We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel...bit noisy..lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tossa Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Mells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel...bit noisy..lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

hotel and staff fab! clean helpful friendly. been here twice now and would recommend coming to tossa de mar. stunning location..stunning scenary..lovely people. walls of hotel are a bit thin but the blue lagoons soon put you to sleep. There us a very good engish bar called mick n julies in old tossa and they show uk sports on sky!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    325
    249
    129
    119
See reviews for
330
409
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Ok no lies no bull all true no exaggerations
Stayed here end Sept 2013 into Oct
Food nine out ten really nice grub great variety
Staff helpful
Room spotless
Pool small but ok
Weather good
Hotel spotless
Drinks great and decent quality
Bar staff friendly
BUT at about half ten all made to go inside from the poolside irrespective of any behaviour
At 11 20 glasses cleared and room emptied everyone sent to bed
Talking outside the bar at 11 30 told go to bed
Talking on balcony, elderly people told go to bed....tv on turn it off bed outside hotel in group older people not youngsters told go to bed.
On the balcony after 12 go to bed you couldn't make it up
No where to go for smoke after 12pm not allowed on balcony pool shut too
Told 300 pound fine smoking which I don't and flight cancelled too
No drinks in your room either so can't chill out there
We are a couple of 60 year old's but like to chill n chat late at night but where do we go ?
To blinking bed !
Evening was awful you have ten minutes then we lock up !oh where can writ sit then ?
You go bed !
Awful unless you love bed or have kids but it's not school hols....never ever again
Maybe it's cos they say this isn't Spain !
Too right it's not

Room Tip: Make sure it's got a balcony ours didn't and was tiny
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank alanhypno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tossa de Mar hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked this hotel last minute for a relaxing week with husband and another couple it was great value, it was in a fab location near to beach and shops, all within a five minutes walk, the hotel was spotlessly clean the cleaning lady never stopped mopping the floors, the rooms were cleaned daily with towels and bedding changed as well, we had a basic room we chose not to pay for a balcony and our room was ideal with a large opening window instead, the food was lovely for what we paid, the staff were friendly and all spoke and said hello, the waiters on the bar were pleasant too, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR IF YOU WANT A REASONABLE PRICE BREAK AWAY GO TO THIS HOTEL if you want an, al-a carte restaurant and boutique hotel pay for it, I reiterate you get what you pay, for a lovely hotel for a reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and thought that it was good value for money. However, following this years holiday I will never return to this establishment ever again!
We booked two double rooms both with balconies. On arrival we were given two rooms next to each other as requested, however, one was the size of a shoebox (112) with a frosted window which only opened two inches directly above the kitchens and the other yes had a balcony (111) but was directly above the delivery and bin collection area. Needless to say, neither of us had any sleep for the full duration. Complained to reception about room 111, and yes they agreed that a mistake had been made and that the manager would be notified accordingly. However, they were fully booked so I couldn't be moved. Two days later at 17:00, I returned and found my door left wide open!!! I complained to reception and then the manager stepped in. He could not have been more apologetic and low and behold he knew nothing of my room situation and said that I would be reallocated the next morning. To cut a long story short, I was only offered the new room the afternoon before I travelled home.
Now to the food... What a drop in standards. Yes, the hotel is budget and I don't expect high standards but what was offered on the three occasions we visited was cold and undercooked. The stench from what other guests nicknamed the dungeon was gag worthy and put you off eating there.
The drinks tasted foisty in the Tossa Beach yet palatable in the Centre. However, we didn't bother with the drinks either.
Yes the hotel is clean but OTT in the reception areas. To the point where a cleaner swept and polished around my feet. Yet when there was heavy rain they were nowhere to be seen.
You may think that this is a negative review but I spoke to many return visitors who like myself use this hotel more as a base, and all said that they would be looking elsewhere next year; like myself. Tossa De Mar is a beautiful place with many bars and restaurants, so I am going to go back to a B&B baisis. I will never be blinded by value for money again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 111 and 112!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spike79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We flew in from Barcelona airport which was over 2.5 hours transfer time, far too long for our 4 night stay, however on arrival with its pretty well placed location it was worth it. I would though strongly advise on the nearer airport. We were met with a friendly efficient check in and our room 309 had views of the beach and castle. Very pretty in the evenings when lit. The room was spacious and extremely clean with 2 double beds for just me and my finance. They were comfty and we had a restful quiet nights sleep. The room itself has a security box tv and fridge all have to be paid for with the tv remote a refundable deposit. The showers was brilliant, great pressure and hot water always. It had hair dryer, free lol and good lighting with mirror in the bathroom with magnified side and full length in the room. Shower gel sachets were supplied daily with full towel change. Floors were laminate and we did not experience noise from other rooms. There is a lift to all areas. The restaurant for us was the most disappointing with it placed in the basement, no music or views and the house manager on guard for those entering and leaving, also times are extremely STRICT!! Food is well presented functional but lacks variety and imagination. The snack bar provides toasties, only ham and cheese hot dogs burgers and fries in between meal times. Alcohol is served in plastic glasses yuk, and no cocktails available. Pool area lacks atmosphere, without lounger cushions and very little sun shines on it. Feels a bit hemmed in. Entertainment was something we didn't partake in but it did have singers, karaoke and parrot show. Bar and bar room strictly closes at 11.30, after that its bed or you have to hit the town, great as hotel is quiet after that. Shops, restaurants beaches, with great coves, market on Thursdays just minutes away as is the castle and water sports. Overall a great holiday fully inclusive for £300 each, however would eat out and go just B and B.

Room Tip: 309 had beach and castle views and was on the 3 rd floor one from the far end
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Tossa de mar was 2.45 hours from Barcelona airport far too long having had a flight of less than that. We had only come for 4 nights so a long way, however the resort was well worth it. The hotel is extremely clean with pleasant staff and on the door step for the beach shops and restaurants. We stayed fully inclusive and for us this was the most disappointing bit. The food was well presented but lacked variety and times are strict with a doorman ' the manager' on watch when entering and leaving. The restaurant is in the basement, so lacks any views nor does it have music, it is purely a functional place to eat only. The snack bar outside restaurant hours only cooks toasties ham/cheese, no variety hotdogs burgers and fries. No cocktails just standard local drinks served in awful plastic glasses. We ate out all of the evenings by one and had some lovely meals, mainly set menus to keep costs down but in beautiful settings, overlooking the beach, castle and church in the square. We had a warm friendly welcome with fab service from all. Our room no. 309 was large, had a balcony with a view of the beach and castle which I think we were lucky in having as most must face the roads or other buildings, or the small pool area, that never really got any sun on it, and loungers without cushions, all a little disappointing.We had 2 double beds which were comfy and each evening the hotel was quiet so got much needed rest. The room had a safe, tv and fridge. the safe had to be paid for, a remote for the tv was required by a deposit ( refunded) as was the fridge, all disappointing as it was 4 stars!! And wifi was extra too. Bar and bar area shuts at 11.30 SHARP!!!!! We didn't really see any entertainment that went on but they had karaoke, singers parrot shows etc. most evenings with quiz and bingo. There is a castle which is pretty and lots of coves and clean beaches to enjoy. The market 2 mins away is on a Thursday. Overall the hotel is great, well placed and very clean pretty beaches but would recommend bed and breakfast only and flying in from another airport. We paid£300 fully inc each inc transfer so good value for money.

Room Tip: 309 definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is, it is clean. I read the reviews after I booked, massive mistake, and if I can stop one person from going here it will be a fantastic achievement. If you look like you are enjoying yourself at this place it means you have had too much to drink and you will get no more for the rest of the day, even though you have paid for it. The smell as you go down the stairs to the school canteen makes you gag to the point of wanting to vomit. The food is disgusting, deserts were just a coloured mess, under/over cooked meats mostly cold (but they have got a microwave). Snacks, if open, were ham and cheese toasties, cold dogs, sausage burgers and under cooked chips. Want crisps, pay for them, 1.30 euro. All spirits were very much paint stripper, wine terrible.The bar staff are very rude and the management do not care. Complain and you are out. Anyone that has got anything good to say about this Hotel should be locked up in it for six months. Tossa de mar is a lovely town with plenty of places to eat, I would go there again, but not all inclusive. If this review stops at least one person from going to this hell hole of a so called hotel then I will be a very happy man. All the best Eddie.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eddie100857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#15 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel TossaMar
Hotel TossaMar
#28 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
#12 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#9 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Property: Tossa Beach Hotel
Address: Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tossa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tossa Beach
Tossa Beach De Mar
Tossa Beach Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing