We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Marina Tossa(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diana(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Victoria(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Delfin(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$59
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GHT Hotel Neptuno(Tossa de Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel GHT Costa Brava(Tossa de Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tossa Center Hotel(Tossa de Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,011)
Filter reviews
2,011 results
Traveller rating
1,044
695
201
53
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,044
695
201
53
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barpool areacapri barold townhalf boardpirate shipthomson repsdaytime activitieslovely hotelplenty of choiceplenty of sunbedstea and coffee making facilitiesevening entertainmentthe bussky sportsanimation teamlarge hotel
Filter
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 2,011 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just returned today after spending 10 excellent days at the Golden Bahia. I stated that the food was bland in the review I left after last years visit, but recommended the hotel. Well, my wife and I decided to give the Golden Bahia a second chance because we really like the town of Tossa de Mar. To give a gauge on how much the food improved over our last stay, I've put on 7lbs in weight during the 10 days...Some dishes were slightly colder than we would've liked, but it was usually food that had been out for a while, fresh replenishment tended to be warm enough.
WARNING!! Stay away from the sweet/pudding area, some of the cakes were gorgeous, but not good to the waistline.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

May I recommend the tour to Girona, even though it rained throughout our tour we really enjoyed the old town.

As mentioned in previous reviews by other travellers the hotel can be a little noisy, but I found this was more to do with the Spanish holiday makers rather than the children.
Lots of Spanish and French holiday makers stayed during our stay, which says a lot for the hotels popularity.

Room Tip: The roadside can be a little noisy, but the poolside is far quiter providing you get decent neighbours.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sultanauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This stay was at the end of a coach trip taking in Barcelona, Andorra and Carcassone.

When we arrived, reception was very quick and friendly with a passport reader speeding things up. Our room was fine, but the view was poor. However the double glazing worked well and kept out any street noise.

The buffet was quite varied, but the occasional meat dish was under-cooked, so keep an eye out.

The pool area was well set out, but the poor weather and lack of pool heating meant that few were swimming.

Some of our fellow travellers were not overly impressed with the "amateurish" evening entertainment.

The local tour train gets you around this lovely town for little money and it stops outside the hotel.

I would go again, but I would check and confirm my room position before booking.

Overall, a well run family hotel which represents good value for the price charged.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjohnvmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Positive points nice hotel, very clean, big rooms. Loved the town of Tossa a scenic beautiful seaside resort. Negative points not a 4 star hotel. This hotel is orientated towards families - when you see loads of booster chairs just in the restaurant area you realise there a lot of kids. When we arrived on a Saturday the noise hit us - it was like walking into a primary school playing ground. There was an influx of people at weekends - noisy and loud. Couples were put in rooms next to families with young children. Some of the hot food was cold most nights. I felt out of place dressing for the evening meal - dress code was a joke. Excursions are getting very pricey. I agree with rita c opinions. I will be going back to Tossa BUT NOT to the Bahai.

Room Tip: Rooms are best over the pool area
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandraW187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Travelled with Thomson 12th to 22nd May 2012 - flew out on the tattiest First Choice plane I have seen - returned on a lovely flight - 737-800 with only 69 passengers - found Gerona airport a dream. Arrived at the Golden Bahia and was impressed by the reception area & the smooth check in to our room - it was so efficient (ask for a safe key if you want one - 2 Euros a day & a 6 Euro deposit that you get back when you leave). Really nice big room - a single & a king size bed just for 2 of us - good sized bathroom, very clean, plenty of towels. Liked the bottle of water, the fridge & the tea & coffee etc. Good size balcony, not much of a view close by but a lovely view to the hills in the distance. Previous comments about thin walls are true but that never kept me awake even the clip, clopping lady above who was packing in high heels by the sound of it - or was it Dobbin my husband asked !!. Found the reception staff to be very nice - a couple of them appear a little surly but I think that is because they are not so fluent in English - I don't speak Spanish so can't complain about that. Simon the Irish guy on reception is very pleasant. Don't worry if you are travelling without a tour rep because the hotel provides Ferran to help you out he is lovely and will provide you with bus time tables & good ideas. We found the food very good - you can't go wrong with breakfast everything is on offer - from cereals, fruit (fresh, tinned & dried) & make your own toast, good selection of breads & spreads, cheese, ham, salad, croissants, buns, biscuits, boil your own eggs, freshly fried eggs & a whole host of bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomatos, beans, pancakes .......fill your plates & be full until lunch time - don't forget the cava & fruit juices, tea, coffee & hot chocolate to wash it down. Evening you could not go wrong - and the food wasn't cheap either - Salmon, Hake, Monk Fish, Sword fish, Moules Mariniere, Roast Beef, Pork, Chicken, Veal, Curries, Steak in Red Wine, Meat & Potato Pie,fresh pasta & pasta dishes good choice of potatos & veg, great salad bar, good sweets, mousses, jellies, gateauxs, fruit, ice cream, sorbets, flambed peaches, fresh fruit kebabs & chocolate fountains................ delicious...... yes the dining is help yourself buffet & gets busy sometimes but chill - you are on holiday and the food won't run out !! The hotel caters for French, Spanish, German, Italians, Russians & English so sometimes I didn't recognise some foods but you either pass them by or try them & surprise yourself because you like them !! (I never got brave enough to try the brown jelly at breakfast) Entertainment - the kids were catered for & Bingo, then the main entertainment came on at 10 Oclock if that is your thing it seemed popular.
Wished the piano bar opened earlier (9.30) as the Lobby Bar - the seats get full (not much seating in reception so some sat & read papers or surfed on there ipads (not a drink in site) - I don't do high stools at the bar. I agree the service was a tad slow & without visible cause. cocktails were good & it says 8Euros.50 each but we had two Kir Royals for 10Euros50 - perhaps it was Cocktail of the day - so ask if you fancy one. The pool areas look good, I believe the indoor pool is very warm & well chlorinated. Tossa seemed quiet at night the shops shut at 7 or 8 O'clock and the locals were in hiding. Best coffee in the evening is at the Cap Dor by the castle - good sized cups and good cognac - with a cracking view of the sea & when it is dark venture out & get your castle by night photos. I have seen a recent comment that the hotel is on a housing estate - not quite but it is amongst the locals - that had the benefit that the local supermarket was cheap - Dia - 1.5L of water 21 cents. Dia is out of the hotel, across the crossing down the street to the next junction- cross again & look to your left - you wil also find a pharmacy, bike hire, hairdressers etc close to it. Comments about the time it takes to walk into town- I would say 10 mins - 15 to the castle - lots of routes to take - out of the hotel & turn right head for the garage & turn left past Santander the next junction turn right & you are on the main shopping street. You will see another Supermarket acrossthe road & a to die for bread shop. You can wander around & find lots of routes - take in the Roman ruins & the churches and go up to the castle for the views - you can get the train up & back if you are bad on your pins for 4 Euros each. - the view is lovely & there is a cafe at the top & a restaurant part way. Tossa has a nice clean blue flag beach and a good sea front with places to sit.
We had a good time, you can get the bus to Lloret or Blanes (bus station is just across the road behind the garage) Bus to Barcelona at 8.45 or 9.45 returns at 3,6 or 8 ish takes 11/2hrs - if you go to Blanes for the train that takes 21/2 hours but is a pretty coastal route i am told - ENJOY

Room Tip: In general the rooms don't have great views but they are a good size & very clean.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Andrews272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Despite some tough reviews about this hotel it is not all bad. We are a middle aged couple and although we did find the hotel a bit too much orientated towards families there are some redeeming features. The transfer from Girona airport is short and scenic. The hotel is located on the edge of town, but only a short walk to the centre of Tossa and a handy distance to the bus station. The hotel public areas and our room were very clean and well presented. We found the hotel staff to be polite and competent. Meals are all buffet style, so it is inevitable things will seem a bit chaotic, especially at busier times or around the weekends. Even so, we found the food was generally good with plenty of variety, although sometimes it could have been a bit hotter. The pool area is pleasant and there was no problem getting a sunbed or parosol. As for the adult only spa area, it would be a better if all adults were offered a complimentary spa session instead of having to pay 6 euros per hour. The evening entertainment was not really our scene as we preferred to walk into town after dinner for a couple of drinks. On return we enjoyed a night cap in the hotel late lounge, a pleasantly child free zone.
Tossa itself is a pretty place with plenty of little bars and shops. The old town is well worth a look and offers some great views across the bay.
A trip to Girona is highly recommended. Lloret is close by, but best avoided unless you like high rise and tackyiness galore.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews