We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for 1 Star Hotel”
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great location, clean room, very helpful staff, good pool

Highlight has to be the breakfast, made even more pleasurable by the service offered by the waiting staff, especially Olivia !!!!

Miss staying here at your peril :) this was our 3rd stay in Tossa and hotel far out shone the rest

Sue and David

Room Tip: Balcony pool view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I booked the hotel last minute we love Tossa de Mar and had been planning an over night stay for a long time. I up graded the room and arrived expecting a superior room with balcony and pool view the room although clean had no balcony and a dingey view of the car park (which is a added cost of 12 € per night. The hotel receptionist was rude and most in helpful. The location of the hotel is Ok. The pool was clean and of a decent size however it is in a built up residential area so the pool area is over looked. The area around the pool had weeds and broken paving this lack of maintainance was consistent throughout the hotel. The breakfast provided was very good and the buffet was constantly replenished. In order to compare this hotel with others in the resort we viewed two Hostels offering sea views or attractive street views with a balcony. I feel the one star rating is justified only because of the pool. My tip would be not to be fooled by the skillful photography provided by the Hotel. The resort has numerous hostels and hotels of the same rating and at a more competitive rate. I would not recommend this hotel to any of our friend's. We enjoyed a lovely stay in Tossa de mar despite this disappointing Hotel.

Room Tip: Not possible as they have very few balcony rooms but despite the lack of availabilty they continue t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a fantastic hotel! I doubt it will stay 1 star for long - seemed like it should be 3 star.
I stayed here in August with my two boys (9 and 12). The pool was cleaned every morning and was never very busy and had the added benefit of a poolside bar for drinks and ice creams, and a shady seating area for when the sun gets too much. The breakfast spread was awesome with lots of fresh fruit, cheeses, meats and pastries which were constantly topped up right until the end of service at 11am (we were nearly always the last in there so I know this!).
The room was clean and the beds comfortable with good quality smooth sheets. The in room fridge is very useful and was kindly topped up with free water and pop daily. It was cleaned perfectly and made up every day and the cleaners were very friendly, as were all of the staff. The location is great as it is not noisy, but nice and near to the beach (5mins walk) and shops. There is a sports bar just around the corner, which was good for me as the kids were happy looking at the football on the tv when it was on.
We stayed in a room overlooking the pool with a nice big balcony (good for smokers and for drying towels as well as keeping an eye on the kids from above!). The air-conditioning worked well and given the time of year we had it on all the time in the room. I guess the only negative is that the walls aren't particularly thick (I woke up and could hear someone snoring in the room next door), but it wasn't really a problem as the place was generally quiet. I am a fussy sleeper and I was fine, and also very pleased the windows had very effective blackout curtains, so we were able to sleep in late.
We had a great experience at Hotel Windsor, and definitely hope to return there.

Room Tip: We had top floor room overlooking pool, which was nice and quiet. Room size small to medium, but go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is good value for your money. Rooms are spacious, clean, and location is great. Many rooms don't come with AC and sleeping with the windows open is a problem as it is very noisy. So you will need to compromise between the heat and the noise level - either way, don't count on a restful sleep while you are there as the noise levels only dissipate at around 2AM. So if you plan on staying out late, it is a great bet. Otherwise, shop around for a place with AC.

If you plan on going, make sure you ask or pay more for a room with air conditioning as it is definitely worth the extra money. And you also need to reserve a parking spot if you plan on driving.

Room Tip: ask for AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here with my family for a week's holiday and it was excellent - very good price; friendly' great location near to the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel has a nice pool and good breakfast. It is super clean.

Room Tip: Ask for one with air conditioning and overlooking the courtyard and pool area (the pool doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiutzwilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel was a real pleasure. the staff was very friendly and nice. the rooms overlooking the pool (superior) were excellent, clean and nice looking with a small terrace to drink coffee.

The breakfast was really good in my opinion. many types of bread, cheese and cold meats, fresh cut fruit, cereals and a machine for coffee that actually used fresh ground beans.

The location is good, close to the beach and sights but also quite close to the bus station were it's easy to find free parking (slightly of season, may be different in June-August)

Room Tip: You've read it before - choose a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just came back from a lovely holiday in Tossa .We stayed at the hotel for a week and were positively surprised! Hotel is a one star which means there is no poncy fruit machines and silly entertainment that will only take your money anyway.The rooms have free air con (unlike some higher star hotels), are cleaned every day and have fridge restocked with free drinks on the daily basis. The staff are very friendly and pleasant. We had an early flight so had to check out in the middle of the night and was offered hot drinks before we went. At breakfast plenty to eat from cereal to fruits and pastry's. Overall we had a great holiday and really enjoyed the hotel.

Room Tip: We chose the superior room as was recommend by previous comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Tossa
Hotel Marina Tossa
#18 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Address: Carrer Nou 28, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £48 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Windsor 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing