We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY NICE , GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“VERY NICE , GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The appartments are on a hill so if you dont like trudging up and down these arn't for you, we didnt really mind, the view is excellent( some app's do have furn trees blocking this a little), we stopped in 102, nice little appartment good size, bed was excellent!,the staff were really nice, we would deffinatly go back again. we went 29th sep to 5th oct, and would advise mozzy spay/ repalent as we both got bitten quite a lot, beautiful area , can be quite costly if you dont shop around for places to eat,i was quite looking forward to catalan food but alas the resturants we did eat in were not that good,never got to go to 6,9 as this is supposed to be really good, perhaps next time.The small beach by the castle is great and if you like snorkling a wonderful little place, nice little bar/ snack area and beer at 3e a pint was a blessing as every where else seemed to be "nailing our hats on" for a pint of beer..if you are after an english breakfast for under 5e there is the sherwood or robing hood cafe(sorry forgot the correct name) on the high street very good value, and nice pleasent people, mick & julies on the other hand(a british sports bar in the old town) well what can i say 8e each and no tea or coffee with breakfast seems a bit steep, a smile would of been nice too...we found some lovely little tapas bars hidden away around the castle , as i have said a very beautiful place just do your homework on good places to eat & drink before you go.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tips54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    169
    56
    28
    16
See reviews for
173
128
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

The hotel is situated high on the hill and its quite a trek up to it. The one good thing about it being on a hill is the views over the town. The reception was very helpful they told us what we could do around the town and what was open at this time of year which... was not a lot to be honest .

The room we had was a studio apartment , which was basically a bathroom , small basic kitchen and a lounge/ bedroom ( FOLD OUT SOFA BED )
The kitchen was nice , the only problem I found was that the surface space was very limited and you could only cook a very limited amount of food as they have no oven or toaster ( we are now experts at making fried bread )
The bathroom was a decent size and was very clean its only fall back was the smell coming from the shower drain, we had block it when ever we were not using it. The water would change temperature when ever someone turned a tap on .
The sofa bed was very uncomfortable as when two people are on it they roll to the middle ( So its advised not to have a fight with your partner before you go to bed )
The night we got there we could saw one or two ants around the place got up the next morning to see quite a few more . Reception told us the whole town had this problem as its surrounded by hills . A can of bug spray sorted it out .

The Town is lovely, but as its only march nothing was really open yet . It was difficult to find something to do the whole time and you soon grow bored of wondering round a ghost town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dapanda_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of Maeva Residence Villa Romana. We are pleased that you liked the location with its views of Tossa de Mar and that our reception staff were helpful during your stay. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the size of your accommodation. Our website and brochure both outline room dimensions, sizes, furnishings and equipment available. They also list the additional costs for "bolt on" extras such as towels, cleaning kits, parking etc. We do regret that the cleanliness of the bathroom was not up to our usual high standards. We are committed to improving our standard of accommodation whenever we can, therefore your feedback is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed in a studio apartment here - it was good value for money - however, the sofa bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have slept on for a long time - and really no good at all for my 6 foot plus husband. The pillows were very lumpy and the three small blankets were not adequate for this time of year. It was noisy - mostly with the scraping of furniture on the floors and the walls are thin.

The studio was fairly spacious, the bathroom was above average with good power shower. The kitchenette had basic equipment.

It was lovely and clean, with a nice little terrace overlooking the pool area and lovely views of the castle. The location is very good - near the bus station and a short walk to the beachfront and castle.

The service was helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay here again (just not in the studio apartment).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyCofthemanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We are pleased you found the apartments good value for money, the staff friendly and the rooms clean and tidy. We are sorry if you were disappointed with the furnishings in your apartment. We have been updating sections of this resort and unfortunately some rooms are in better conditions than others. In the instance that a customer is not happy with the bedding or room they are allocated, we insist they enquire for replacements or to be re-housed. In regards to the noise level, we do have a "no noise after 10pm" policy at our residences but regret that disturbances can still be caused by noise. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our residence and provide your feedback, all of your comments have been taken on board and passed on to our management team who strive to improve our facilities every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

just come back from a 3 night stay here.was a lovely place to stay and so peaceful.all different nationallitys staying there and all very friendly.stayed here with my 15 year old daughter and even she loved it.was upgraded from a studio to an apartment on arrival so thats a bonus,the rooms have all you need for a self catering holiday.the view from our room was lovely too and over looked the roman ruins near the apartments.tossa de mar is a lovely place and,like how its not all english here.i would recommend this place to family and friends.will defo look to come again sometime soon i hope.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Outstanding hotel. Staff couldn' couldn't have been more cooperative. Christain was truley there for his guests. Rooms were big with seperate bedroom. Clean,modern and overall a great value for the money it cost. Only drawback was parking. The free parking was very limited but it only cost 5 euros per day if you used their private parking lot on premise. Short walk into town center maybe 10-15 minutes. The walk back up the hill to the hotel can be a little challenging if your not used to it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iindianadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We just returned from Tossa de Mar where we have stayed for 3 nights. We have been blown away by the residence: on the heights of the town still very easy acces from the centre, the beaches, the bus station and all amendities. The view from the terrace with the swimming pool is fab, at night as well as during the day: we can see the sea and the old town. The residence is quiet and the staff is particularly friendly and helpful. The apartments are modern and bright with large french windows. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and we enjoyed the outdoor terrace right on the swimming pool with the great views, the clean and modern kitchen and bathroom and especially the breathtaking sunrises. It is difficult to find anything negative to say about this residence, we would all have loved to stay longer...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiphany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERUSALEM , ISRAEL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Last Year My Wife and myself stayed at hotel adagio in Rome(italy) .
We made the reservation through the central of pierre et vacances .
As We enjoyed very much our holydays in this resort in rome and from the services of pierre et vacances We decided this year to reserve a flat of 2 rooms in tossa de mar
( costa brava ) in Villa romana which belongs to Pierre et Vacances ( maeva) .
As it was our first time in costa brava We enjoyed very much from our staying in villa romana for these reasons :
1) The staff which manages the Villa is very special , professional and warm ( especially the manager )
2) The Villa which includes 3 buildings is in a very quiet neighbourhood which is centrally placed not far from the centre , the old city and the beaches .
3) The flat we received had 2 balconnies with an exceptionnal view of the shore , castle and the phare .
4) The flat was modern , clean and confortable although not a 4 stars flat but a high quality flat .
N.B. : The bed was a little bit small for a couple and hard .

The residence has a quality touch and is quite different from the populistic holiday residences in costa brava .

In short for the second time we enjoyed to stay with pierre et vacances , this year in costa brava

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILAN2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
0.2 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#14 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
22.8 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
3.9 mi away
Rosamar & Spa
Rosamar & Spa
#11 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana
Address: Calle Villa Romana, 11, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain (Formerly Résidence Maeva Villa Romana)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hillside above Tossa De Mar, the Villa Romana enjoys a panoramic view of the bay, the walls and the towers of the old 14th-century castle. This residence owes its name to the remains of an old Roman villa situated a few metres away. All the apartments have air conditioning. Some have views of the Mediterranean. The small swimming pool (unheated) and sun terrace are great places to enjoy the panoramic view. The beach and the historic centre of Tossa de Mar are located about 600 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Villa Romana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing