We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best holiday!”
Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tossa Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best holiday!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just spent the week in Tossa which would be our 2nd time visiting. We previously stayed in the hotel before so knew what to expect!

We didn't have the most relaxing week unfortunately as a day into our stay there was an issue with the water pipes outside the hotel which meant the road had to be dug up. This is obviously no fault to the hotel but all we heard all day and evening for a whole week was drilling and banging and more drilling....the water was on and off in the hotel....so you were lucky if the toilet flushed!!

The hotel itself was dead! Only a few people staying so we had all the sun beds we could have wanted. 5 days into our holiday the hotel told us they were shutting up the one side of the hotel as they have two hotels that share the same facilities. We were in the Tossa Centre and they told us we had to move hotel rooms to the other side of the road (Tossa beach) as they only had 3 rooms occupied and there was no point keeping us in there.... I'm not being funny but we were leaving 2 days later and we had no choice but to pack all our stuff up and move across the road to the other hotel!! As the hotel was sooo quiet I would assume that there were lots of rooms to put us in but they had everybody on the same floor, right above the bar and disco area which meant that for our last 2 days we had to listen to the dj playing extremely loud music until 11.30pm to a pretty much empty bar as well as having some uncontrolled children running up and down the corridor and banging doors.

Food...well...we ate in the restaurant twice in the whole week. And that was at lunch time. Yes you could find something to eat but it was the same everyday. You also have so many choices of places to eat in the town that you'll be missing out if you stay in all the time!

Rooms were cleaned everyday but the maids just walk in and don't give you chance to answer the door. My husband was half dressed in the bathroom when the maid came rushing in to clean it!

Overall i defiantly won't stay in that hotel again, as shame as we did really enjoy it last time we stayed there 2 years ago but I would probably do self catering as the all inclusive food wasn't great and the restaurants in the town are amazing!!! Loooovvveeee Tossa itself but not this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    328
    250
    130
    121
See reviews for
333
413
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

tossa beach hotel - very very clean hotel, staff nice and frendly, girls Ada and Regina the animators perfect all the time smiling children were love them and adults as well, spending so much time to prepare games for kids, photo frames etc. amazing girls you can see they are doing this coz they are like this job. Just two things very very bad FOOD - I think the chef wasn't try food which one he served- all dishes not salted, pasta every time overcooked, soup like a water, second think is old guy with gitare and piano I could not to listen him and not just me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klaudia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Loved loved loved it........ amazing staff cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in food is as most all inclusive always something . Location is fantastic 2 min walk to beach and centre really lovely resort was amazed that we didn't get hassled by shops bars or restaurants.
Yes they run a tight ship its not a party resort . I will definitely be returning . Well done tossa and thank you for a great holiday

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Venetia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
643 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel stands in a side turning where no coaches are allowed, so its drag your case for a couple of hundred yards, so if you are travelling by coach be aware. There are two hotels in the same group, the Tossa de Mar Centre and the Tossa Beach both hotels, eat in the beach, but have separate bars.

On arrival at the hotel reception was waiting for us and gave us a very nice greeting, our check in was quick and we were informed of the amenities and meal times. We were on the ground floor so it was not far from our room, on arrival it was spotlessly clean and furnished to what you would expect for the price, there was plenty of wardrobe space and a safe which we paid 30 euros for but had 10 back on return of the key, they also included the TV control. It had a disabled bathroom which we had requested the only problem was the shower is at wheelchair height but otherwise an excellent hard shower; they do not think there are walking disabled as well. Towels were changed daily and sheets once in the week.

We had a free bar for 3 hours an evening with beer, wine and local spirits, there was evening entertainment which was not to everybody’s liking. On the Thursday evening there was a problem which was not called for between a French group and German group. We had no problems in sitting in groups and the bar staff were very fast and efficient with service and clearing tables, the only problem was the plastic glass which were small for beer. This area can only be described as being laid out and looking like a works canteen.

The restaurant was downstairs, small if the hotel was small if both hotels had been full but adequate for the number of guests staying this time of year. The food was very repetitive in the evenings, chicken, pork, fish and one night beef ribs which were all bone. There was a good salad bar if you like being a rabbit. The soups were poor and care should be taken by anyone with a fish allergy as they contain fish and not indicated as having fish content and even when it should be something else still has a vegetable sign on it. The breakfasts are best with a good hot and cold selection. On our last day our driver requested an early breakfast but the hotel management would only provide at 0700 not before, which put us an hour behind for our next overnight stop.

Both hotels had small pools and limited sun beds; there were some tables and chairs. The beach was just down the road in fact a very good thing as even out of season the pool area was crowded. There were plenty of Bars and Restaurants close by as well as several supermarkets.

The staff were all very polite and helped all they could; overall the hotel was good and would only give it a two star rating. Basically you get what you pay for. Tossa is a very pretty place but we would not go back again, the resort has a lot of interest but you can see it in a day.

Room Tip: You need to get a room away from the bar area, as it is noisy until 2330.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really nice hotel, Very clean staff were excellent and good fun animation girls Ada & Regina were good for a laugh, The food was a bit repetative as always in all inclusive hotels but a slight over use of pork nearly every meal but never the less always something to eat fish etc.
Now for the but if you are going to use a to b transfers then DON'T it took us 3 hours to get from girona airport to our hotel usually 45mins they had no idea where they were going and no idea where the hotels were even the hotel tried to help people even they had loads of trouble with them
so do not use them they were an hour late picking us up for the return flight aswell. So hotel good, A to B transfers very bad you have been warned.

Room Tip: always seem to be quiet staff seen to this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Location is fantastic only a little stroll to the beach.
The food is average for all inclusive, can always find something you like.
The all inclusive drinks are great, generous and not watered down.
The biggest problem with this hotel is that, before breakfast and after the all inclusive finishes, there is no where to get a hot drink. They have a vending machine for soft drinks.
I think they could up their rating greatly if they offered a kettle rental system.

Room Tip: The none balcony rooms have frosted windows so you can,t see out and they have a wet room which gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alidoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Just come back from Tossa and stayed at this hotel. Staff very friendly couldn't do enough for you really. Rooms cleaned every day. Food good for All incl. although we do like to go out and try different restaurants which we did as we had such a good deal! The only thing I was concerned about was our pickup transfer! We looked on the board 2 days in a row before we were leaving to see pickup time which was 2.55am. As you can imagine we were up at 2 am went to bus stop. It didn't turn up when my husband phoned them they said they let the hotel know the day before that it going to be an hour later. We were in the freezing cold for quite a time. They hadn't put the changed time on their news board. No one was at reception apart from security so we had no idea of this change! If someone had been at reception they might of let us know. Also it would have been nice if they'd just put a note through our door. That's my rant over but it wasn't a nice way to end our short break. So a nice hotel, friendly staff, OK food, clean. Just a bit more customer contact in situations like ours would be nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#12 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel TossaMar
Hotel TossaMar
#30 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Property: Tossa Beach Hotel
Address: Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tossa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tossa Beach
Tossa Beach De Mar
Tossa Beach Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing