We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful hotel with wonderful staff/owners!”
Review of Capri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capri Hotel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A Wonderful hotel with wonderful staff/owners!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

First, on arrival we were greeted by name by a very polite and helpful young man, check in was easy and he accompanied us to our room. This is four star service in most Europeon hotels yet this hotel is a reasonably priced two star! . We had booked a four night stay for this July, we ended up staying five nights. . Having booked very early in year was able to book a third( top) floor sea view room. On arrival we immediatley knew we wanted to stay longer in Tossa. In the morning the lady at the desk ( Ingrid, daughter of owner) was wonderful in assisting me to rearrange my hotel booking in Barcelona.. even making the call for me and sending a confirming email. Cannot thank her enough.
This hotel is absolutely a gem. The rooms are clean, a decent size , the ac was quiet and worked well, and our balcony on the third floor was very large. We had to move to a smaller room for our last night ( our added night) and still found even the smaller room to be very nice, modern clean bathrooms are a bonus!
The views from the rooms are amazing. The beds were comfy and had nice light duvets on them, room was well cleaned each day by friendly smiling maids. We were lent a beach umbrella by the staff, and there are stocked bookcases one can take or leave a book at in several spots in the hotel.
The hotel rate includes a nice but simple breakfast , hosted by the owner himself. In the evening we ate at the restaurant twice, as hotel guests tables were immediatley found for us, we were always made to feel very special by the lovely hostess.

I thought long about not making a report on this hotel ,, I selfishly did not want others to find about this hidden gem , but my fair nature made me realize I want these lovely hotel owners to benefit from all their hard work.

This is not a hotel ( or town) for rowdy partiers, but for most others this is a absolutely wonderful find in a lovely town.

Anyone wishing to know more may pm me for specifics .

Room Tip: Third floor seaview balcony rooms are the best, but we also enjoyed our second floor room seaview wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    59
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
118
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Found this small hotel on the internet and made reservations in February for a July stay of one
week for 2 couples. Emailed back and forth (Ingrid is the best~!) Loved our second floor rooms
right next to each other, on the beach with the ocean view and patio. Lovely older hotel (1957) with beautiful updated contemporary bathrooms and security. Quiet area, if you're looking for dancing and nightlife, this isn't the place. Air conditioned and very clean. Walking distance to everything, beach, restaurants and bars. Will definitely go back. Excellent staff and service; very friendly and helpful. We were really impressed-good value and includes a great continental breakfast. Although we didn't have dinner in the restaurant, it's Michelin rated 2011 and 2012.

Room Tip: This is a small boutique hotel, only 22 rooms. Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed her in June 2012. The hotel is right on the beach and the views from the front rooms are excellent. The proprietors run the hotel and they and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are as advertised, clean, not luxurious. Restaurant food is delicious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lummi Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

In preparation for a cruise we spent 2 days in Tossa de Mar. The Capri Hotel was the best. The view is spectacular, the staff is friendly, the rooms were big and everything worked. The beds were comfortable and and the breakfast couldn't be beat. We stayed on the third floor with a water view (recommended) but all of the waterview rooms would work. At 86 euros it can't be beat.
From the outdoor patio it was like you could reach out and touch the wall of the old town. October is the perfect time, with no crowds and perfect weather with no need for AC. Only downside is that some of the restaurants close the first of October for the winter. However, there are still pleanty of places to get a great meal and you get better more personalized service.
When it was time to leave, we didn't want to go (on the cruise). Highly recommended !!!

Room Tip: Get a water view room, it's worth the few extra euros. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband and I recently stumbled on this family run hotel right on the beach of Tossa de Mar. We enjoyed two great days there as the season was coming to a close. Thankfully the town wasn't too overcrowded but still had plenty of sunshine. While the furniture at this small hotel is perhaps somewhat dated (think late 60's I'm guessing), it is kept in great condition, extremely clean and had everything we needed (and more!). If they were to change the furnishings, then all the prices would no doubt go up, and we loved it just the way it was. I preferred it over any of the "fancier" hotels on the other touristy side of the beach. This place has the perfect view of the beach and the walled city which is in easy walking distance. But what really won us over was the service and the family run atmosphere. Every time we asked about something (whether it was towels or an umbrella for the beach... or driving directions to our next location... or an umbrella on the one day when it suddenly started raining) they instantly offered a "sure- we can help you with that!" Even when I (after 2 wks of travel) needed to find a place to do laundry in the town, they said "no problem" and arranged for me to give it to one of their laundry staff persons at the hotel. We were so impressed by the place, its staff, its service, and its view-- that we ended up later in the trip, arriving at the famous beach town of Cadaques, for what we planned to be a couple of days there-- but canceling our reservation there to drive 2 hours back to Tossa and the Capri Hotel! When we arrived (after dark by then), the owner remembered us and found a special room for us! It ended our trip on a wonderful note! We'd go back there anytime!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The hotel has a great location, right in the heart of the resort, not noisy. The stuff was helpful and nice. Breakfast is good too, enough of everything that you expect to be for breakfast. Really clean rooms with spacious and clean bathroom. Good quality for that money.
One thing: wi-fi does not wark properly all the time, so you have to go to the hall to get a good signal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nata555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful weeks at the Capri Hotel and hope to return some day. Our first 4 nights were in a suite overlooking the sea and castle. The remaining nights were spent in an apartment across the hall. The staff, the food, the rooms, the ambiance, everything was just fantastic. The owners, Maria and Ernesto were most accommodating and very helpful with suggestions for short day trip “tourist” activities in the whole area. And Tossa! It was a fantastic little town and very easy to walk around. We loved it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ckheiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Hotel

Property: Capri Hotel
Address: Passeig del Mar, 17 | Apartado de correos 263, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Capri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing