We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This lovely quiet hotel is so underated. At first sight you may think oops! but its lovely boutique style rooms are easily comparible with Premier Inn in the UK with the added extra of a fabulously maintained swimming pool. The hotel and rooms are maticulously clean and all the staff are so helpful and friendly. Special mention to Marianne van Laar (what a darling). From the well laid out continental style breakfast with lots of fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals, ground coffeee juices etc. right down to the quality swiss toiletries that are of the same calibre of Bodyshop produce, I could ot fault it. How many 1 star hotels replensih every single day your personal refridgerator with chilled fizzy can drinks and bottled spring water free of charge. Wow! The location of this hotel is tops. Everything is so close. The owners of this hotel are continuously investing and improving this hotel and we take my hats off to them. The bar prices are reasonable and the pool are offers plenty of spce. If there is anything negative to mention it would be the sunbeds are not comfortable and the outlook may not be that spectacular but hey; amongst everything else offered this is a fabulous place to stay. A big thank you to the owners and all the staff. We shall return. Many thanks Gareth + Paul - Wales

Room Tip: Go for the suprior rooms to guarantee a balcony and pool facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeJay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    97
    35
    5
    6
See reviews for
66
132
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Great holiday with my daughter, fab hotel, friendly people. Central location, with loads to do. Mini bar in room, water and fizzy drink put in fridge every morning, fresh towels very clean and tidy.
Brilliant hotel, superior room perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just got back from the windsor hotel tossa de mar after a weeks stay, what a great little hotel for the money. The hotel from the outside looks a bit run down but then so do all the other hotels in tossa, but when you get inside it's a different story the hotel is spotlessly clean the rooms are modern and well furnished,stay in the superior rooms they have balconys over looking the pool.We did see the standard rooms their fine very clean with everything you need but pay the bit extra for superior you won't be dissapointed.The breakfasts are fine no cooked breakfast but every thing else you could want from yogurts to cheese and ham bread rolls you won't go hungry.The staff are great nothing to much trouble for them.The location of the hotel is central for everything.I just don't understand how this hotel is a one star i've stayed in four star hotel rooms not as nice as these.I hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: superior rooms have balconies, standard dont!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingrid p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is lovely, and the staff are very friendly. Although only breakfast is served, everything they do is done very well. The breakfasts are gorgeous, with cereal, milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese, ham/salami, bread, rolls, toast and even marmalade! Everything is spotlessly clean and very fresh. The pool is lovely and serviced evry day by a man who comes in a van. Easy access to the beach and the rest of the town on foot, but the shuttle bus from the airport could not get through the narrow streets and left us at the bus station - about a ten minute walk away. We had a great holiday, and enjoyed the privacy of our balcony and getting the pool almost to ourselves sometimes.

Room Tip: We booked early and got a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Rooms on the other side of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here from 23 Sept to 27th , and we were luckily upgraded to a superior room with air con & balconey . The rooms were modern, spotless and large enough for two , with balcony which got the sun till late. As previously mentioned , the basic rooms may have been a "basic" but this one - 208 - was lovely. Fresh towels each day .Breakfast was cold meats, pastries, fruit etc but there was plenty of it. Hotel very central to town, 5 mins from beaches, shops etc. Staff very helpful & spoke good English. 1st time in Tossa but would def return & to this hotel I expect , as the area is lovely and unspoilt, very Spanish - only a couple of large hotels visable from the beach & plenty of Tapas bars & many small shops to browse. The castle area is lovely to explore & handy for bus station to go into lloret or barca.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helb368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergen,norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Just about to leave here and can safely say that we have had a great time...location is quiet and easy access to everything, beach, bus station, supermarkets, old town, restaurants,bars etc etc.....Not sure about regular rooms, but "superior" have balconies over pool area and air con, on suite and big enough for a long stay...Only fault I can think of is that the breakfast has no hot food,I.e. eggs and bacon or sausage etc...but plenty of fruit and cold meats n cheese, pastries etc..Staff are very nice and basically a great all round place to stay!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wroey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is only a one star hotel, so we didn't expect much, but the rooms were clean and the location is great. We stayed in a balcony room that overlooked the pool and had the sun all day. The rear rooms without a balcony overlook a wall. Value for money.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sucgr_epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#14 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Tossa
Hotel Marina Tossa
#13 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#4 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Property: Hotel Windsor
Address: Carrer Nou 28, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Windsor 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing