We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FAULTLESS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
Ranked #3 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A FAULTLESS HOTEL”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed with a friend 14-21 /9/2013. Cannot find anything bad to say about this hotel. I am a bit of a clean-freak and couldn't find anything that wasn't spotless. The food was lovely, so much to choose from and all very nicely cooked and presented. The staff work amazingly hard and yet all are friendly and ready with happy smile and greeting. Our room was quite spacious and overlooked a lovely garden area. Good air-con and absolutely silent at night! Best sleeps I have had in a long while! I can't wait to return next year when it re-opens after refurbishment. ( Why they need to refurb is beyond me but they insist they need it!) Well done to everyone who works there - a terrific team!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    334
    73
    12
    12
See reviews for
320
874
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a week in August in the hotel and were greeted very well at 3am by staff who handed us the room key and stated you have a great room. The room was on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool area and a sea view. Everywhere in the hotel was very clean, the attention to detail by the staff was fantastic. Food in buffet restaurant was very good and again staff were great and you were welcomed at meal times by all staff. Pools and surrounding area very nice and plenty of sunbeds but you have to be up early to get a good spot. I would recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our 5th stay and once again we were not disappointed. It's a Riu Palace so you are going to get a very high standard of everything.

We always book online via Tompson and at the time of booking a villa was only 0ne quid a night extra over the standard hotel room, bargin. I've noticed that these deals seem to just pop up now and again, we went to Cyprus the other year and got half board for 1 penny a night extra.

The villas are worth the extra anyway, stacks of room and the air con is very good. When we have stayed in the main hotel the air con performance has been variable.

Now, we had not been back for two years as the place was looking a little tired but I'm glad to say it has been spruced up and is looking clean and fresh.

Had no trouble with the usual charge for sunbeds but then again, I'm an early riser and can beat any German!

Bar prices are reasonable and I was paying 9 quid for two treble G&Ts, the spirits are still poured from the bottle in front of you and if you chat to the server at the same time they generally put a lot more in as they are distracted!

The buffet is always crowded but the food is very good and there is something for everyone. I still find that fat controller in the dinning room treats the germans better than the english, I nicknamed him Joe 90, if you go you will understand why, he has been there a few years now.

One thing I did notice this year was a lot more younger families than normal.

I did write last time that fresh fruit had disappeared at breakfast time but it was there this time around.

Folk keep complaining that english channels are very few on the TV, why do you want to go on holiday and watch TV? I think it's great most of them are in german as this keeps them away from the pool area,

We will be going back, it feels like home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank toddman572001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a week in this hotel in august 2 adults and our 9 year old. Large room with large bathroom and a sea view. Very clean excellent maid service and whole hotel and grounds kept very nicely. The food was great 9 year old loved being able to choose. Breakfast fresh fruit/juices brilliant and great to try many new fish choices in the evening. Manalo one of the waiters was charming Tilly brought home a selection of paper napkin creations he made for her. we had a brilliant week I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: 2049 quit good view nice size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Myself,Wife and 17 year old son have just returned from this Lovely hotel we travelled on bank holiday Monday 26th august and returned Monday the 9th sept. We have been to this Island 7 times and stayed at 6 different Hotels, and this is by far the best. I have read most of the reviews on here and they all make sense Hence you cannot please everybody all the time.

We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the small pool and towards the lighthouse, in the evening we had the sunshine all the time and a wonderful view.

The staff at the Hotel are very good, especially the Cleaners who do a marvellous job and go un recognised.

What we did was to go to the Spar supermarket and buy gallons of water soft drinks and Alcholol then have a nice drink on our Balcony before we went out. This saved us fortunes over the 14 days. We also paid our bill after the first week so then we knew what to expect on the second week. Water at the dinner tables is 3.50 euro per bottle we had 2-3 a night so work this out for 14 days 100+ euros just on water for the evening, Point is take soft drinks and water and crisp etc round the pool and save a Fortune.

As regards the food the breakfast is Great, and the evening meal is Very good and a great choice, as regards the queing you know what you are letting yourself in for, so just take your time and eat something different until the que goes down then go back for what you wanted. ITS AS EASY AS THAT. No problem just a bit of patience. The staff are very good, and a few euros in the right hands works wonders if you want to get that little bit extra.

As regards children there weren't many there when we went, and to be honest this is not a hotel for younger children this is only my opinion, there is no games or pool lifeguards so be warned.

I suggest you read all the articles written on here and make your own mind up, as I said earlier everybodys different, but the majority say the hotel is good. That's how We made our minds up, and I am glad we did, because we had a marvellous break and a relaxing sunshine Holiday and we will be going back there for sure. Hope that this little reveiw was of help, and if you need any advice on this hotel just reply.
Best Wishes COROCK

Room Tip: In the first place it depends who you book with. We went Thompson Platinum and asked for a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel with very good standards and obliging staff ... typical of Riu Palaces. There are however a few areas that could be improved and make it more 'Palatial'. The food in the restaurant is very good with no problems at breakfast when you can sit wherever you like over a two and a half hour period. Dinner is another issue ...Riu continue to serve it in two sittings with allocated tables which results in large queues for the buffets as everyone has to eat at the same time. Most people prefer to eat when it suits them and this always works well in other hotels with the ' natural flow ' of people presenting few problems. Serving in sittings is so dated! The hotel claims to offer free wi-fi but in reality , very few people are able to connect to it and those that are lucky enough to do so experience very slow speeds. All of the bedrooms have televisions but don't expect to be able to watch any of the main U.K. stations. You will be fine if you are happy watching Sky News , BBC World News or a couple of mediocre U.S. channels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is our third visit to this lovely hotel, which is in a fantastic location, with great facilities and a wonderful staff but...
There are 2 main faults, which can really ruin a holiday.
The first is automatically being given a menu in German in the restaurant, every night for a week, despite always asking for one in English, also
The age old problem of idiots 'reserving' sunbeds at first light, which is supposed to be against hotel policy, but the staff will NOT remove them, and seem to have no concern for the folk who can go a whole week without getting near the pool in the mornings.
A few British people have complained, but as they are in the minority, the hotel could not care less.
Hopefully this will change, I doubt it, as this is a clean quiet relaxing hotel, with excellent bus services nearby, and a really nice, calm atmosphere in the classiest part of Gram Canaria. Be sure NOT to confuse this with the more down- market Riu Clubhotel next door.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd Floor, quiet area, side sea view, well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walkingdudes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
2.3 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
Address: Urb Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Maspalomas. Next to the sea and near El Faro. 3-Storey main building and 1-storey villas, surrounded by a 40,000 m2 garden with access to the beachfront promenade. Colonial-style architecture. 800 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing