We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
Ranked #3 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just returned from our 2nd break and once again a fabulous experience. The staff really do make this hotel stand out from the crowd. Food was excellent, lots of choices and plentiful, whether it was at breakfast or dinner in the evening. We also found the bar and pool bar prices comparible with local bars.

We were in one of the villas in the grounds and our only negative was a few cockroaches that found there way into the villa. To be fair, our rep was immediately on the case and the hotel acted very quickly treating the rooms and leaving us a tin of spray but for us it did take the edge off what was otherwise a lovely holiday.

This hotel has a certain opulence about it and the features in the plush reception area follow through into all the public areas. The wood finishes are detailed and decorative and are a feature thoughout the hotel and villas. In places they are a little tired but we very much hope the hotel does not lose that opulence and character once the refit is complete.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit and found it was as good as last year. Adjacent to the promenade & stylish shops, this is not an area full of cheap shops. Beautiful gardens and pool area which was spotless. The staff at this hotel are very helpful & friendly.
I understand that it is to be closed May to August 2014 for refurbishment - hopefully it will retain ambiance.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had booked the hotel for 1st May -- 8th May next year. We love this hotel and it is one of our favourites. I noticed on here that people had said they were going to refurbish next year. I contacted the hotel direct and they are closing in May until September next year. I rang Thomson and they said they had only just become aware of this fact and are not selling holidays now on these dates. However I looked last night and you could still get a booking. I cancelled mine and had the deposit changed to another holiday I had booked. We will go in October now to make sure the work has been carried out. When they did this to the Clubhotel next door this year people weren't notified until the week before the holiday started and it's a bit late to rearrange then. The hotel is well worth a visit but just avoid May to September next year.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank jak467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is lovely especially the villas to which we were upgraded after a horrendous start to our holiday. The Riu hotel next door to this one was being completely refurbished and the wing where we were allocated our room through Thomsons faced onto massive building work. Reception told us to find another hotel when we complained. Half way through the holiday the wing was closed and the disruption from the building work was minimal around the pools and in the main hotel. Food was good and the area the hotel is in feels really safe and fairly up market. Would recommend hotel but not Thomson holidays who must have been aware of building work before our stay. Compensation does not alter a spoiled vacation.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a villa if you can . These are far superior to the rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandichrisrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in August, it was perfect for a lazy break to recharge our batteries. The room was lovely and we had a view of the pool and the sea from our balcony. All the staff were friendly and attentive, and the food was excellent quality with a good choice every day. The entertainment was of variable quality but we enjoyed it all the more because of that! I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsKP69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Where should I start I think all the nice things have been said,the hotel was recommended to us and we were very pleased it was. The staff were really good and this makes so much difference, the only complaint we had was the AC which is centrally controlled and did not seem to do anything apart from keep us hot. We understand the hotel is having a refit next year so hopefully this will be sorted. All in all we were very pleased and will most likely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woody35Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed with a friend 14-21 /9/2013. Cannot find anything bad to say about this hotel. I am a bit of a clean-freak and couldn't find anything that wasn't spotless. The food was lovely, so much to choose from and all very nicely cooked and presented. The staff work amazingly hard and yet all are friendly and ready with happy smile and greeting. Our room was quite spacious and overlooked a lovely garden area. Good air-con and absolutely silent at night! Best sleeps I have had in a long while! I can't wait to return next year when it re-opens after refurbishment. ( Why they need to refurb is beyond me but they insist they need it!) Well done to everyone who works there - a terrific team!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
2.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort

Address: Urb Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £195 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Maspalomas. Next to the sea and near El Faro. 3-Storey main building and 1-storey villas, surrounded by a 40,000 m2 garden with access to the beachfront promenade. Colonial-style architecture. 800 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing