We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from a week here. Very quick check in, good food, polite staff and our room had a pool view. This is the first hotel we have stayed in for a long time were you did not have to reserve your sunbed with your towels, as the hotel staff would remove them. As long as you were at the pool by about 9.30 you had a great choice of beds. It was only a 5 minute walk to the old town, full of lovely little shops and bars..if you are there on a Thursday do visit Mick and Julie's bar and do the quiz, we had a great night with lots of lovely people! Lastly, we did the Barcelona trip with Thomson's, this is a very interesting visit with many things packed into the day. Barcelona is a wonderful city and if you get Frank as your guide you are in for a treat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,978 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from a 6 night stay in this hotel. We arrived by bus from Barcelona, where we'd had an enjoyable 5 night stay. We didn't find luxury - we hadn't expected to - but we did get value for money in a clean hotel where the staff worked hard to give everyone a pleasant holiday experience. Most of them are friendly, although there are some exceptions.

There are 2 problems. Firstly the facilities aren't extensive enough for such a large hotel. Queues form for the dining room, although it wasn't a problem for us, since we had breakfast early and dinner late. The swimming pools aren't big enough for so many people and so get very busy. Those who like to swim seriously have to swim early in the day or else grab their chance for a less busy spell. Otherwise it will be a case of splashing around and dodging ball games etc. I made sure I had a long swim early, and then just adapted to the pool space available thereafter. The other irritating thing is that they have petty rules and charge for many things that are free of charge in most other 4 star hotels.

But there are many positive things. Drinks prices are reasonable, both at the poolside and in the bars and dining room. The food is of good quality and there's lots of choice, both at breakfast and dinner. Dinner goes on until 10.00pm, which makes a nice change from most other hotels. The dining room is pleasant and as well as a large indoor area, has a conservatory-type bit and a small outside area, all non-smoking. The whole hotel is very clean.

Not all the staff are helpful, and I got some shoddy treatment from one of the animation team when I asked him nicely to move his massive speakers away from my poolside lounger as the music was blasting into my ears. He refused, and simply said "Every day we have activity here" ie he did this every day and wasn't going to change anything for me. He could have easily moved it just a little to where there were no loungers, but was arrogant and uninterested.

Casting aside these small irritations, I would recommend this hotel, and what you lose in finesse you gain in location, because the town is beautiful and the beach is stunning. A world away from the horror story type resorts, this is a real town and even has some Spanish visitors. A walk up to the castle is rewarded with views to rival any other.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stchristopher053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is 2nd time we have stayed here and would definitely go back again. Hotel is lovely. Good choice of food every night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only 5 minute walk to centre if town which is lovely. Nice shops and good restaurants. Very Spanish with no "English cafe" type places advertising cheap breakfasts etc. lovely beach too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisonifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for ten nights end of June into July. Hotel in a residential area but only a short walk from the very pretty town of Tossa de Mar. On arrival quick and efficient booking in at reception - there were quite a few of new arrivals. We we allocated a room on the third floor which overlooked the pool area. The room was a standard hotel room, but had plenty of storage. It was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was good - when on a low setting it didn't keep you up all night. The rooms was cleaned daily and over the ten days, we had our bed linen changed at least three times. Great brewing facility - tea and coffee in the cupboard under the TV. For all we overlooked the pool it was quite quiet , even though the World Cup was on. The evening entertainment did not make it noisey after dark.
We stayed on an all inclusive basis - great value! All spirits were branded and only a small surcharge for the more expensive spirits. A daily cocktail included.
Food - excellent choice at breakfast and evening meals. We cannot comment on lunches as we didn't eat at lunch. The all inclusive snack bar (poolside) did offer pizza, burger, toasties but to be quite honest they didn't look too appealing. Ice cream was available at the pool bar - lovely! Not your usual 'cheap' option.
Hotel staff - reception staff were friendly and very efficient when booking in and the hotel had anticipated the large number of new arrivals and there were six staff to book in - great.
Restaurant and bar staff - great!! Always smiling and courteous and provided good service.
The pools were clean, but could be a little cool in the mornings. The terraces were spacious and as other reviewers state, no reserving sun beds - well done Golden Bahia!! No matter what time we went poolside/sun terraces there were always numerous sunbeds still available. Lots of umbrellas as the pool area doesn't offer much shade after mid morning. Two life guards were on duty every day - even when it rained!!!
For all it is described as a large hotel , there are three lifts and we never waited for more than two/three minutes for one to arrive.
The ability to hire pool towels -great . Saves space in your case and reduces the washing :) €10 deposit and €1 to change. I cannot comment on the Spa facility as we didn't use it.
Would definitely stay again should we visit this part of Spain again. Short flight to Gerona airport, thought we were landing in the UK (I didn't realize that Spain could be 'so' green) If your after good duty free - small airport :(
Look out for Joel in the bar - Spain's answer to Ace Ventura :)

Room Tip: Poolside views are nice, if your on the other side of the Hotel you overlook a residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 113Tiamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the fifth consecutive year my family and I have stayed at this hotel which speaks for itself.
.
The hotel is very clean and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The entertainment is usual hotel type entertainment which I think children enjoy more than adults (with the exception of the flamenco show which I always enjoy and stay to watch) but we tend to go around town in the evenings as it is so beautiful and they are so many lovely bars.

The food is well presented and varied and the pool area is kept very clean.

There is a kids club which children seem to enjoy but my children prefer to stay with mum and dad.

The bus station is only 5 minutes away where you can visit Lloret de Mar and from there catch other buses to visit other places such as Gerona and Blanes. You can also get a bus direct to Barcelona from Tossa bus station.

The previous comments about the Thomson reps not mentioning the wonderful fireworks display (which is usually on 1st July each year) saddens me, as I actually mentioned this to the reps and asked them to let other Thomson guests know. Personally I always do a bit of internet research myself to find out about local festivals etc. as I hate to miss out!

On the subject of Thomson. I have travelled with them for the past 5 years and this year they offered full board for an extra 1p per person per night after I had already booked half board. I asked if I could have this added on to my booking and they flatly refused. If I wanted full board adding on it would cost me £270 but if it was a new booking it would have cost me 40 pence! There is no recognition of customer loyalty and it is a shame this is the only package company that does this hotel in Britain as their customer service is terrible.

The staff at the hotel are much more accommodating and helpful with any issues especially Ferran on guest services.

All in all we had another lovely stay and hope to be back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JulieGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This rather large hotel, in easy walking distance of the beach and close to the bus station, was well kept, extremely clean and good choice of food. The staff ensured no body left towels on the sun beds around the pool early in the morning and any found were quickly removed.
Our bedroom, on the fourth floor and facing the road was very quiet apart from one family who were unable to respect those sleeping when returning to rooms late at night. Although the room did not have an attractive view, we were pleased to be in a quiet part of the hotel.

Entertainment was put on by the hotel, but we didn't take advantage of this preferring to be out and about.

We travelled with Thomson and were less than impressed with their representatives who put little effort into promoting events around the town. We enjoyed free concerts in the town put on by visiting school orchestras, wind bands and choirs. We were sad to miss a spectacular firework display that we could just about see from our balcony but would love to have seen from a closer proximity. There is also a weekly market held on a Thursday. Again we found this out by chance.

We don't like large hotels and the poolside life was not to our taste so this influences my rating of this hotel. However, if you like big, it may be one to try.

The old town is definitely a place to spend some time.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and to the front are quieter than those facing the pool and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

First day, I was a bit worried as it was packed but throughout the holiday it was managed well except at breakfast.
Highlights. Great kids club. My 6 year old loved the activities and the girls that run it are fun and kind. The teenage club looked good as well.
The food is of a good quality considering the number of guests. Something for everyone and mainly fresh. The inside feels like a canteen so always ask to sit outside. We went full board although all Inc was offered. AL did look good with quality drinks, ice creams etc but wouldn't have been worth it for us.

Rooms are not the prettiest but comfy and great size bathroom. You get an empty fridge so you can stock up on bits and drinks for the children.

You can order a picnic for the next day if you want a beach day which was basic but fresh and handy.

The pool is full of kids having fun and very clean. The no towels on beds to reserve them is strictly enforced and there always beds available.

Negative points.
The reception staff are rude which is a shame given the rest of the staff are so lovely.

Hotel parking is a ripoff. We wanted to book for 3 days but were told we had to pay for the whole stay or nothing. We were told by a silly aggressive manager that we could have 3 days at the end but not at the beginning which was as useful as his attitude. It was mainly empty so clearly not a space issue.

The beach is 10 mins walk but is shingle and steep with quite strong currents. Fine with teenagers but for young children it was hard work. If you have a car go up to sant pol for the day which has amazing beaches and restaurants.

The entertainment is 'interesting' our 6 year old thought it was great. Alcohol helps.

You would have to be insane to go here in the summer without children. It is 100% meant for families. We saw quite a few couples looking like they were in shock.

1 week was enough for us but it was relaxing and great fun.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank natashaspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Mar Menuda
Golden Mar Menuda
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
521 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#8 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bahia de Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bahia de Tossa

Address: Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £78 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Bahia de Tossa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Bahia de Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bahia De Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Golden Bahia De Tossa Mar
Golden Bahia Tossa Hotel
Golden Bahia De Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing