We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport, clean and quiet”
Review of Brommavik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brommavik Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bromma
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Brommavik Hotel sits on a busy main road close to Bromma airport. It has a tiny car park with only 3 or 4 slots, and I don’t know where you might park otherwise.

A polite and cheerful receptionist made check-in easy and efficient. The reception area itself, with its wide grey carpet and dark doors, might say "understated Swedish elegance" to some, but to me it has all the charisma of an up-market fall-out shelter.

The room was clean and bright but rather small – enough room to manoeuver around the bed – with a single small window overlooking a city street and rather dismal buildings. It wasn’t the hotel’s fault that it was raining…

The bathroom was spotless, and the shower worked well. If there was an extractor fan it wasn’t obvious how to activate it.

The bed was comfortable and the room quiet.

Breakfast was in a large open dancehall-like space furnished and decorated in such lugubrious dark crimson as I have not seen since a night in a Communist Party hotel in Zagreb. More elegance, certainly, but to edge out of the gloom, guests clustered at tables near the few windows. A flat-screen TV over the buffet showed news, but fortunately it was muted. The buffet itself was excellent, but to my taste the coffee was rather horrid.

If you’re looking for a place near Bromma airport to shower and sleep in comfort for a night, this could be your hotel. I wouldn’t personally want to stay much longer, though – its location and the décor of its public spaces are too "understated elegance", or in my vocabulary, dispiriting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

...........Stayed for two nights. staff very friendly. Hotel was newly decorated and very clean. High quality fittings Excellent shower. There did not seem to be a restaurant but breakfast was very good.................

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank OSioda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Looked beautiful but had a bad sleep for both nights because it was so uncomfortable. The hotel and room were spotless and extremely well presented. There was an alarm lock going off for hours in the middle of the night in the next room and since it was unoccupied and the hotel is not staffed through the night there was no choice but to listen to it which was horrendous. A mixed experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garymenzies1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Booked the biggest room the same day for my family of four, because we had technical problems with our boiler (our house is 15 min from the hotel).
The hotel is newly refurbished, very light, fresh and clean. The design is semi-classical scandinavian. The room was great and very comfortable with nice beds/ beddings for the 4 of us (my daughters are experts and would always feel the smallest pea in any mattress).
A problem is the free wireless: way to slow and simply downloading emails would take hours. This should be adressed if any business guests are targeted, even if it results in the service getting charged... Currently the service is useless.
We expected to eat at the restaurant, which showed to be closed that evening... Would have been nice to get that info on their website, but hey... We were recommended to go to a restaurant at walking distance, and off we went in the snow and blizzard. The recommended restaurant showed to be closed too, which happenned to be quite unpopular with our kids. Anyway, we finally found another restaurant further away but wished the staff from the hotel knew what places in the neighborhood are open and the ones that are closed. After all, the hotel is a bit isolated.
Back to the hotel and frozen, there was no hot water in our room... So much for fleeing a boiler problem in our home!
We were told by the receptionist that he would turn on the boiler at once (was it off when we checked in??). 45 min later, we still had no hot water and it was getting too late for the kids to take a bath.
Later that night, the room showed to be extremely warm, with no possibility to lower the temperature... So we had to open a window.
We came to the conclusion we were jinxed with boilers & the Brommavik hotel also had a crazy boiler!
Morning after, we did get hot water and could shower after all.
breakfast was nice with good choice.
All in all, this hotel is very nice, but should definitely address the issues I described above. If these issues remain, there are more competetive alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hosteratu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I selected this hotel because of its proximity to our offices in Solna, and I am very happy with my find. It is a very quiet (no queuing at breakfast !) place, and the staff is friendly. The rooms are very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Nice and tidy hotel and rooms, tidy hotel. Room size was large, bathrooms in good shape. Pretty much deserted though, maybe as my stay was at the start of the holiday season. Staff seems friendly enough, but there was no bar and no resturant, so you need to walk into neighbouring Sundbyberg center for food and drink (although breakfast is provided). Close to the famous Garbos nightclub, which may or may not be a good thing, depending on your point of view.

Location otherwise boring, on the fringes of an industrial estate. Around a 10 min walk to nearest subway station (Sundbyberg centrum), so at least it's reasonably close to connections. Car parking OK, free with the hotel room.

In terms of value for money in Stockholm, excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkey_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

If you are looking for a nice hotel at a nice price to visit Stockholm, the Brommavik Hotel is it. It is in the borough of Bromma, just a convenient train ride into the city center (you will want to avoid driving into Stockholm, I wish we had not). The train station is just a five minute easy walk from the Brommavik.

The immediate are by the hotel is not exactly picturesque, but the hotel itself is in a lovely older building with modern updating in the rooms. The room and the bath room were both a nice size and very comfortable and clean. There is free Wi-Fi available; the signal is strong so we had no problems connecting. Our room had a lovely chandelier in the center of it which I thought was a nice touch.

There is free on-site parking, which for us is always a great plus since we always rent a car. The breakfast buffet, which was included with the price of our room, was very nice, a good variety and quality. The dining room itself is very pleasant.

The staff was very friendly and very happy to assist whenever needed. The first day we were in the area we drove into Stockholm’s city center, for whatever reason we were not in the mood to learn about the public transportation which you usually address straight-away. I mentioned the train station is just a five minute walk from the hotel; tickets for the train can be purchase at the Pressbyran, which is on the upper and lower level of the train station. If you investigate a bit further you will find that you have actually walked over to the town of Sandysburg and if you take a short walk to the other side of the tracks you will find the pleasant business area of Sandysburg. There are several nice shops and restaurants there, also a manned ticket booth for the train. Our second day in the area was very rainy so we decided after walking around town to spend the day exploring the public transportation. It is very simple to navigate and I would strongly urge you to do so! We had a lovely rainy day just traveling on the train line jumping off for a visit when the approaching small town seemed interesting. The ride into Stockholm’s center from that station is very short.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromma
0.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel Stockholm Bromma
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sthlm Bromma
0.3 mi away
Story Hotel Signalfabriken
Story Hotel Signalfabriken
#26 of 154 in Stockholm
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
First Hotel Brommaplan
First Hotel Brommaplan
#6 of 10 in Bromma
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Scandic Alvik
Scandic Alvik
#1 of 10 in Bromma
843 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Stockholm Jarva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brommavik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brommavik Hotel

Address: 45 Karlsbodavaegen, Bromma 168 67, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Bromma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bromma
Price Range: £71 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brommavik Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brommavik hotel is situated in Stockholm near Bromma Airport and Solvalla, 5 minutes drive from Stockholm-Bromma Airport. Sundbyberg Station is 5 minutes walk from Hotel Brommavik, and the train ride to Stockholm Central Station takes just 6 minutes. In addition, the Solvalla Horse Racing Track is about 1km away. This hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The air-conditioned rooms have refrigerators and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brommavik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brommavik Hotel Bromma, Stockholm County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing