We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canaima

Hotel Canaima
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tossa de Mar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Canaima
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Never stayed here but would always stop for coffee on the way back to our hotel.
Lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. Very pleasent people working there, always remember you, and nothing was ever too much trouble. If the rest of the hotel was as freindly as that then would have no hesitation staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

It was only for a one night stop thankfully. There was no balcony, air con, lift, and no electric on the morning we stayed. Supposedly electric repairs. Room very clean and comfy bed though. It would have suited if we had a decent breakfast. Take your own tea bags! Only cereal, cakes, bread and cheese.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leckco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tossa de Mar hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

This hotel is well situated in Tossa de Mar, no more than a five minute walk to the beach and most of Tossa's sites. The woman who runs the hotel is very friendly and was happy to answer questions about the town, the beaches, and nearby attractions. Breakfast, which is included, was simple but adequate, but it's unlikely that you'd find a lot of good breakfast options in Tossa anyway, unless you were staying at a more expensive hotel.

We stayed in room 315, which, along with room 319, has a nice terrace with a table, chairs and retractable awning. 319 has the better view, but only slightly. Having the terrace was a nice feature; it allowed us more space to spread out and relax in the evening. The room itself is small, but clean, and maid service did a good job of preparing the room each day. The bathroom was nice, clean, and modern, but bring your own soap and shampoo since the hotel provides only basic soap. The double bed was actually two single/twin beds pushed together, which were comfortable enough, although the sheets and comforter are not the greatest. Didn't matter though.

Let's face it: in Tossa de Mar, you'll spend all day at the beach, come back to the room to shower and relax, and then go out for the night. I wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel for people with kids -- although for the price you could reserve two rooms to have more space -- but for singles or young couples, this hotel is a perfect value. My wife and I were perfectly happy having this as our home base for our two nights in Tossa de Mar. There's simply no reason to spend a lot of money in Tossa, since it seemed that many of the slightly more expensive hotels didn't offer much more.

For value, the friendly staff, and location, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bklynite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2006

This Hotel is officialy 1 star but I have stayed in 3 star Hotels that are not as good as this one. It is family run the lady owner is very helpful. a real bargain at 50 Euros with a good breakfast. Ask for room 319 on the top floor (no lift) with the best views.Only one complaint but this applies to all of Spain why do dustmen empty the bins at 5 in the morning?
I would recomend this Hotel and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chelseawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2005

A small hotel(18 beds) only 500 yards from the beach and 100 from the centre. Operated by the resident Catalan owner. Immaculatelt clean bedrooms and public rooms, small terrace bar. All rooms have on suite and balcony and an absolute bargain at 45Euros for a double, bed and continental breaky) (Sept 2005) Our 7th visit. No tour operators, normally only couples. A real gem!

Helpful?
15 Thank Tourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Hotel Mare Nostrum
#32 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#22 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Vila de Tossa
URH Vila de Tossa
#25 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Parkhotel
URH Hotel Parkhotel
#35 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#10 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaima

Property: Hotel Canaima
Address: Avinguda La Palma 24 | Apartado de Correos 121, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Canaima 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Canaima Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Canaima Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing