We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We enjoyed a great family stay at the Golden Bahia. A very clean hotel, we were allocated our room on arrival despite being on an early arriving flight at peak season. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and hard-working and the policy of not allowing sun bed reservations was most welcome. We thought the quality and variety of food in the restaurant was excellent and, given that there were no sittings, all meals were taken in a unrushed environment. Points to improve include the wifi, which should surely be available in all rooms these days, and the quality of the tea! Good quality tea bags and boiling water are surely a cheap investment with so many Brits staying there! Still, overall a great hotel, well located near the heart of a great resort!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Charona3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

just back from golden bahia after 3 year break ,still a really good family hotel, very kid friendly except it has no children`s menus in either pool bar or pool restaurant and resort as a whole had none as well. Tossa town still a lovely unspoilt place with lots of spanish character, loads of good restaurants and a few bars as well. Food in hotel very good, ample choice for everyone. We were on half board and swapped evening meal for lunch and ate out in casolara by the castle entrance, lovely Meal and the only children`s menu we could find.
Pool very very busy but good fun for the kids and sunbeds still policed till 10am pity all hotels do not us e this policy. Entertainment was good for everyone with drinks reasonably priced. Could do with a couple more table tennis tables round pool as very hard to get a game at times. The games room could do with a facelift and more games in there. very poor coach with thompson no air con and sickly journey late arriving so rush at airport to get through.
Would definitaley return with or without childre`n

Room Tip: Better to ask pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alandpat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Me and my family have just returned from ten days in this hotel and could not fault it!! There was ten of us ranging from ages 15-50 and none of us have a complaint! The food was amazing so much to choose from, lots of variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner! The staff and restaurant changed to make an evening atmosphere for dinner. The all inclusive drinks included all spirits the majority of which were brand names plus wine and beer and a different cocktail each night! The hotel was spotless, rooms were cleaned to a very high standard every day and the staff were amazing nothing was too much for them! It's a family hotel so there will be children there especially in the school holidays but it never seemed too crowded and we always found sun beds (for ten of us!) we enjoyed the 'piano bar' in the evenings which is just for the older children and adults! We would return in a heartbeat!!!!

Room Tip: Request a pool view on booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed as a family of 3 between 12th and 19th August 2014.

The check in was extremely smooth and we accessed our room immediately on arrival.
The room was spacious and extremely clean. The Bathroom had both a bath with over head shower and a walk in cubicle with a fabulous power shower.

The hotel is fabulous, the staff work very long hours and maintain both a warmth and professionalism.

Bente from the Animation Team made a real impression on all of us and our little boy loved her.
He made lots of friends with children who spoke both French and Spanish and it was lovely to see children communicate through play regardless of the language barriers. Leo from the UK was his best friend and loom band creations were endless.

The pools are excellent, there's lots to do during the day with activities, mini golf, table tennis among others involving the animation team. The evening entertainment was hit and miss, and there appear to be many cut backs where some quality is concerned in comparison to our Golden Hotel experience in 2013.

Our only real issue was the food which saddens us.
After spending our holidays in a Golden Hotel (La Pineda, Salou 3 star) last year we had high expectations for the quality of food in the Bahia 4 star.
The standard was below average for us.
Breaded chicken escallops left over from previous days were chopped into cold pasta dishes, left over sausages from breakfast were chopped into cold pasta dishes, chicken nuggets were served in silver canisters by the grill station for the evening meal to adults, the fresh cooked grilled meats were fatty and barely edible on some occasions.
This was mentioned to both Thomson and Bahia Customer Relations who were quite dismissive and suggested it was a matter of taste.
I disagree that taste was a factor as we are relatively easy to please, we just expected better for 4 star.

I agree with the previous reviewer. If we returned we would stay B & B and eat elsewhere because the hotel has much to offer and the staff we met were a pleasure.

This hotel was extremely busy and having paid £2295 for 1 week 2 adults 1 child I feel the hotel should concentrate on maintaining quality over all aspects to ensure guests continue to return.

Tossa is a sort walk from the hotel and a lovely little town with some lovely bars and restaurants, the walk to the castle provides some beautiful views.
The beach is not sand so aqua shoes may be more comfortable for those with sensitive feet.

There is a bus station extremely close to the hotel. 11 euros return for the 3 of us to visit Llorett.
A cab will cost 20 euros one way.

Thomson charge 73 Euros for an adult for the trip to Nou Camp and fountains, this can be found in Tossa near the beach for 49 Euros for an adult through an independent operator.

Room Tip: We were in room 360 which overlooked a small pool where daily activities took place and the mini Gol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scr4bbleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very good activities for families especially the new teenager club. Mini Golf, Tennis, Badminton, Table tennis, Water Polo, Water Basketball etc. MY 14 yr old Son Loved It!!!

Food was:- Loads of choice BUT very average quality.
Restaurant was like a busy canteen.

Room was clean but average. Had to pay extra to use the room safe!!

Not really a 4 star.

Short walk to a beautiful old town, castle and shops.

I would recommend Bed and Breakfast basis and take an evening meal in the old town.

BUT VERY VERY GOOD ACTIVITIES for the children and Teens. Starts at 10.30 am until 4.30 pm with different free activity each hour. Diplomas and medals presented to the winners!!!! - ALL GREAT FUN.

Apart from the activities, which were excellent; everything else was average. I expected more but my son had a great time, so not a bad return on my money.

Good Family Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jon0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

At hotel with party of Male Voice Choir members and partners/wives. Excellent accommodation. Great location, friendly staff and rooms very clean. Food very good and plenty of choice. Well catered for as a group and a good reception on the night we entertained the guests

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 335Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first family holiday away from the uk in 6 years. We are a family of three and our child is 10.
You just could not ask for more, if you have a family and the child/children are aged between 6-14 this is the place to be, everything you can think of has been taken care of by the Hotel and its staff, and if you have the slightest problem the hotel teams are so happy to help that you don't feel a fool for asking.
there is enough space around the hotel that you don't feel as if your on top of other guests and yet your able to chat and make friends if you want to.
The Hotel is far enough away from the small town center but still close enough to walk everywhere within Tossa De Mar, the beach front has plenty of shops and restaurants to go to and all are friendly and you don't have to over spend to have a great meal out .
We had a GREAT time and cant wait to go back xxx

Room Tip: we had the second floor and it was perfect the lifts are a little small and slow so you have to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emmy351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Mar Menuda
Golden Mar Menuda
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bahia de Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bahia de Tossa

Address: Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £79 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Bahia de Tossa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Bahia de Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bahia De Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Golden Bahia De Tossa Mar
Golden Bahia Tossa Hotel
Golden Bahia De Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing