We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
3
10
8
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
10
8
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015

My wife and I went to this place in July 2015 only to be met by a very rude man on reception. The accomodation was poor as was the site which was grubby and totally lacked atmosphere. The cafe bar was never open, neither was the camp shop and this was in July, the swimming pool had seen better days all in all this was an awful place and I recommend you go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjfkdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We woke up on the first morning and pulled back the curtains and the stress of our arrival was swept away by the fantastic setting.

Turismar bungalow village is in a great location on a woodland hillside, rich in wildlife and wonderfully peaceful, about a mile from the lively tourist town of Tossa de Mar, with its beautiful old town and beaches. This was its saving grace, as our arrival had been less than perfect.

Having requested a late check in, we arrived as expected around midnight. The reception was closed but there was a sign in the window which indicated the numbers of our bungalows. There was no telephone number provided in case of any problem and no sign of security.
We headed off up the steep hill with our cases and found the first bungalow (number 52) with ease. It was our second bungalow which proved more challenging to locate (no 58) as there appeared to be only 56 bungalows.

Eventually, as we were just about to give up, (and it really did take some time with me on crutches) we explored the three remaining steep sandy paths at the top of the site, which were completely unlit and appeared to just go off into the forest, and found two further bungalows. A simple sign indicating ‘57/58 this way’ would have saved a lot of trouble when we were tired from the journey.

The site itself is wonderful, if you like peace and quiet or are a wildlife enthusiast, as we saw many interesting birds and bugs, including nightingales and mammoth wasps. The downside is that you will share your room with ants. The view in all directions is of woodland mountains and there are some great walks and cycle routes to explore into the Massis de les Cadiretes.
We travelled as a party of nine (4 adults and 5 children). The site is both pet and family friendly, and facilities include a large swimming pool, volleyball net, mini badminton, table tennis, swings and slides. The pool was never really busy, even in August, but still there was a shortage of sun beds.

The self-catering bungalows are nice and clean, but basic with no kettle, oven or toaster in the one I stayed in. Sheets are provided, but you have to make your own bed on arrival. Towels, tea towel, washing up liquid and toilet roll are not provided.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues request a room on the lower level, for peace and quiet request a room away from reception.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We wanted to explore the Massis de les Cadiretes, yet still be able to visit the beach, so this was ideally placed. Tossa de mar was roughly a miles walk away, which for 2 20-somethings wasn't too bad at all. The location meant wonderfully quiet mornings, days on the beach, and a short walk home after a few drinks in the evening. Everything we wanted really. It would be very easy to get to and from the site via taxis or rented cars/scooters/bikes, with it just off the main road into Tossa de mar.

The site itself was beautiful and quiet. We had the pool to ourselves most days and really enjoyed being away from the bustle of central Tossa de mar. The scenery was gorgeous, with wooded mountains as far as the eye could see. It was a great place to retreat to after a day on the busy beach.

Being interested in wildlife, the site held some really gems for us, including golden oriole and hoopoes (give them a Google if your the slighest bit interested in wildlife). The added bonus of a red squirrel seen from our porch was too amazing for words. We were so happy we decided to stay here rather than in town.

The bungalow was nice, clean and pleasant. Only slight fault was the kitchenette didn't include an oven or toaster, but this wasn't a major issue (cereal and pasta/rice fixed that). Some might call the bungalows basic (lacking a tv and interent), but if all you're after is peace, quiet and somewhere to relax and sleep, it is a really good option. Internet is available around the reception area via wi-fi though if you do need to get online.

The staff were really friendly, spoke good english and accomadated us arriving late (due to delays) and leaving really early in the morning to catch our return flight. We really cant speak highly enough of them.

The short walk into Tossa de mar is best done by following the river through Park sa de Riera. The shade of the trees is very welcome, as is the diversity of butterflies and birdsong (including nightingales). The walks into Massis de les Cadiretes are also recommended.

We would highly recommend staying here and if it wasn't for our love of exploring new places, we would certainly return time and again.

Room Tip: Try to ask for somewhere further from reception. It might be a longer walk, but it'll be quieter and give better views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews