We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Paraiso - Home from Home!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Maspalomas Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Phil H
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcome to Lilliput”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Very misleading photos. This place is tiny. The pool is more a large bath, the garden is tiny, the inside is dark and the rooms are very small. We hired this place because the owner said it was wheelchair accessible. It isn't. The doors are just 2 foot wide and the wheelchair wouldn't fit into any meaning the bedrooms and bathroom were unavailable to us. I had to carry my 26 year old daughter around the house.
Having arrived at 9pm we had to stay that night. The owner, Elton Johns former manager, charged us for the night and for cleaning and use of the wifi. My daughter has a mental age of 3 and pays for her holiday out of her disability benefit. Worse. The manager had warned him we would not cope 3 weeks before we set off. He couldn't be bothered to tell us.
This guy us dishonest. Be safe - book somewhere else.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
This is a very inaccurate and prejudiced review from a guest with an axe to grind. It does not in any way accurately reflect the villa which over 12 years many guests have loved staying in without any complaint – see other reviews. This guest arrived at the villa in a very bad and abusive mood after a stressful journey with his wife obviously under the influence of alcohol. Unfortunately he had a disabled daughter and when we alerted them prior to booking to the fact that the wheelchair might not fully fit through the bedroom doors, enquiring whether his daughter had some independent mobility, we were informed that she could stand unaided with her frame for a short periods and that she could swim unaided. On this basis we accepted the booking having alerted them to the issue of the wheelchair and that it might not fit through our narrower than usual bedroom doors. They did not bring her frame and arrived at the villa without her frame. As a result she had no independent movement whatsoever which meant, unbeknown to us, she was unable to access the bedrooms after all. On discovering this we did all we could to help and offered assistance to find alternative accommodation and a full refund which they accepted. They were rude and abusive to both the staff at the villa and to myself. Such comments as the swimming pool is “a large bath” are simply untrue (guests have access to 2 swimming pools – one of which is private) as are the references to charging them for the cleaning and wifi (we did not in this instance) as are the comments about advance warnings. The photographs show the villa as it is – and it is of course dark at night. We make great efforts to ensure the advertising for the villa, which includes full information on the respective sizes of the swimming pools is accurate and not misleading. We have catered for wheelchair guests with limited movement before without any complaint or adverse comment. I can honestly say that, with every sympathy for their daughter, over the years we have never had a more rude and abusive group of guests, and we were in the end only too pleased to help enable them to find alternative accommodation so they could enjoy their holiday elsewhere. Clearly a misunderstanding had arisen when they booked the villa but it did not deserve the personal insults which this guest chose to make both to myself and the staff who look after the villa. This was an unparalleled and exceptional situation which we tried to handle with as much understanding and humanity as was possible in the face of an unedifying onslaught on our personal integrity. We attempted to provide a satisfactory resolution for both parties, but in the end only received bullying threats which have led to this prejudicial and unfairly negative review..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden/Pool
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
davegaz
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“idyllic perfection !”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this Villa for 2 weeks from late November 2013, the accommodation is perfect and extremely well maintained. There is a magnificent collection of music books etc to use during your stay and if you remember 80's music some surprises when you get there ! The villa has a very homely feel as opposed to a rental feel, the owner stays there and you really feel you are staying as a gust in someone's home rather than a sterile investment unit. This also means the villa is equipped with absolutely anything and everything you could possibly need. The bedrooms are very comfortable and well decorated the Kitchen is perfect and local shops are literally 1 mins walk away or 5 mins for a larger supermarket. There are a variety of local restaurants within walking distance varying in quality from great to OK but then its all personal preference. Taxis are available from the main road a short stroll away to go into the resorts of playa del ingles or maspalomas for just a 3 euros.
The Villa is perfectly quiet and the garden and pool are well maintained throughout your stay. There is a local contact who is extremely helpful and can arrange transfers in needed.
We have stayed in may Villas in Gran Canaria and elsewhere but were so impressed we immediately booked for 3 weeks next year, I have no doubt if your looking for a quiet Villa but within short distance for beach and resorts you cant beat this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilites of the Villa and location
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocorae
Polmont, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxing holiday ever”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Been going to Gran Canaria for many years now and this has to be the best villa we have ever stayed in. We were a party of 2 couples and the fabulous décor, very private yet very central for Playa del ingles and Maspalomas made for the most relaxing holiday ever.
There are plenty of taxis passing on the main road so getting to the main party centre’s at night is not an issue.
The garden area is the best, private pool with Jacuzzi to cool off when it gets too hot!
All mod cons are available – Aircon, Wi-Fi, well catered kitchen, library and British TV (not that you would really feel like watching much TV when you on holiday)
We visited the large shared pool to the rear of the villa a couple of times and we were the only ones using this, once again another lovely area.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, comfortable and in excellent order
It’s so homely you would never want to leave – will definitely return to this villa and cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury villa and pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucan I
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As pretty (and comfy) as the photos suggest !”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

When we arrived Beverley had put the lights on and the garden and pool appeared as magical as the house turned out to be - it's not the biggest house
but it is just as pretty and comfortable - and spotlessly clean - as the photos suggest - the bedrooms are cosy but the beds are all really comfortable - no cheap hard mattresses - the bathrooms beautifully designed - and the lounge
very warm and comfortable with a great atmosphere especially at night - it also had a good WiFi, stereo and amazingly we were able to watch English TV. The kitchen has everything you need and lots of spare crockery and utensils - not just a few plates and bowls which you need to keep re washing ! Outside there is a great terrace from which you can just sit in the shade and watch the pool and the garden - which btw is beautifully looked after. The garden is also a bit of a daytime suntrap which is no bad thing - you can sunbathe all day even though the beach is not far to walk. There is a good supermarket a few yards away at Faro 11 and even though some restaurants and bars there have closed down there were enough to keep us occupied. It was sometimes a wrench to leave the villa because it really had everything we needed even though it is close to all the holiday amenities in the area. This is a villa which really reflects the personality of the owner - there is a library with lots of books, CD's and DVD's - it didn't feel like a Holiday villa at all - more like a home that we were lucky enough to stay in.We definitely hope to book again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sense of homeliness
Liked least: Bedrooms not huge
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Because this is Colin's own home, whenever you visit, you really feel like you're staying in a home and not just a rental property. That is the main reason I keep coming back. The garden is mature and well looked after. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to self cater and more. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, comfortable and always in excellent order & the facilities like the TV and Wifi are up to British standards which is so rare in a holiday let. The location is perfect for a brisk walk to the beach (20/30 mins) or a short 5 min taxi ride (there are always plenty of cabs on the main road which you are tucked back from). Although, it is not unusual for us to stay in the villa all day as it gets the sun all day and the pool is always so inviting. The nightlife is plentiful and 5 mins away by taxi, yet you are far enough out of town to be completely quiet at night with no road noise or late night revellers to keep you awake which can be a problem if you stay closer to Playa Del Ingles. Colin always ensures you know where you're going and how to get there and his team will always do their best to accommodate your arrival and departure times. This really is a 5 star holiday without the 5 star prices!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool & garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing