We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Bahia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Golden Bahia”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to this hotel. We first stayed in 2010 and decided to go back. It is a nice hotel if you have children as it is very family friendly but not so friendly if you are an older person who was looking for peace and guiet. The first time we were there was in the August and there were a lot of children, which is why we went end June (not school holiday time). We were a little dissapointed with the food, the variety and quantity were the same as last time but alas the quality wasn't, although people seemed to be filling their plates, however, it wasn't really for us. We had gone with the idea of probably having nice lunches out (tapas, fish, paellas etc) then probably just having soup and salad in the evening but the soups weren't to our tastes ie cream of garlic, cream of spinach, cream of asparagus and so on. On the occassions we did have the soup it was fine but the cold salad buffet, hot buffet, grill and carvery were not up to the standard we would expect from a 4* hotel. There was a section for children's meals. The breakfasts were as good as last time with plenty cold & hot buffet,freshly cooked eggs, omelettes & pancakes as well as breads, fruit, cereals and this time you could also boil your own egg for breakfast. On this ocassion we found the walk down to the old town a bit tedious but that was because both my husband and myself have walking problems (that is not the fault of the hotel), We would catch the road train outside the hotel down to the front 4 Euros each or 3.50 in the case of pensioners, which wasn't bad, however, quite often it didn't come back between 1.30 and 5.00 and on the first week didn't leave the hotel after 7.45pm, however, it was a boon instead of walking in the heat. There was a lot of entertainment through the day and evening but once again the children were allowed to stay in the entertainment room after their entertainment had finished so spoiled it for the 'grown ups'. I would recommend this hotel for families with children as the pools were really children friendly. The staff once again were very friendly and we couldn't fault them, not so the Thomson rep Simon, beware, he wasn't aware that if you tried to reserve a sunbed before 10am by leaving the towels on they were then taken off. He told us that there was no need as there were plenty of beds, however, when we went to get ours (not reserve them) we found Simon and Juan Carlo from reception taking off the towels where people had tried to reserve the beds - Beware. It is a good idea and should be practiced in more hotels. We weren't impressed with Simon (the Thomson rep) as he gave the impression that he couldn't be bothered, however, Kelly was very friendly and ready for a chat. The rooms were very clean as was the rest of the hotel and the service in the bars was very good. This hotel is definitely an excellent hotel for families but I'm not so sure for the older person.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendoline030645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    636
    178
    51
    16
See reviews for
807
708
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I am one who likes to read all the reviews before booking somewhere and I was a little worried about some of the negative comments about this hotel. If you are like me, then listen to what I have to say.... This hotel is for families with young AND older children and couples - there is SO much to entertain and if you were like us with a toddler the pools are great as there are two baby pools and the main pools are shallow sloping. The comments about Uthe pools being too cold is true to an extent - in the morning but after a little sun they are fine and by 5pm simply lovely! The room service was brilliant (Maria) was so lovely and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would advise asking for a pool view and 2nd floor if you can get it. The comments about higher floors getting sun for longer is true but only for one half of the hotel. The second floor has the best balconies as they are longer and have a section which pretrudes from under the floor above. Unlike any other floor they do get the sun for most of the day.
The dining room can get a little busy at peak times but do not be put off by this, it is a buffet and to be expected. There are no long queues and the food is refreshed regularly. The dining room staff are great and could not have been more 'human' if they tried! They were lovely with us and our wee girl.
The daytime activities are good fun and I recommend the aqua gym and any of the water polo/basket etc as they are a great way to meet other people. The entertainment staff are great and very friendly and welcoming.
For anyone wanting to use the adult only and the nudist solarium note: you need to ask for a card at reception and get a new one each day. The views of Tossa bay and the mountains are fantastic!!
We were fortunate enough to be here at the time of the Euro Champonship final and the Wimbledon final and both were shown on the pool side bar big TVs.
Remember to bring some sort of trousers as shorts are not allowed at dinnertime.
There is a nice pool which is situated below ground indoor in the event of a rainy day. We only had one and the aqua gym was held in there. It is also heated.
The Wifi works in reception, the lounge area around reception, the piano bar, the main function bar, part of the pool area and some of the rooms (2nd floor above piano bar)
The hotel is 2 mins walk to the bus station and 5 mins to Dia supermarket. We got directed to a bigger supermarket about 12 mins walk which is also good. It is about 15-20 mins (max) gentle walk into the old town and beach. There were some comments about a hill to walk up from the beach / old town to the hotel - this is not something to concern yourself with as it is a gentle slope.
The beach is not sand and is small pebbles so bring sandles or flip flops. We bought swim shoes for our 2 year old daughter which were ideal.
The location of the hotel is great and don't listen to the comments about being in a residential area - it is lovely and 2 mins from the bus station and the tourist info.
If you are travelling with little children Marineland is for you as it has Dolphins, Penguins, Parrots, sea lions etc. and it has toddlers and above areas with slides and chutes etc. there are also some great adult rides. We travelled with 2 adults and a toddler so we couldn't appreciate a full on water park. This was perfect. There was a free bus service which is air conditioned and takes about 50 mins there and 40 mins back.
In Tossa there are loads of restaurants and the one we went to, which was situated right below the outer wall of the old town, was Braseria Pini Pizzeria. I will upload a photo. Good luck and enjoy your holiday - we plan to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Wonderful hotel. Spotless spacious room. Food to suit all tastes. Evening entertainment could be a bit more professional but there is a bar with a pianist which is very nice.

Lovely swimming pool and also daytime enrertainment. Staff polite and friendly.

The only point I would take note of there is a nudist section on the roof but it is not as private as you hope that it would be if you want to use this facility as we saw members of staff often going to peep at people using this section. So be aware of this if you are after privacy.

Great location lots of places of interest to visit. Barcelona. Montserrat. Girona and also boat trips are available

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maturecouplecroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just got back from this excellent hotel in Tossa De Mar. The hotel was extremely clean and looked very luxurious. The pool and surrounding area was clean and kept maintained to a high level. Plenty of sun beds due to the staff refusing to let anyone put towels on to reserve them, This was fair to all. The towels were taken away if the beds were left unoccupied. But as long as you were in the vicinity for example going to get food or drinks from the bar or in the pool this was fine. There is an adult pool which we didn't know about as it is not near the main pool area. It is placed high up with sun beds near the crazy golf. until we went up around the back of the hotel which was high up we never saw it.
The wifi is excellent as there is an area you sit in to receive the internet. BUT you can pick this up I found if you sit out in the pool area or chairs around the bar outside.
The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly, however, the restaurant and bar staff were extremely miserable and unfriendly. The food was very good with plenty of choices and variety.
The bedrooms were excellent with a maid service everyday providing fresh bedding and tea and coffee facilities. But the kettle and cups were in the drawer under the tv so make sure you check this out as we found them when we queried where they were.
The entertainment was a bit disappointing each night. It started at 10pm after the bingo. Different show each night but quite boring. Hoola hoops, dancing poodles and acrobats.
There is plenty to do in the resort like the coastal walk which is found just before the secluded beach that runs along the side of the castle. But well worth looking for. Not suitable for children or prams as it is too steep and rocky.
There is a train that stops outside the hotel every 45 minutes and goes around the resort for 4 euros for an adult but worth it as it is about a 30 minute tour of other hotels, the beach and residential houses on the mountain side. There is a train that goes up the castle for the same price and brings you down again.
I recommend the strawberries and cream as they were very nice and good value for money at 3euros.95 and this was on the front of the beach under a flowered arched walkway.
Be warned about the Fondo Cristal cave trip and I wish someone had told me about this trip earlier so I didn't waste my money. It cost 14 euros and takes you along the coastline to 3 caves and 2 beaches. The leaflet makes you believe it is going into and out of a few well lit caves to see inside. The first cave was about 6 foot and the boat went in and reversed out. The second cave was slightly larger and the birds flew out and the boat reversed. The third cave was bigger than the other two, but we thought we would see fish as it was a glass bottomed boat and all we saw was the driver throw in a piece of bread and shine a torch on about 5 fish chomping on it. Total waste of money and better off to do something else.
The castle is very nice with a lighthouse at the top and the views are spectacular.
Out of the hotel and down the road is a supermarket called Dia which was very cheap and worth going in to buy Milka at 1.95 for a very large bar. Lovely old town and had a great time here.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel was quiet as the hotel isn't in a built up area. Rooms with a pool view wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAH6122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

An amazing holiday, we shall be returning next year without a doubt. Such a beautiful area not what I expected, perfect. People who moan at the little things should get a life. All of the staff at the hotel were exceptional, reception, bar staff, entertainers and the reps Simon and Kelly. Great food, an all round great week.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hubby and I first went to the Golden Bahia 6 months after it first opened and have been every year since. Working in a school, I - as a Finance Officer - have to have school holidays. Our visits have been at Easter, Spring Bank, Summer, October, and Christmas, though not all in one year and we have never, ever have had a bad experience. Every visit has been fabulous: the whole staff friendly and helpful from the reception to catering to the cleaning staffthe meals a great variety - during our regular 4 week summer visit we could have a different meal choice four our half-board package if we wanted to. We do visit during 2 holiday periods per year. During the summer we stay for 4 week; being ex touring caravanners believe me we are very selective in the type of accommodation we would be prepared to put up with for 4 weekws. DO NOT be put off by bad reviews you read. You can't please everyone.

Room Tip: Always go for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Goldthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achill Island, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I've been going to Tossa for many years. One of the attractions is the clean, affordable, family-run hotels that hark to a by-gone era. I remember watching this hotel being built and thinking it would be the end of the place!

I've just returned from Tossa de Mar today after staying in the Golden Bahia for seven nights - picking up a great deal on Thomsons via TripAdvisor. The hotel is affordable, clean, has friendly staff, and loads of amenities. We went half-board and, whilst the evening buffet is repetitious (they all are), the food is of a good quality and we used it on a couple of the nights we were there. Also, drinks around the hotel are priced very well indeed - no rip-offs here.

If you are visiting Tossa with a family or someone who likes a bit more to do than the normal hotels offer, then the Golden Bahia is a good option.

I would certainly return, though I do need to say that my preference is still for the smaller, family-run, hotels I've visited on more occasions than I care to remember.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#16 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bahia de Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bahia de Tossa

Property: Golden Bahia de Tossa
Address: Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Bahia de Tossa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Bahia de Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bahia De Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Golden Bahia De Tossa Mar
Golden Bahia Tossa Hotel
Golden Bahia De Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing