We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy nand convenient”
Review of SM Hotels Turissa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SM Hotels Turissa
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Entirely adequate with a reasonable breakfast (no different the sort that is typical in Spain). The room was spotless and despite it overlooking the tourist information office and bus station there was no noise problem. Wi-fi is available at a cost (1 euro for an hour). Very close to the main shops and restaurants (5 minutes to the beach). This visit was booked for me for a business trip but I'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin-Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Located right next to the Tourist Office and Bus Station; both make this a good base for arriving in Tossa de Mar. Beside the hotel is the Roman remains of Tossa de Mar. About five minutes walk and you are into the main streets with cafes, restaurants, shops etc.

The hotel has clean bedrooms, functional but quite comfortable [some rooms have balconies], decent modern bathrooms. There is a small outside area with small swimming pool and loungers, a breakfast room - breakfast was OK with a reasonable range of food items - although whereas they used to give you a voucher to collect a really nice coffee from the bar which is part of the hotel they now have installed a coffee machine and orange juice machine. What a pity!

However, the staff were very pleasant, it was at most a ten minute walk to the beach, and was despite being near to the bus station a quiet and good base in Tossa de Mar. I would use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We made a day trip of our visit to Tossa de Mar 15 years after our honeymoon -- this time with the kids. (We rented an apartment in Barcelona). Most of the hotels are closed for the season. Wait, make that ALL of the hotels except Turissa are closed for the season. This hotel is on the main drag through town, which is about a 7 block walk to the beach. We stayed in two spartan, but super-clean en-suite rooms that reminded me of dorm rooms. I was not crazy about the fact we could not get adjoining rooms. Kids each had a twin bed. My husband and I shared a full size bed with the worst mattress ever created. I do not exaggerate when I say that the springs audibly pinged with each breath. I had a lot of difficulty sleeping, but on the upside everyone else slept fine. We felt safe and that it was a value and our only choice. The staff was friendly and it served its purpose. They also served a decent breakfast with lots of choices.

A must-do for the Christmas season is the Christmas pageant/living nativity at the Castle.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The price was right, the location fine (right next to the bus station), the reviews on Tripadvisor favorable. However, if you have any sensitivities to artificial perfume, air fresheners, or cleaning chemicals, beware! Our room smelled like air freshener when we arrived, so we opened the window wide and turned on the bathroom fan. My husband removed a packet of liquid air freshener mounted on the bathroom wall, so we thought we would be okay. We left for a few hours and returned, and it seemed okay--but once we closed the window (it's December after all), the odor returned. And then we realized the sickly-sweet odor pretty much permeated the building--it was even noticeable in the reception area. It must have been circulating through the vents. Desperate, we checked out of the room. No refund offered for our 2 prepaid nights (of course!) and an unsympathetic clerk who said they never used air fresheners, but we couldn't risk getting sick.

Room Tip: If you have no problem with artificial chemical air fresheners (or maybe it was some kind of room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeregrinaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Hotel Turissa is a lovely, small hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly even if their English isn't the greatest.
The rooms are a nice size and very clean. The balcony has a nice view of the mountains. It is near the bus station but not noisy. It is walking distance to the beach/sites/shopping but not in the middle of the "action" to be noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

In early september 2012 a friend and I stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Turissa. I chose it from the great reviews it already had on this site.
And we were not disappointed. The room was clean, light, with a small balcony - with a beautiful view towards the mountains. The staff were very friendly, although their english wasn't that good. Overall the small hotel had a great atmosphere - compared to other budget hotels I've tried before - this was far far better - and could easily earn a star or two more. We stayed their quite late in the season, so it wasn't full - lot of space at breakfastroom and at the terrace and swimmingpool. We did not use the pool much - it's a bit small and the beach is only 5-10 minutes away. Overall a great experience with this hotel.
Only one minor complaint: The coffeemachine could not produce hot coffee - and the bacon/eggs etc weren't properly heated.
I strongly recommned this hotel, if you want a small and quiet place to stay.
And very important to: The town. Tossa de Mar, is absolutely beautiful. Wonderful surroundings - small mountains - great places to walk - and an old city called Vila Vella - with a fantastic view over the city and the beach/beautiful bay. I will go back there one day, for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jans98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January for 3 nights and the only fault we have is there is no safes in the rooms which I find to be an inconvenience. Cleanliness, quality of breakfast, friendliness of staff and value for money are all good. Good location for all facilities, beach,town,although there may be some noise issues from the nearby busbar in the summer months when it seems to be a congregation point for locals and youngsters, as we found out on previous visits during the summer, this was not evident in January and is one of only a few hotels open in Tossa at that time of year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIANNINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Victoria
Hotel Restaurant Victoria
#25 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
107 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#23 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Vila de Tossa
URH Vila de Tossa
#18 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Novo Park
URH Hotel Novo Park
#39 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel URH Vila de Tossa
Hotel URH Vila de Tossa
#31 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SM Hotels Turissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SM Hotels Turissa

Address: Avda. del Pelegri, 27, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: £33 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SM Hotels Turissa 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL TURISSA, open all of the year, the service and quality at the highest level.Cafe Bar - Outside Pool - Lift - 24-hour Front Desk - Terrace - Luggage Storage - Continental Breakfast - TV Room. We have 27 spacious and confortable rooms (some with view to Vila Vella), It has bathroom, Air-Conditioning, central heating, telephone, satellite TV and channel plus. Situated in Costa Brava in a lovely village: Tossa de Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SM Hotels Turissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sm Hotel Turissa
SM Hotels Turissa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing