth it - We got the free buses (3 in total) and spent from 10am til 6pm just managed to squeeze everything in. Also the San Eloy gave us a packed lunch to go with, so we didn't waste money on the extortionate hot dogs and burgers - I mean £3 for a tray of chips? Give me a break!!

Also - This hotel is 2 Star - Not 3 star as Thomson advertise it! Trust me - you know it's a 2 star when you stay there.

Pros - Staff are lovely, polite and clean - ~The rooms are well equipped and everything worked satisfactory. Free WiFi in the bar!!

Cons - If your not All Inclusive, get your wallet ready for a pasting!! No Air Conditioning or fans - In the middle of no where - 2km walk to Tossa and the nearest shop - Not 3 Star

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank methemissusandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I would recommend this hotel for families with children. I couldn't believe this place was only 2 star. The food was great, the entertainment and staff were great. The only problem I had with this place was it is too far away from the town centre but there is a free bus for all inclusive guests. oh and the rooms get extremely hot during the night and there is no air conditiong.
Tossa is a beautiful place and would definately recommend it. The snorkelling is amazing.

I don't think i would go back to san eloy but everyone of my family said they would. Almost everyone you speak to in the hotel are return visitors so people definately love this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbgman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Arrived around 11.30am and thought I'd walked into a Butlins holiday camp. How wrong could I be? Yes, there was something going on all over the complex at the same time. Around the two pools and additional two childrens pools; tennis courts, table tennis tables, shaded sand pit, football and basket ball pitch, however, there were also quiet areas if you wanted to relax. The planned activities throughout the day for both children and adults/teenagers were second to none and the evening entertainment was extremely professional and most enjoyable. The food was first class and we were spoiled for choice. Found a couple of lovely walks through the pine forest, one of which takes you to Tossa De Mar. However, don't despair if you don't like to walk, the hotel provides a bus every hour which will take you the five minutes drive into Tossa. This, like everything else, is free if staying on an all inclusive basis as we were. The free bar and snack bar was open from 10am to midnight, which is later than other all inclusive hotels we have stayed at.. If you sit outside in front of the bar area for the evening entertainment, look up occasionally and you might see the large horseshoe bat (it's b......y quick) There is a security guard on duty every night throughout the night and we felt very safe and secure. Children are safe to move around the complex freely. We observed some excellent parenting and saw no hint of trouble whatsoever.
NB: Not suitable for wheelchair users or the infirm unless staying on the groumd floor (We believe there is a lift available to access the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorkshireOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We booked our holiday with sun4u, and we were a group of 3 families and booked 3 rooms all inclusive, when we arrived we were asked for 50 euros off each family for a deposit on our key with 10 euros each room for our deposit on our safe key, that in all was 180 euros that the hotel kept for the whole of our 10 days, we were also informed that if we had booked with Thompsons then we would not have had to pay any deposit, i found this very hard to believe, Our room was cleaned only once the whole holiday, our bins were over flowing, and we were told to empty them ourselves, we only had a change of towels twice the whole of the 10 days, that was all of our 3 rooms, our bathroom was dirty by the time the 10 days were up, i have always stayed all inclusive and have never been treated like this as if you book with any agent or thompsons you should all be trated the same, when asked at the reception, they said this was the hotels rules and to book with thompsons next time, i could not believe this as we paid the same as every one else !!!! On a good note Robin and his team from entertainment was fantasic, they put on the best of shows, and we did nothing but laugh, also you could not fault the food, the restaurant staff were really nice, pity about the reception,

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettiecaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Before booking I read all the reviews from others - they must have gone somewhere else! The complex is on a very busy main road in the middle of nowhere but at least there is a bus that takes you to town every hour. The complex is dirty and in need of updating. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful although we found the entertainers were a complete bunch of idiots. The entertainment was more like club 18-30's 20 years ago!
We spent every day at the beach just to get away from the complex!
This hotel deserves it's 2 star rating, definately not any higher.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
1.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#16 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
515 reviews
2.7 mi away
Els Llorers
Els Llorers
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy

Address: Ctra. Llagostera Km 14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £42 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel San Eloy Hotel Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing