We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Väldigt bra”
Review of Scandic Alvik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Alvik
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bromma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was my first time in a Scandic hotel. We chose the brand because it offered a Swedish student discount. I was expecting something akin to a three-star accommodation, however I was pleasantly surprised.
It can be easily reached from the Stockholm metro, about ten minutes from Stockholm Central Station. The property is a three minute walk from the Alvik metro stop. It is set back from the main street so it is very quiet. There are trees behind the building so it felt like staying in a forest, even though it is in an urban area. There is a supermarket across the street and a few restaurants within walking distance.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our handsoap dispenser was empty so we rang the front desk and it was filled whilst we were out to dinner. The dining room staff also let us have cutlery and silverware one night when we had a bedroom picnic.
The room was big enough for two people. There was a desk lining the window wall, which was shaded so no one could see in even without the blinds. The television was nice with a good selection of Swedish and English channels. The WC was also larger than most I have seen in European hotels. The WiFi was fast and efficient.
The free breakfast was a huge perk to staying here. It had many varieties of traditional Swedish fare along with gluten-free options. Fresh fruit, knacker-bread, cereals, eggs, meats, cheese, jams, tea, and coffee were plentiful. It was definitely not a continental breakfast.
There is also a small gym with separate men and women saunas.
It is close to Stockholm and easily accessible. Overall we were pleased with staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Alvik, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014
Google Translation

Hej och tack för ditt trevliga omdöme. Det gläder mig att ni trivdes hos oss och vi hoppas få se er som gäster inom kort igen.

Ha en fortsatt trevlig sommar!

Med vänliga hälsningar
Stefan Saager Righetti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We enjoyed a four night stay at the Scandic Alvik hotel at the end of May. We chose the hotel based on good TripAdvisor reviews and its good value compared to more central hotels.

Welcome was friendly and check-in easy, the room was not huge but offered the usual Scandic functional style with a nice bathroom, and everything was in good condition and clean.

The included buffet breakfast was a good bonus, although it gets very very busy! The selection was impressive though, so we were more than happy with what was on offer.

The hotel location worked well for us as tourists, less than 15 minutes by frequent tube services to the city. The local area didn't offer too much, but there were basic services like a small supermarket nearby. There is a large construction project next to the hotel, there was no work during our stay (public holiday/weekend) but maybe there is noise from that at other times.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at this hotel - clean, friendly, good value, and well located for tourists using the excellent Stockholm public transport system.

(The only minor issue for us was finding the hotel - we exited the train station on the wrong side and ended up lost, a friendly local pointed us in the right direction though. So maybe review your directions provided from the train station to avoid ambiguity.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Alvik, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor travellers,

thank you for your views on your stay at Scandic Alvik.

I am pleased that you found our hotel good and that you enjoyed your stay. I agree about the information when you arrive at the train station - and we are looking at the possibilities to put signs up at different locations in the station area.

Thank you for your comments on our staff and cleanliness. I will make sure that they are passed on to those who deserve them.

Have a great summer (if you still are in the northern part of the world) and hope to see you here soon again.

Best regards
Stefan Saager Righetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed at Scandic Alvik several times and for me and my family the location is very convenient, especially if you go by car, because some of our friends live near by and the Alvik tube/metro station is also very close and it take about 12 minutes to the city centre. If you plan to visit "Friends Arena" for a concert or a football match, it's also very convenient, because "Tvärbanan L22" will take you directly to Solna centrum in 15 minutes.
The breakfast is very good and the rooms are OK, and I was surprised by the quality of the extra bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bass63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Alvik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014
Google Translation

Hej,

tack för din recension av Scandic Alvik.

När det är stora evenemang både på Friends Arena och Globen eller Tele2 så passar Scandic Alvik väldigt bra tack vare de goda kommunikationerna. Jag är glad att du känner så också.

Läget är ett av våra starkaste fördelar (även om vi inte befinner oss mitt i centrum) i och med att både tunnelbanan, tvärbanan och bussarna finns precis utanför.

Ser framemot att ha dig/er som gäst hos oss även i framtiden,

Med vänliga hälsningar
Stefan Saager Righetti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

rooms never cleaned, far from the city center (even if there is a tube stop near the hotel). Please avoid ! Price very high for a poor service ! Even dishes and glasses not cleaned ! Never seen in 20 years of work worldwide

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Alvik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest,

I am sorry to read your review of our hotel. I don´t know the circumstances around your stay, but if you contact me I will make sure we will make it up to you,

Obviously, we did not have a good day on this occasion and for this I apologise. Cleaning, service and a good nights sleep are basic ingredients in a hotel stay.

I do hope we will get a chance to show you again sometime that this is not the normal service level for Scandic Alvik.

Please do call me on + 46 8 517 661 00 or stefan.saager@scandichotels.com so we can talk about what happened.

Best regards
Stefan Saager Righetti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good connection to a tram line and bountiful breakfast. But... Room was hot in the summer sun and AC was inadequate, tub leaked and we had to be relocated. Second room wasn't any better, just smaller. Alcohol was pricey but a shop across the street had "must-haves." Higher floors had the best views. Be sure to shut curtains well as summer sun is strong in Stockholm.

I really wanted to like this hotel because it had all the amenities, but it just didn't make the cut. Not the worst place we've stayed but definitely not the best.. By far.

Room Tip: Higher rooms away from. Owning light as the sun is strong and long lasting in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizzReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Alvik, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

thank you very much for your comments on your stay at Scandic Alvik. I am glad that you liked the breakfast and the good location.

Many of our rooms have very large windows which is a very nice feature on most days of the year, but when it is a bit extra sunny outside the large area of glass warms the room quite quickly.

We always try to leave the curtains shut during the warmer days, which normally is enough, but on occasions this not sufficent. I am sorry about that.

I do hope you had an enjoyable stay anyway in Stockholm and welcome back.

Best regards
Stefan Saager Righetti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Close to the offices that I need to visit and my wife enjoyed it since it was very close to the public transit. Beautiful city! Staff were professional, breakfast was great. There was also restaurants near by; close to a strip mall. Also had a grocery store near by. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Alvik, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor on your stay. I am especially pleased with your positive remarks on the staff and the location.

I and my colleagues wish you very nice summer and welcome back on any occasion.

Best regards

Stefan Saager Righetti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Keep in mind that the public transportation in Stockholm (like any other major European cities) is superb so it makes this hotel a great place to stay for Stockholm visit unless paying over $200 per night is not a big deal for your stay. This hotel looks pretty new and the room is not huge but does not feel tight either since it uses the space efficiently. It is very close to the subway train station or bus stop(although we never used bus when we were there) at Alvik. And we never needed to wait for a long time at the station so literally 15min you should be getting to all major tourism points of interest in Stockholm. Also noticed the floor in the bath room seems always warm so I do wonder if there is some heating underneath the bathroom floor, which is a plus for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hxj127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan S, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Alvik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Hxj127,

thank you for taking yout time to write a review of Scandic Alvik!

I am glad that you promote the easiness of getting to and from the hotel with local transportation. It is indeed one of our greatest advantages. But nevertheless, if you do have a car, we also have 150 spaces for parking.

Yes, the bathroom floor is heated and especially during the winter time this an extra welcomed feature.

Hope to see you here again in the near future.

Best regards

Stefan Saager Righetti, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brommavik Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bromma
113 reviews
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 155 in Stockholm
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Alvik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Alvik

Address: 153 Gustavslundsvaegen, Bromma 167 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Bromma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bromma
Price Range: £71 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alvik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Alvik!The hotel is located close to central Stockholm, within easy reach of sights, shops, culture and entertainment. Bromma airport is only a short drive away.The Scandic Alvik hotel is located only 5 kilometers from central Stockholm. Metro, tram and bus links are available next to the hotel and will take you to Stockholm’s city centre within 10 minutes. During the summer months, you can also take the ferry, M/S Movitz, into central Stockholm. Alvik Strand business district is situated round the corner from hotel Scandic Alvik and Bromma Airport is only a short drive away. Facility Our guest rooms at hotel Scandic Alvik are inspired by Scandinavian design. When staying with us, you can enjoy the best of big city life or head out for a jog along Lake Malaren before relaxing in our sauna. Visit our hotel restaurant for tasty dishes or relax in a comfy armchair in our TV area with a hot or cold drink from the bar. Arrange your next meeting or conference at hotel Scandic Alvik in Stockholm. Our conference facilities are brand new and stretch across 625 sqm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Alvik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Alvik Bromma, Stockholm County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing